We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clear water clean bottom but beach needs a cleaning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doctors Cave Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Edmonton
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Clear water clean bottom but beach needs a cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The day we visited it was already 2 pm perhaps this is why the sand under my feet hit a cigarette butt or straw!

We paid 5 to get in & 5 for a beach chair which was ok because the water was great - small reef to snorkel in great for beginners as it is within the swimming bouys. There are showers restaurant too if u make it an all day excursion - closes at 5

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    46
    25
    21
See reviews for
22
42
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Doctor Cave in Montego Bay is situated in a great location.....We had a lovely and clean front view suite.The associates and managers were very pleasant....what i love about this hotel as we approach the door we got greeted with a smile.We felt like home away from home. Yes! we will stay at this hotel when we vacation in Jamaica.

Room Tip: "The corner suites are very large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.F., Calif
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Hip Strip is an active locale in MoBay but as far as a good hotel goes there... forget it. I needed to be centrally located. I've stayed in at least 7 in the past, some no longer in business. So based on the recent reviews of Gloucetershire, Montego Bay Club, El Greco, The Wexford I decided to give Doctor's Cave Beach another shot. Afterall, I was on my way home after 2 weeks in Negril and leaving the next day. I thought, hmmm can't be that bad. My days on this strip go back to the 80's when things were different and the hotels were better maintained. I had actually stayed at Doctors Cave several times Pros: Check in was smooth, front desk staff was pleasant enough, room and bathroom were clean. Cons: 1) Even though I was lucky to have a room on the front with a balcony facing the street; getting there was a long walk, hallway was dark. 2) old school, dated, air conditioning box -type unit in the wall that was struggling to put out air and it was hot as blazes. 2) they no longer have a restaurant, only offering some type of breakfast that I passed on. 3) the bar and pool area looked pretty cool but the bartender made me wait at least 15 mins, never came nor acknowledged my presence. He seemed to be busy with someone at the pool. Of course I left, then returned to the confines of my room where I sweated it out until daybreak. 4) Lastly, the price was outrageous. $157 including tax through Expedia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I recently Had The Pleasure of staying at The Doctor Cave Hotel in Mobay, and at first I was VERY Reluctant and was already thinking of the bad things before my vacation started , but i must say don't let Doctor Cave outer appearance fool you the outside may not have the looks of a five star hotel chain but on the inside the whole staff is five star quality from Shari in reservation who was my first contact with the property, to Roy at the front desk and Paul who is so helpful with everything, to housekeeping, the people in the lounge the lady at the pool area serving breakfast in the morning, i could go on and on doctor cave provide 5 star***** quality customer service and that's what is important to me

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

If you have a room closer to the strip side, it will get noisy. Also, the room beside us got robbed, and we were on the far side of the hotel, away from the main entrance. The people just managed to unlock the door and take a bunch of wallets. Security is seriously lacking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ON
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel is not perfect (needs updating) but it had a very traditional Caribbean air to it. The colours were bright and cheery in the room (mine was yellow).

The hotel is located a 5 minute walk to the Doctor's beach which is lovely. Food places are all nearby. There is no need for taxi or a car, everything is walking distance that you will need. The hotel's breakfast of akee and salt fish is yummy!

And, best of all the hotel rate is reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here 1 other time in 2011 after we stayed at sandals in whitehouse jamaica we extended r trip just so we could see the real jamaica as we felt trapped in the resort and when u stay in one of those places u see NOTHNG of jamaica, we had r driver take us here cause we didnt want inclusive either the food always bored us. And wanted to be right dab in tthe middle of strip and montego bay, so this was perfect !!
Its not a 5 star by all means or even a 4 but its clean and the staff are FABULOUS!!
The beds are not that comfortable but we made do!
The bar was perfect for laughs and great drinks made by bartender Kenny and let me tell u this guy is funny well known for his shot "lollipop" tell him Sonya recommended it :), but he will do anything to get any needs u may want, from ordering us a pizza and fresh fruit in the mornings, he was such a delight and give's class to this hotel !
Shari at the front desk was so nice and took care of r needs, anything u need they will do what they can to help you.
You are close to everthing and u can hang with locals as with us we never planned on staying in room much so for what we wanted it was perfect !
and besides its jamaica Mon have fun ,,enjoy the beauty

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doctors Cave Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Address: Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Doctors Cave Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is centrally located on Gloucester Avenue, locally referred to as the "Hip Strip" because this is where you will find many of the shops, restaurants, beaches and nightlife that Montego Bay has to offer. The hotel is moderately priced and offers clean rooms, friendly staff and all the conveniences of a full service hotel, such as a pool, Jacuzzi and a small fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doctors Cave Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave Beach Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doctors Cave Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.