We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience, ok but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grandiosa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grandiosa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandiosa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   3 Ramparts Close | White Sands Beach, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 38 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Experience, ok but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with my family. The customer service of the front desk and restaurant staff were very good. After checking in I requested a crib for my 15 month old son and a light bulb for the lamp. I received neither nor did I get a courtesy call stating they had no crib available. I'm not sure why we didn't get the lightbulb. I had a little issue with the cleaning staff. We requested to have laundry done and notified the front desk early in the morning and we were told by housekeeping it would be done by the end of day. We were out the entire day and when we returned early evening the houskeeper told us they were almost done, only 1 more load needed to be dried. We were due to travel the next day late afternoon. When we got the close back the next morning the clothing were still damp. We had to go on the road and return back to the hotel to pack and we had to rush to the airport. It was rather frustrating, I don't think we should have paid the full amount for laundry service considering we were told it would be complete the night before (it wasn't a lot of laundry; there were 2 loads because they separated whites from bright colors).

Room Tip: The room were were in was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    24
    13
    21
See reviews for
19
32
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here one night before heading home from a week in Jamaica.

Great Staff and Excellent location to airport. Very helpful staff.

Renny the owner is very guest oriented and willing to accommodate your request.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Simple, cozy spot off the main strip. Front desk staff was wonderful. Sometimes the bar closes early. Bar staff is a lil moody and unwelcoming. My friend fell in love with the pineapple chicken. A short walk around the corner and taxi down to the strip is inexpensive about $1, but doubled after midnight. I suggest not using the guys (private charter taxi) parked outside the gate if you want to save money. Be sure to negotiate fare being going with them. Not a bad walk down the hill, but I suggest not trying it on the way back- haha. Try it and you'll see what I mean. Pool was dirty, but they finally cleaned it :) Rooms were clean and simple. The view of the city at night is wonderful from the pool deck or the third floor.

Room Tip: Get and ocean view room. I enjoyed coffee from the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Poor and unwelcoming service. No adjoining rooms as requested. Food lousy and not consistent - eggs Benedict served sans ham and hollandaise sauce! No hot water on 3 days of 5 day stay. No assistance given with booking of day yours. Full quota f rom towels not replenished.

Room Tip: Not advisable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a short stay at Grandiosa in December 2012.It s a simple hotel far from the beach,high up on a hill but with a stunning view.You can go to the beach using the elevator of another nearby hotel which is 10 minutes on foot.The rooms are spacious,clean and the staff is welcome and friendly.Excellent local food and good prices.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a stop over our first and last nights in Montego Bay. I only booked our first night at Grandiosa not knowing what it was going to be like and giving us an option for our last night.
We arrived and was greated by Marcia who can not be any more gracious. She directed us when we ask where to go to eat where the "locals" eat. We went for a walk about 30 min or so down hill (you can cab it but NEGOTIATE!) We went to Fishbones and it was definatly where the locals stop to eat from cabdrivers to women in business clothes. I would recomend the fish soup it was very good. They only serve fish and do not have a menu. It was about 30 us for lunch with a drink.
We also ate at the hotel which was fine. If you have the money for a taxi you may want to venture off property. The room was large and clean with AC, Refridge and American TV! It is not super fancy, it is on the main road and by the airport, but the view is spectacular! We also walked down to the Hip Strip. The walk down is about 45 min, I may have that wrong but it is down hill and easy. On the way back we wanted to take a taxi, well 15 bucks! NO, we walked away and was chased down by car and negotiated 5bucks for the 3 min ride up the hill.
There are many choice for hotels down off hip strip if your into chaos and being constantly badgered by the locals :( That is when we decided that we would stay our last night at Grandiosa. Sometimes you have to weigh out the good and the bad. For us the privacy, view and the attitude of the front desk staff won us over. Our final night we had to ask to move, Grace at the front desk was gracious and went out of her way to thank me for asking to be moved. Her attitiude was if there was something wrong they want to fix it and if they dont know how can they. She said without the guests she has no job and was quick to smile and make it right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This Christmas will be our twenth annual visit to Montego Bay. The Grandiosa could not be better. The staff are wonderfully friendly and the rooms are perfect. We are both over seventy and enjoy the safe restful location. We could not ask for anything better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandiosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandiosa Hotel

Address: 3 Ramparts Close | White Sands Beach, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandiosa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandiosa is a beautiful 45 room boutique hotel located in Montego Bay on the hill overlooking the ocean and airport area of Montego Bay. The hotel offers 40 beautifully appointed ocean view and garden view rooms, 5 lovely suites, full service restaurant and bar, conference and banquet facilities and other areas for formal or informal gatherings such as wedding receptions, family reunions, dinners and conferences. Live entertainment is offered during high season. Swimming pool and parking.The guest rooms have 2 double beds or one king with full bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grandiosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Grandiosa Resort
The Jamaica Grandiosa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandiosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.