We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montego Bay Club Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montego Bay Club Resort
Gloucester Avenue | White Sand, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Piaseczno
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Club Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is midrange hotel, it offers pretty well conditions in good price. Rooms are clean, white-painted walls, equipped in comfortable beds. You can count for very nice view from hotel's windows. Rooms have kitchenettes, so you can cook by yourself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
7
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is NOT a hotel, it is individually rented apartments. The owners either rent it out themselves, or give it to the management company to rent out for them. So it really depends on which owner you rent from to get a great stay or an awful stay!

First of all, the building is an old 70's dinosaur, but with all the apartments facing an inside courtyard which is really cool. Grocery store onsite, huge pool on the top floor, beautiful beach across the street for $6, and 24 hour security.

I have stayed in 3 apartments, and the best one was newly refurbished. The first one was a one bedroom, and although it had a nice view of the beach, it had hideous old furniture and roaches. The second was a studio on the 11th floor, and it was also really horrible with an old kitchen and a fridge from 1980 and NO internet!! Even on vacation this is a necessity for me, so I can book tours etc. The last studio one was on the 6th floor and was GREAT. Newly renovated corner with nice furniture, new fridge, cable and internet.

Great price and fantastic location, this apartment is a hidden gem! Mobay club can be hit or miss, so do your research before you stay and you'll have a great time!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestone, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed in a furnished apartment with my boyfriend for 3 nights. It was convenient to have the use of a quiet place with fully equipped kitchen included too. A ride down the elevator and walk across the street and we were on the beach at the Beach Club (had to pay $6 admission each time though per person). The beach has a nice bar and locals came by and offered snacks such as fresh fruit and coconut water. The only real complaint is that the building seems to be quite old and in areas visually not so appealing. Clean enough but not super clean. Also, no fitness center---but none of the resorts had one, so we caught a taxi into town and went to "Express Fitness" which was a new and clean place. Yet because it is so quiet, our stay did facilitate a very relaxing few days on Montego Bay. We LOVED the pool on the top deck too! Right next to the restaurant. It was wonderful and refreshing to swim in the pool after a long day on the beach ! A strong point to was the 24 hour on site security..with the commotion of the night life as street level, i could rest calmly knowing that we were being watched out for. Also the staff were very helpful. As a newcomer to the island, this was very comforting to me. Thanks MB Club!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

we traveled to montego bay a few years ago and would love to go back, the flight is putting us off booking again we travelled from Manchester stopped off at london to pick up, we had booked premier but the day of travel were told premier had been taken off the flight, thomas cook gave us extra leg room through the flight other passengers we cutting in front off us to go to the toilets, instead of walking down the isle.
By the end of the flight we were exhausted, does anybody know which flight can garentee premier class.

Room Tip: dont fly long haul with thomas cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holley, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The food was delicious and appetizing and plentiful, we ate here three times consecutively - there is no place to eat this good in the States! We decided to check this place out by a recommendation of another couple whom thought it was also amazing and quiet atmosphere with little sun and wind. Our experience fit exactly as it was explained. When we go on vacation, especially a resort – we expect the best of all as this is a time to chill, kick back and relax and most of all to be waited on, and that service was exactly hand & foot, second best to none! Our first two days at the resort it was raining but then in all settled in and felt just like paradise, actually it was paradise to us. The servers are so gentle and sweet, the way they toss the napkin in the lap is just stunning and professional. This doesn’t happen in the States. The smiles where so delighting and their mannerism is so pure and real…how can anyone not want to visit here. We recommend this dinning place to anyone whom is liking for a great place to dine. It is a 5 start in our opinion!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our unit #602 was immaculate and had the best view ever. A very large bedroom, living room and a bathroom with 2 sinks, one in the toilet/tub area and another sink area with a washing machine area with a door separating the 2 areas. We would sit on the balcony in the am. and watch the catamarans drop off their snorkelers, fishing boats, cruise ships, and in the evening we had the pleasure of watching a cruise ship leave, all lit up it was really quite beautiful!!
We could hear the music from the Twisted Kilt located across the street and that was our evening entertainment from the balcony. The pool on the penthouse level was clean and refreshing to swim in, and relaxing to lounge around when we finished a busy day out and about. There is a great store on the 2nd floor where they sell Juici Patti's for $1.40 each and they are soooo delish. They also send liquour, cheese, eggs, snacks and a little of everything, be sure to buy your blocks of blue local soap for keeping whites white!! The building is older but our unit was very well maintained inside. There is security on both the top and bottom road entrances. When you come and go there are always people asking to be your driver, we were polite and spoke to them as we mostly walked everywhere unless we were going with a driver recommended to us, we never just went with a random driver. It can be a little intimidating but we soon got used to it!! Of course having Hazel selling fresh fruit under the stairs each day was such a bonus, she would even cut it up and put in a plastic bag for us when we were heading across the street to Dr. Cave Beach for the day!! One nite we came home to a power outage but we were prepared with flashlights, called down to the main desk and they had it back on in 10 minutes. The elevator worked fine while we were there as well. Our room had dbl. locks and we felt very safe once in our room. Be sure and get a room that has a view, it will make your trip!!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view!! I would not go lower than the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I only spent 1 day at Montego Bay Club Resort and I will return. Large room with balconies facing Doctors Cave Beach...superb! Major selling point for me. Close to restaurants and nightclubs, ATM and post office across the street, excellent location. 2 complaints.... the level of cleanliness of the kitchen and bathroom. and the refridgerator did not work. But all way forgiven sitting on the balcony, watching a lightning storm and planes flying in and out.
I will return again to MBCR for a longer stay, just ensure thaat I get a more cared for apartment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montego Bay Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montego Bay Club Resort

Also Known As:
Montego Bay Club Hotel
Montego Bay Club Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Hotel
Montego Bay Resort
Address: Gloucester Avenue | White Sand, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montego Bay Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Montego Bay Club Resort to your Saves list