We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets St James

Save Saved
You added Secrets St James to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets St James
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lot A59 Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #9 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
union
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were in Jamaica April 1-6th, 2012. The weather was perfect and the vacation was wonderfully relaxing. I truly appreciated being able to sit beachside without breing hassled y anyone selling their goods and the water was lovely. The hotel accomodations were clean, well kept, modern with an oceanfront view. It seemed they thought over most amenities. The night shows were great and for the first time ever, I traveled to foreign lands and wasnt compelled to leave the complex despite many opportunities. The only, and I mean only thing that I found lacking was food in a few restaurants, The asian inspired restaurant was great. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The jerk cart was excellent. That was the best jerk chicken Ive ever had and Ive had plenty. The jerk cooking class was great. The jerk cart and the asian restaurant made up for the Bordeaux which was terrible. The other restaurants and room service were ok but nothing to write home about. But I must say the jeerk cart worked for lunch and was perfect.
The grounds were cleanly kept, the staff was gracious and welcoming and the pools were never crowded. Overall, I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,138
    709
    254
    73
    55
See reviews for
178
2274
66
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Canda
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This place is fantastic place to get away and really relax and unwind. Warm friendly people making you feel like a star. The food and entertainment activities was superb and the spa is out of this world.The staff at the front desk, especally Marlene and Dexter ensured a pleasant experience ,we extended our stay. You will not want to leave this paradise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My trip to Secrets Montego Bay was one of the greatest experiences ever. The staff was amazing, friendly and polite especially the front desk. They always have pleasant faces and eager to help in whatever way. This resort is home away from home, beautiful, clean and relaxing. Excellent variety of food, the most exotic, tasty drinks one will ever drink. Great restaurants especially the french and japanese. To top it all off, the spa was out of this world, once you go there you want to stay forever!!!!!!! See you soon Secrets St. James, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

On arrival we were taken to the check-in area offered a cold towel and choice of drink which was well appreciated considering it was a hot day. The food was good. If you visit then don't miss Surf and Turf night and check out the Pan chicken man. The sauce was WICKED.
We waited too long to be seated at the speciality restaurant. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a personal hot tub in the room so it was relaxing to sit in the tub and watch some football. The landscaping was beautiful but the beach was a little stoney. There was a number of pool area to compensate. The property is big so you can create your own private area. Overall the weekend was good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Canada
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

It seems that when I read all the reviews here I noticed that most were really good. The bad ones were very few but they were amazing to read. The bad reviews are really bad! I dismissed it and we booked for 7 days at the Preferred Club St. James.
Well, I now know why the bad ones are really bad! We had a horrible stay! Filled with lies, missed tours, poor house keeping, grumpy front desk staff, power outages, bugs in our food, no Wi-fi, no access to a first aid kit, poor room service and the list goes on and on!!
So ........ If you are one of the Lucky ones I guess you'll have a wonderful time but if you are as lucky as I was you'll never set foot in any Secrets resort again!
Good luck!!
Pay your money and take you chances!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My husband and I arrived March 24,2012. I was afraid it would be boring without friends from home. Just the opposite. Husband on crutches needed wheelchair. Front desk left us hanging on that one. Fatiged and hungry from trip went to bar restaurant at poolside. Mr. Coats in management saw husband stood up from table and said he needs a wheelchair. He gave us his card. I went to bellman who immediately gave me a wheelchair which we used the whole 8 days without charge. Thank you Mr. Coats, you are the man! Minor light bulb out in room, rain shower shooting out sideway.Reported this. It was fixed when we returned to room. Never saw anyone. Entertainment people at pool great. Dyed shirts, made bracelets, great cooking class, yoga, zumba, my favorite was painting. A local artist at poolside, Mr. Waites I think his name, helped you paint pictures that you can't believe you did. I did that twice. $20.00 worth it. Food may not knock your socks off but good. Lots of night entertainment. We met people to hang out with. Lots of day trips we only did sunset cruise. Very good. Only 10 minutes to airport. Bed great. People sooooo friendly. Yah Man. Go!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Our visit was a rewarding experience.We were given a friendly "welcome home greeting"by the vip manager,Marcia Smith.Check in was speedy and relaxing.We were then excorted to our room.The room- wow; devine; Miss Smith was pleasant,calm and a people person who did a fantasti job in coordiating our activities so that we had an hillarious vacation.Thanks Marcia ,you are a bright star and an asset to the hotel. To me this a five star service

Room Tip: higer rooms facing montego bays night lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St James

Address: Lot A59 Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets St James 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Secrets St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.