We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chill in a real Jamaican neighbourhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethel Court Guest House

Save Saved
You added Bethel Court Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bethel Court Guest House
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   25 Bethel Court | Mount Salem, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“chill in a real Jamaican neighbourhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have stayed at bethel court several times over the past 3 years, my most recent stay was July 2012. Okay- this is a HOSTEL not a hotel. So don't expect maid service or meals. But for what you get-the prices are great. I have ONLY stayed in the shared apartments and the private apartments- so i cannot comment on the dorms. Personally i prefer the private apartments because i like my privacy and do not feel like sharing my kitchen and bathroom with strangers, and its only 10 dollars more for a private. But the time i did stay in the shared apartment i had no issues. Unlike many other low cost hostels- this place is consistently VERY CLEAN. The kitchen, bedsheets, bathroom- much cleaner than you find at many of the Jamaican hotels. Steve is very nice and there are usually one or 2 drivers that can take you wherever you want to go. I feel like the location is a big plus- if you want to live near the locals. It is a far walk to the beach- about 45 minutes downhill on a long road-but i enjoy the walk-it takes you right through downtown, and i do this walk alone- as a single female, and never have issues with the locals bothering me. the locals in this area are just living their everyday lives, and dont bother the tourists- i get more hastle and hustle along the hip strip- i get left alone in this neighbourhood. If you want a ride to downtown or the beach there are taxi's around the corner from B.C and for 90 JMD = $1 USD you can get a ride to the town square. There is a well stocked grocery store, a few shops with drinks/alcohol/snacks, gas station and take out food places just a 5 minute walk away. Of course there are locals all over (you wont see other tourists in this area) but this is why i love B.C!! Again, I go here alone, and even go to get food and stuff at night, after sunset and HAVE NEVER FELT SCARED OR UNSAFE. There is security at B.C and locking grill gates., and i know every time i go everything in the apartment will be as it should. No the place is not fancy, its very basic, but you will have everything you need, and it is clean-which to me is always the most important. and guess what-NO BUGS :) -ever. Even on the odd accasion that i dont get a chance to wash up my dishes and they are left out over night, there is no bugs, which is a huge plus in Jamaica. The air conditioning is FABULOUSLY COLD!!
I have stayed all over Jamaica, several parishes, hostels, villas and all-inclusives and honestly Bethel Court is my fav because you feel like you really are living in your own little apartment in MoBay. I love the neighbourhood, the locals are very friendly, but not out to hustle or scam you like in the touristy areas of the city. If you need help, or have questions, want to do tours and stuff, Steve (the owner) can be very helpful and there is an intercom that you can push and talk to him any time you want, but if you want to just chill and do your own thing (which is what i do when im there) nobody will bother you here, you have your own door so you come and go as you please. You cannot get a better deal for this type of place in mobay- yes there are a few guesthouses located much closer to the hip strip, however you will get hustled every day there as soon as you step out your door, and the places (dont wanna mention names) and run down and dirty. If you have any other questions about Bethel Court or the neighbourhood, feel free to message me!! Heading back to B.C in January!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
29
28
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for the 2012 Reggae Sumfest in Montego Bay. WE LOVED IT!!! The price was reasonable, the staff was the best and are now who I consider friends and will keep in touch with and visit anytime I go back. They kept us safe, entertained and happy. Thanks Richard, Mac and all the other people who we met in our journey.
Big rooms, friendly staff - the hotel itself was nice too. Anything we needed, they made sure we got it.
Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Bethel courts was a great find. I stayed here with a research/study exchange program with UAB for 3 months in 2012. The services are all inclusive: wifi, cable, electricity, water, gas, ac (a big plus in JA!), laundry, and cleaning. The security is very good too which is a big relief. The price was great for our suite, and the management is excellent. I highly recommend Bethel Courts to all of my friends who are traveling to Jamaica.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for one week at the end of June. For the price the size of our suite and the service far exceeded our expectations. While booking the trip I corresponded directly with Steve and Ingrid via email. Their responses were timely and extremely helpful, including arranging for us to check in early and arranging for a complimentary airport pick up. We booked a private one bedroom suite, which was very spacious with a large eat in kitchen area and an area with a sofa and TV, a large separate bedroom with excellent closet space and a private washroom. The bedroom had good air conditioning, the washroom had electric hot water, there was cable tv and wi-fi in the room. Normally we used the local route taxis to go into the city or to the beach. Going to the Hip Strip via local taxi is approximately $180.00 JS ($2.00 US) each way. We also used the private driver, Mackenzie, recommended to us upon check in and his prices were very reasonable for a private trip downtown or to the beaches. He charged $400.00 JA ($5.00 US) each way.

Bethel Court is located in a neighbourhood just outside the downtown core of Montego Bay. It is about a 10 minute taxi ride to Doctor's Cave Beach and The Hip Strip. The neighbourhood was fairly quiet and the neighbours, cab drivers and business owners in the area were very friendly. There was some small grocery stores and a restaurant within close walking distance.

Steve and Ingrid were very helpful. As a guest house they do not offer daily maid service of the rooms. However, whenever we requested anything, like extra dish soap, extra pots for cooking or an extra towel for a trip to Glistening Waters, Steve was quick to accomodate us. And, since our flight wasn't leaving until late evening Steve was kind enough to give us a late check out.

For the budget traveller, or for people looking to experience the day to day life in Jamaica I would definitely recommend Bethel Court Guest House.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Bethel from May 26- June 2. We shared an apartment with two other girls as well. The good: complimentary airport pickup, located 5- 10 mins from beach, hip strip and supermarket. Very quiet neighborhood except in the early morning when the cars going by are playing their music.Taxis are easy to get. The best Taxi driver was McKenzie. We had another driver Caswell who picked us up from the airport, but he tried to get over on the prices so we used McKenzie for all the rest of our tours and trips. Richard, the tour guide was excellent. He took us around town and even hung out with us at Margaritaville. The bad: the cable sucks so don't bother. Wifi is a bit slow. Two nights before we left the wifi was acting up even though it was switched out. We did not meet Ingrid.Our roommates were dirty. They left their trash around and barely cleaned after themselves. Otherwise, everything else was great. Make sure you request McKenzie as your driver because he is really honest with the prices and very informative on the tours.

Room Tip: If you don't like sharing the bathroom and kitchen with anyone, pick the private suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The good:
- Complimentary airport pickup (private rooms only)
- Spacious private rooms (bedroom, kitchen, bathroom)
- Quiet neighborhood
- Easy to get a taxi to/from the guesthouse
- Complimentary wifi in rooms and a desktop computer available for use in the dorms area
- Price ($50/night for a private room)
- Air conditioning
- TV in private room

The not-so-good:
- No comforter on bed (just a thin sheet means either you sweat without the air conditioning on or freeze with it on)
- NO housekeeping service. I don't require much, but a quick sweep of the floors and a replenishment of towels would have been nice during my stay
- The need to take a taxi EACH time you want to go into town

Bottom line - I won't complain too much because of the nightly price I paid. But I've recently become aware of another property closer to the Hip Strip that's around the same price. I think Bethel Court would work wonders for the backpacker-type that's looking to meet similar travelers. The employees I encountered - Steve, Ingrid, Mackenzie, and Richard - were memorable and seemed to be great people.

Room Tip: I couldn't imagine staying in anything less than a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

So once again, we were traveling through Jamaica so we also stopped in Montego bay for 2 nights.

We were realy surprised when we saw the apartment, it was realy realy big with kitchen, big kitchen table, tv and an extra bed, separeted bathroom and separeted bedroom.

Steve arrange for Mckenzie to come pick us up when we arrived, the ride is free and when we arriwed it was around 9pm and we were realy tired so Mckenzie offered to go look for us some food and asked us what we would like to have so we ordered some jerk chicken and festival, OMG it was so goooooooood! Mckenzie realy is the nicest guy, we were so thankful for this. We also went to nine mile with him and he told us so many thing about Jamaica and also stopped wherever we pleased.

They have free wifi and amazing view when you wake up. The city centre realy isnt that close but taxis arent even that expensive. But i would say that Montego bay is a realy nice place and this hotel realy is amazing but i wouldnt stay here for more than 3 days because there nothing much to do, its just a big city.

But thank you again for making Montego bay an awesome place for us!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethel Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethel Court Guest House

Address: 25 Bethel Court | Mount Salem, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty lodging in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bethel Court Guest House 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethel Court is a nice friendly youth hostel with a brilliant atmosphere and generous hospitality. We offer the ideal place to meet new, young and exciting people with whom you can explore the Island with. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Bethel Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethel Court Guest House Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethel Court Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.