We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Up Our Alley But A Little High Priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doctors Cave Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Saskatchewan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Right Up Our Alley But A Little High Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Great location on the Hip Strip and close to Doctor's Cave Beach. We found the price to be a little on the higher side for what you get. We paid $127/nite for a standard room and have travelled enough that I would say it's a $80-$90/nite value. Originally we were taken to a room with the balcony facing the loud busy street. We asked to see another and it was worth waiting for them to finish cleaning. We ended up in a room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The room seemed a little newer as well (compared to the first one we almost got) so we were quite happy. There is an ice machine on the property to help yourself to which we liked. The breakfast was good at the hotel and so was the coffee but we were charged $6 US each to fill our go cups we brought with us so we only did that once. Be sure to head downstairs for rum punch happy hour on Tues and Sat at the bar from 6-7pm. Kenny, the bartender is outstanding - a fun and friendly guy! He looked after us arranging taxis and even ran out to pick up a hot sauce we were trying to find! He's a gem! We would come back and recommend Dr's Cave Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    51
    26
    23
See reviews for
23
44
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Overpriced rooms.Customer service sucks . Rooms are below basic and tasteless, although clean.Old air conditioner sounds like a twister.lots of noise from street..No parking. Bathroom is a mould lab.WIFI is $10 US an hour YIKES!!! definetly would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

If you are looking for 5 star hotel, this is not the place. For example to 2 twins made a king size bed. The hotel itself needs some up keep in the bathroom there is no hot water in the sink, it took 2 days to get the pool clean. On the other hand the waitress name Anakee was awesome and very friendly and helpful. The hotel manager was also very helpful to fix situations, food was good but stay away from the chicken wings. We did the best with situation, the area is full of solicitors can be very intimidating. The landscaping was beautiful if it is your first time to Jamaica its a start also only 5 minutes away from airport pay $15 dont let then get you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New westminsters
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

In a great location in Mo Bay, easy walk to good beaches either private or public. Has nice small bar, great place to meet other travelers. Depending on what you choose breakfast can be included. No lunch, but dinner is well priced. Hey have a great Club sandwich. They will run a tab for the bar and eating, check with the front desk. Everyone there was great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is a landmark hotel....it was also the only hotel open for business on the main hotel strip except for the all inclusive down the road!! It had a great bar and the staff made us feel like family. Definitely for anyone looking for clean, safe place to stay. Very centrally located. Would definitely recommend to anyone on a budget looking for great value in Montego Bay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The hotel was located on the "hip strip" in Montego Bay, however, there was nothing hip about this hotel. Although the staff was excellent, the room itself was horrible. The location makes for a busy street, so sleeping was not an option. The room had A/C, except it did not work and I was just uncomfortable the whole time. Even a local, with whom I'm dating, was displeased with the hotel. If you're thirsty or craving for a snack, forget about vending. That doesn't exist. Thankfully a member of the staff was kind enough to walk me to the store next to the hotel. The bar nor the hote'l restaurant was opened until the weekend (Sunday)! What good does that do when I stay during the week but leave on a Sunday. Pay your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

we moved from a gorgeous 4-star in Ocho Rios to MoBay because we wanted to see some of the real Jamaica. we were disappointed both in the hotel and in Montego Bay.
I would classify DCBH as a 2-star hotel due to its age & facilities. It's right on the street so noise is a major problem (honking cars, thunderous reggae, whooping party-goers).
We had to view 4 rooms before we saw one we'd stay in (make sure you check the a/c is working before you accept the room). Rooms were drab (50's style) but clean & comfortable. Pool is small but clean & new-ish. Breakfast (ours was included) was very poor: inedible sausages, cold tea, soggy bacon & has-been hash-browns. The toast & coffee were good :-) On our second day we wanted the Jamaican Breakfast, but it was off. The omelette was OK. Day Two was waiter-service & took forever: Day One was a don't-help-yourself buffet & still took ages. One evening we came back to the hotel & asked for a pot of tea - not possible, we were told. Go to a nearby hotel, we were told (we probably should have - and not returned...)
We were initially given a room poolside on the ground floor - I had security concerns because the entrance door was the patio door, with a weak lock and no way to jam the sliding door. Also, there were no shears (net curtains), so the room was either viewable by all, or completely darkened by heavy drapes.
Location is good for the Hip Strip (yes, that's what the signposts call this area), and Doctors Cave Beach (which is beautiful but small & US$5/J$450/visit/adult. The beach is private, but has no link to the hotel of the same name). Great snorkelling from the beach to a nearby reef (but the jetsam on the sea floor is appalling, yet so easily cleaned up).
We paid $100/night at DCBH (negotiated down from $112) for a room that really should only have been $60-$70/night. But the hotel that had been recommended to us had closed down! (3 other hotels on the strip had shut - the place is really quite run-down) The whole area is not very kid-friendly (we were forever being asked if we wanted a taxi or a 'smoke' - I wonder what they meant...).
Great Jamaican food at Margaritaville, Pelican & the Pork Pit (rough but good).
Overall, I would not go back to the hotel, but then, I would not go back to Montego Bay - Ocho Rios was better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doctors Cave Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Address: Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Doctors Cave Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is centrally located on Gloucester Avenue, locally referred to as the "Hip Strip" because this is where you will find many of the shops, restaurants, beaches and nightlife that Montego Bay has to offer. The hotel is moderately priced and offers clean rooms, friendly staff and all the conveniences of a full service hotel, such as a pool, Jacuzzi and a small fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Doctors Cave Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave Beach Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doctors Cave Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.