We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grandiosa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grandiosa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandiosa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   3 Ramparts Close | White Sands Beach, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I would suggest this for business, work/missions teams, and a night layover before departing to nearby airport. The location is wonderful and central to the airport and many area's of the Mo-Bay area. The food was excellent and so was the steel-drum entertainment (once a week, on Sunday nights, I believe). Nice pool area with beautiful sunset views on the ocean. The beach is not near the hotel, so you'll need to catch a shuttle or get a taxi. The hotel and area's are pretty basic, and be prepared to be persistent if you need something from the staff (towels, toiletries, AC maintenance, laundry services.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    22
    12
    21
See reviews for
19
32
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The best of both worlds, with an ocean front view and a local touch.

Room Tip: Ocaen front view the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Great view,Great staff...Hot water was hard to come by but on a whole it was ok..I would stay there again as I am on a budget

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Grandiosa is not the plushest hotel I've been to, but for the price, it excels. Great staff, good food, and nice view. Free shuttle to and from airport and beach, centrally located. A tip: If you want to walk down to the beach, use the elevator at the El Greco Resort to get down.

Room Tip: The superiro rooms have the ocean view, but you probably won't be in the hotel much
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Hotel with Greatest look, greatest view, but lies about what's included: No coffee-maker, No micro-wave even if you paid for a superior, ocean view...room. that says so. When we arrived at the airport (9pm), we had to insist to get the shuttle (included) bringing us to the hotel ( 5-10 minutes from there)...One hour and 1/2 later, we got to our room, it was a standard... we had to INSIST again to get what we paid for... we got it the next day... The staff: Grace, the manager, Loret and Isabelle are really nice and helpful, but Donavan (shuttle driver) is a liar, extremely arrogant and a thief... When we informed the hotel of his conduct, they talked to him, but we never got our money back... Family trip (30-50-80 years old).

Room Tip: Ocean-Pool view, greatest look but noisier because of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I was very sceptical about staying in this hotel. I normally stay in the all-inclusives, but this was the only place that I could find for the 2011Jazz Festival. I really enjoyed my stay there. The staff was very pleasant. from the bartender/ waiter,waitresss to Ms. Alice, I think that was her name at the front desk...overall experience was wonderful.

The facility may not look like a five star, but the service is superior when compared with the five stars. The food is not the best, but the coffee was good. I will definately go back there.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions, for the prices of the rooms, the service exceeds the cost. Excellent staff, beautiful veiw, nice swimming pool. and their food is great. The staff is one of the most helpful set of Jamaicans in hotels ive met. I recommend Grandiosa to anyone who wants to feel home away from home. If you are the type who will not fancy the all inclusive resorts with the crowd and the business, this the place to be where tranquility and peace of mind awaits you!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the ocean are nicer. Some also comes with own refrigerator, iron and iron board an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grandiosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandiosa Hotel

Address: 3 Ramparts Close | White Sands Beach, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandiosa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandiosa is a beautiful 45 room boutique hotel located in Montego Bay on the hill overlooking the ocean and airport area of Montego Bay. The hotel offers 40 beautifully appointed ocean view and garden view rooms, 5 lovely suites, full service restaurant and bar, conference and banquet facilities and other areas for formal or informal gatherings such as wedding receptions, family reunions, dinners and conferences. Live entertainment is offered during high season. Swimming pool and parking.The guest rooms have 2 double beds or one king with full bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Grandiosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Grandiosa Resort
The Jamaica Grandiosa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandiosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.