We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel right on the strip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Doctors Cave Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Paterson, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Budget hotel right on the strip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Definitely one of the older hotels in the area. The rooms need renovating. My bed was very uncomfortable, but the up side is that its right on the famous Hip Strip. Your walking distance to the beach, Aquasol theme park, margaritaville, restaurants, and gaming lounges. So if you don't care where you sleep this is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    45
    23
    19
See reviews for
20
39
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

this property really looks like it was something special in its day! these days though it is very quiet, not many guests staying here and things are very dated. its located on the hip strip which was once a happening place but with most people choosing all- inclusive even that is very quiet which makes you a target on the street. the closest beach is doctors cave across the road but you do have to pay to enter. I thought the staff here were really nice the bed was comfy and the kids loved the pool. I was surprised to get a little breakfast in the morning which was just some toast, coffee and a muffin. would recommend this hotel for an over night stay but probably not for more than a couple days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This used to be an happening property with good food, busy lounge and a mix of guests from around the world. How things change.
Spent 2 nights here at the end of 3 weeks in Jamaica. First impression was how quiet the property was on arrival. Then to the room, old TV with spotty reception, 2 bath towels, no hand towels or face cloths. Down to the dining area for dinner....NO MEALS. Beds could use new pillows. Front desk had mentioned "complimentary" breakfast, some reviewers have indicated that this was a great way to start the day...it is "continental breakfast", toast, muffins banana bread and coffee/juice, banana bread was done when we went down for breakfast and there were hardly any other guests on the property,
Staff are excellent, and always have been at this privately owned (same owners for at least 35 years)property. Location is across from the entrance to Doctors Cave Beach and used to be central but now seems to be somewhat on the fringe of the strip.
Handy for a short stay but a shadow of the past

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff here are lovely, and will do anything to help make your stay more comfortable. They were really accommodating when we turned up wanting an extra night last minute, and pulled strings to make it happen. Literally across the road to Doctors Cave beach, one of the best in Jamaica. Kenny the bar tender is a legend and makes the best rum punch around. The complimentary breakfast is more than enough to set you on your way for the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my Father and Uncle, I in a double and them in a twin. Whilst their room seemed plesent enough, and included a small balcony, I cannot recommend my room, 47, to anyone.

The airconditioning unit sounded like a helicopter ready to take off, the road noise outside made me think I was actually sleeping on the pavement, and the bed and bedding was horrible. And don't even get me started on the cockroaches!

I'm sure this hotel is fine for the one night, as it is close to the airport, but having stayed in my room for most of the stay, I would not go back again in a hurry. I do have to mention how helpful and friendly the reception staff were though - they remembered me and my family and allowed us the pay at the end of our stay, due to not being able to cash travellers checks over the bank holiday weekend.

For location and convienience, stay. But for anything else, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was actually on the same delayed Virgin flight as the reviewer who posted the review labelled "awful...." and I beg to differ. We were all really tired and cross, so I can understand that fed up passenger was unhappy but this Jamaican style town centre hotel did its best to deliver the famous Jamaican hospitality. We had just spent 3 weeks at Couples San Souci and Couples Swept Away and of course this hotel was not aiming for that level of luxury, but it certainly hit the spot for us.

On our return from the dreadful journey 41 hour home, one of my first actions was to email the hotel directly as follows:

"We were part of the Virgin delayed flight group who arrived at Doctors Cave in the early hours of Thursday morning.

We want to thank you for the gracious and hospitable way we were looked after during our brief stay. Everyone was very frazzled by the delay and had been rather shocked by the offensive and aggressive behaviour of some of our fellow passengers at the airport. Virgin themselves had not managed the situation at all well, and so we were all rather fed up. Your reception were most professional and dealt really well with the ongoing lack of clear leadership from Virgin. The room was clean, cool and very welcome. The lunch was excellent, and the lady food manager was delightful. In summary a difficult delayed exit from your country was turned into a good experience by your hotel.

We would be most grateful if you could pass our thanks on to your team."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just returned from our vacation in Montego Bay at Doctors Cave Beach Hotel. Had a great time on this trip thanks to the awesome staff at the hotel that were very helpful with planning our activities and making sure that we were comfortable. Our room was cozy and they offered a complimentary continental breakfast at the poolside in the mornings which was a nice bonus. The hotel is small but it has a pool, gym and can't leave out the bar where we had many of (bartender) Kenny's exotic cocktails. Twice during our stay (Tuesday & Saturday) they had a rum punch party with free rum punch which was also a treat. We didn't have to pay a fortune to stay here and we found it an excellent value. We'll be back with friends real soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doctors Cave Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Address: Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Doctors Cave Beach Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is centrally located on Gloucester Avenue, locally referred to as the "Hip Strip" because this is where you will find many of the shops, restaurants, beaches and nightlife that Montego Bay has to offer. The hotel is moderately priced and offers clean rooms, friendly staff and all the conveniences of a full service hotel, such as a pool, Jacuzzi and a small fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doctors Cave Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave Beach Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doctors Cave Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.