We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets St James

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets St James to your Saves list
Secrets St James
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lot A59 Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
St. Neots, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just got back from spending a week at this lovely resort and we cannot speak highly enough about this lovely place. Will keep things brief and say the following: All staff were fantastic especially Yvonne at the Seaside Grill and Dwain and Wayne at the Bordeau Restaurant. They just went the extra mile, at the exact time it was required and we shall always be grateful to them. No expense is spared to make your stay enjoyable and the Spa is excellent, with the treatments being expensive but top of the range. Lots of choices about where to eat but our 3 favourites were the French Restaurant, the Italian Restaurant, and the Japanese/Chinese Restaurant. Just a couple of negatives which were: The Spanish house red wine which is given by the glass was much too dry. After we mentioned this we were offered a different one which was more enjoyable. The second thing to mention was that the Mexican Restaurant was not enjoyed by several people we met. Although we didn't eat there, we felt that we should put this information in our review of the resort when we completed it on checking out as we think it important for the management of the resort to get this feedback and hopefully make the changes required to improve this particular restaurant. We certainly hope to go back some day and if you can't enjoy staying at this resort, then you wont enjoy staying anywhere.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor (3541) and it had an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sandra:

Here at Secrets Resorts Montego Bay we always try to go the extra mile for all our guests. I am happy to know that this was satisfactory for you and made your stay a great one. Your comment on our Mexican restaurant is indeed appreciated and our team will definitely see what improvements can be made. Thank you for sharing this information with us.

Regards,
Caulette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,491
    844
    288
    81
    62
See reviews for
204
2,617
74
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I loved this resort! We were able to relax and have fun. The beach isn't the best. Couldn't walk for very long and was shallow. But we loved the pools. Drink service did take a bit longer, so we started ordering two at a time. That worked. Food at the restaurants was mostly great. We didn't care for the caribbean one. I found many little bones in my food. The spa was fantastic. We went for a couples massage and loved the hydrotherapy circuit. We hired a driver and toured the some of the island. That was a lot of fun. $300 for 6 hours. I'd love to go back! We upgraded to preferred club for a minimal fee, less than what it would be to book it outright. I wouldn't pay full price for it, but for the small fee we found it worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest:

I am please to know that there were several aspects of our resort that you enjoyed very much. The areas of concern that you have mentioned and duly noted and have been shared with our management team. Please rest assured that your comments will not be taken lightly and will go towards contributing to our resort’s enhancement and overall daily operations.

Thanks for sharing
Caulette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I just came back from a 4 night stay and it was beautiful!! Everyone was super nice and the resort/rooms were very clean. The food was great and there was many options to choose from. At night they had great entertainment. We stayed on the beach all day which was very relaxing and the water was crystal clear and warm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors. The first floor is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest:

It is great to know that you had a wonderful time at our beautiful resort. We are happy to have had the opportunity to have served you and we look forward to welcoming you back Home for many future visits.

Thanks,
Caulette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned from Secrets St. James with two other couples after escaping from Sandy in NJ. We've been to many all inclusives in the Caribbean and so far, this was definitely the best. Rooms were great, all with ocean views ( we were on the third floor). Good diversity of restaurants with very good food and drink.Kudos to Darion, Danford, Garfield, Tanisha, Danielle, Beanette, Stephen, Stacy, Marlon and Archibald for fantastic service in all areas from maid service to water sports to bell captains to food service. Service is definitely Secrets' forte. One suggestion - pads on beach lounges would be a great improvement. We will definitely be back next year

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello Guest

It was certainly a pleasure to have provided you with a warm retreat from Hurricane Sandy and even more pleasing to know that you had a great time. Your praises of our food and entire property are valued very much and your suggestion about the beach lounges is highly considered.

Looking forward to welcoming you back next year!

Regards,
Caulette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I am writing this a little late, as my boyfriend and I stayed at Secrets St James over the summer, June 2-9 2012. But I was looking at the Facebook page and remembered I never wrote a review for them. We went to celebrate our one year anniversary of just dating and now my standards are extremely high from here on out! This was the BEST vacation we have ever been on! The staff was amazing! So friendly and fun. They remembered us and made us feel comfortable and like family! Kim and Genisis from the entertainment staff had so much fun with us at the St James pool! And I forget his name now, but the bartender at the lobby bar in St James was the man! We went to visit him every night before going to dinner.
And speaking of dinner, there are so many different options, all delicious! I liked that the restaurants all had different types of food, so you could have French one night and Mexican the next, but of course had Jamaican too! They were all delicious but our favorite was Bordeaux, the French one! The steak was amazing! And the service was great too. They tell you when you arrive you do not need reservations to anywhere, but that is not exactly the case. You do need one at the Japanese place, Himhisu, if you want the Teppanyaki, when they cook in front of you. Also, there is usually a wait at all the restaurants, especially if you want to eat inside, so get there a little before you are starving. We always ate outside to enjoy the live entertainment and do a little people watching.
The rooms were really nice and room service was great. We had to go back to the room a few times one day while they were in the middle of cleaning it, but they did not mind. The grounds of the whole resort were beautiful and well kept as they worked on them every day. But what made this vacation the best, really was the staff! They were all so friendly, saying hello to everyone they walked by, and would enjoy having fun and interacting with you. "Boston Chris" was known throughout the resort while we were there and we loved them all! We made great memories as well as met some lifelong friends during our stay. Every time anyone mentions they want to go on vacation, I recommend Secret St James in Jamaica! We sent our friends for their honeymoon who also loved it! I can't wait to some day go back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest:

“Better late than never” and this we do appreciate a lot. Reading your review gives us a sense of satisfaction knowing that we were able to exceed your expectations. We always say “Welcome Home” when our guests arrive because it is our aim to make you feel comfortable like being at your own home and happy just from being in our little paradise. It is indeed a joy knowing that we were able to achieve this and helped in creating great memories for you and your boyfriend.
Thanks for taking the time to share with us. Looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back Home for many more trips to come.

Warm Regards,
Caulette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Secrets St. James and its larger surrounding resort is a wonderful destination of top quality for the price. (our week including airfare from Chicago was for under $3500) The hotel condition and service were clean, and very comforable. The bed is luxurious, but the pillows were rather stiff by our standards. We certainly had all we could eat or drink there, and can't really add more than you've got to try the following: Bob Marley, Dirty Banana, Jamaica Smile, and Miami Vice. Oh so yummy. The breakfasts were good, and don't forget ROOMSERVICE! Lunch was dissapointing most days, so I'd just recomment the jerk chicken cart, you won't go wrong there! Dinners were great, our favorites were Blue Mountain, Himitsu (with reservations made on your 1-2nd day!), and Bordeaux. Bordeaux is a standout for awesome food, we ate there twice, and I am still impressed they correctly can make a perfect medium rare 2 inch thick fillet minion (surf and turf). The beaches are wonderful, with plenty of friendly staff. Make sure you snorkel, with a great reef just off shore (it's free to do). With a few dollars tip, the water sports guys will really treat you to quite a sailing tour as well. We really enjoyed Secrets Montego Bay! (after all, it's only two resorts by name, since you'll never see any difference when you're there).

Airtravel.... AVOID BOOKING ANY FLIGHT WITH **SPIRIT** !!! They are horrible in every possible description, beyond we didn't crash I guess. I'd rather pay much more for a ticket than put up with that worthless operation for another flight ever again.

Room Tip: Bring single dollars for tips, the staff does a good job to deserve them. Use the roomservice at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest:

Despite the experience you had with your flight arrangements, we are happy that you were able to enjoy your stay at our resort. Guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and as such, your review is greatly valued especially by our management team. I’m certain that many future travelers will also benefit much from your posting as well.

Many guests often share similar opinion with regards to the beverages and restaurants you have mentioned. It would have been even better if you had enjoyed lunch options just as much and I can assure you that we will do some review and revamping in that area.

Thanks for taking the time to share with us!

Caulette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I decided on Secrets Saint James for our honeymoon and we stayed from Oct. 14th to Oct. 26th. From the moment we first set foot onto the property from the moment we left we had nothing but exceptional service. When we first arrived we realized that we had been immediately upgraded to the preferred level. The bell boys quickly wisked us away into a different building with a different lobby. We were met with Taneisha who helped us throughout the remainder of our trip. She helped us book our dinner, spa treatments and answered any questions we had. Someone else came up to us and offered us cold towels and glasses of champagne. I knew then and there that our honeymoon was going to be fantastic.
Since we were upgraded to preferred level we were able to enjoy a champagne breakfast in bed, a romantic dinner on the beach, spa treatments and our own pool. There was even a food area downstairs where they had continental breakfast in the morning, munchie foods for lunch and Hors d'oeuvre before dinner. They also had a bar which was always stocked. We must have stopped here every night before dinner.
The food was fantastic - some of the best out of all the all-inclusive resorts my husband and I have been to (Majestic Colonial, Punta Cana - The Royal, Cancun - Grand Palladium, Jamaica). We usually went to the World Cafe for breakfast. They always had someone standing outside the restaurant handing out mimosa's to you as you walked in. They had omelette station, french toast, pancakes, fruits, cereals - you could always find something you like. Lunch we usually went to either the Barefoot Grill which had foods like beef patties, hot dogs, nachos, chips and soda or Oceana where you could get any kind a wrap you wanted with fries and the salad bar. We ate at every restaurant for dinner - all were great! Great food, great service. Most if the restaurants are open air so there is little to no air conditioning. It was actually nicer to sit outside than in. Guys - make sure you bring long pants and sleeved shirts. Even if you wear a sleeveless shirt to breakfast they will make you sit outside.
We had the pleasure (yes - pleasure) of being "stuck" here for two more days due to Hurricane Sandy. I can't thank the staff enough for their hard work during that time. It was like the resort didn't skip a beat. They held meetings to keep all the guests informed and the resident director was wonderful. He was serious when he needed to be but also joked and laughed and eased alot of guest tension. I was starting to get nervous about being here for the hurricane but after one of his meetings I felt totally fine. Breakfast, dinner and entertainment went on as scheduled that evening. Lunch was the only thing that was slightly interupted. They opened the ballrooms for anyone that did not want to stay in their rooms and literally brought the Barefoot Grill, the jerk chicken guy, the fruit cart and additional buffet foods to the ballroom.
Someone would come around at night and hand out sheets for the next day detailing the schedule of all the activities going on around the resort and what the drink of the day was. The resort always had a string of activities whether it was by the pool, on the beach, on Saint James' side or on Wild Orchids' side. Followed up by movies in the shopping plaza before dinner and different kinds of entertainment at night (piano sing a longs, karaoke, live bands, circus show, talent show). The steel drum band was the best! Then you had the disco opened until 2am. Needless to say we were never bored.
I can't say enough good things about this resort. We were impressed by all the small touches which added up to a fantastic honeymoon. Thank you Taneisha (in Saint James Preferred Club lobby) and Chris Brown (bell boy) for your outstanding service and hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St James

Address: Lot A59 Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets St James 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.