We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay there again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doctors Cave Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Montego Bay
miami
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Would not stay there again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The one night we stayed here was sleepless. There was LOUD road noise and drunk obnoxious people outside our room screaming and shouting until about 6:30am. The hotel knew about this weekly event yet and how loud it is, and could have suggested we stay on the other side (furthest from the street) - yet they failed to inform us.

The rooms also need some up-dating. Feels like a sixties neglected space with a noisy neglected air conditioner.

Location is good as its right across the street from Doctors Cave Beach ... but that was not worth a sleepless night

Room Tip: check that ac's work and are not noisy and if weekly party night is on, get room to back of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooklah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The room did not have microwave or refrigerator dirty beds and floor no cofee pot or glass to drink from. baaaaaaaaaaaaaad very baaaaaad. dont go please boycut.They should not be in business.

Room Tip: Dont go there please you will not be happy, they are the worse ever.NO VALUES OR INTEGRITY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montego Bay hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Doctor’s Cave
The best thing about Jamaica is the people hands down! Jamaica is rich in culture and beautiful people. My wife and I were welcomed by the warm staff at Doctors Cave on December 9th - 12th and December 17th-19th after we returned from Kingston. We felt at home and can’t wait to return. Kenny the bartender is EXCELLENT!! This man can not only make a hell of a drink, but he is a stand up guy and knows how to take care of you. He remembered us from last year and proceeded to treat us as family. He took us shopping for Jamaican specialties, spices and the like. Kenny turned us own to the best local food…ex. curry goat, rice and peas, etc.
Kenny has a way of bringing people together: One Love. Big Ups to Kenny!
We encountered some of the most amazing people at Doctors Cave from around the world.
Shari Jackson, the Manager on Duty was extremely helpful. Since we were staying at a bed in breakfast in Kingston and then Ocho Rios for a few days with no hotel in mind, she was able to help us book accommodations. Shari, Kenny and the entire staff were excellent as they were all courteous and attentive! We will certainly be back. FYI ---- Make sure you get Kenny’s rum punch recipe!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onyx214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Traveled Aug 2008: Hotel was decent the front desk staff was ok nothing to rave about. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Location is right on the Hip Strip meannig its close to the shops and restaurants. The beach across the street was nice not to crowded. Be careful crossing the street (need i say more). What i didnt like was to get ice you had to walk through this path of the hotel that is actually outside but enclosed by a railing here and there. So at night needless to say i ran there and back. Excursion pick up was very close so that was nice.Overall decent hotel. One restaurant on site decent food

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I booked this property online and had my rates displayed , upon check out I was informed of an Energy Tax, which was not explained anywhere in or on their information. I called back to have this charge reversed and was promised a call back to date no phone call while I was in the Island. I have no problem paying any fees that I was informed of, this property just seemed to be nickling & diming their patrons , this occured on the Jazz festival weekend. l later went to Kingston to attend a wedding and upon my return Nedless to say, I stayed at another property, The Wexford. So ! you see they lost my additional business and any future possibility upon my return.......

Room Tip: Keep in mind you generally get what you pay for, Do take the time to visit Trip Advisor for previous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simply-Marvalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 2010 and 2012 Jan. Both times, rooms were clean. Any shortcomings were fixed immediately upon request. The staff are sincere, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Considering its location (ie. walking distance to beach, restaurants, nightclubs), the price is very affordable. Bartenders are very good in making drinks and entertaining guests. Towels are free, happy hour rum punch is free, referral to taxi drivers is free (but you need to negotiate the price with the driver yourself), continental breakfast is free!! But be aware, there are no organized activities or events within the hotel. Also, due to its location, it's noisy at night. As a global frequent flyer, I recommend this hotel to experienced travellers.

Room Tip: ask for bed size you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Doctors Cave Beach Hotel in early November 2011 and had a wonderful vacation. The management and staff are friendly and accommodating and we plan to return in the Spring. Kenny does a wonderful job in food and beverage. There is a Continental breakfast daily and rum punch parties twice a week. When I booked this trip, I knew this was not a luxury, all inclusive hotel because I had stayed there previously; but it is located right on the main street where there are plenty of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. It is across the street from the two most popular beaches in MoBay. Our suite was very spacious and clean and when we had any requests, they were tended to immediately. WiFi was available in the lobby. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gloucestershire Hotel
The Gloucestershire Hotel
#25 of 66 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#31 of 66 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#39 of 66 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 66 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doctors Cave Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Address: Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Doctors Cave Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is centrally located on Gloucester Avenue, locally referred to as the "Hip Strip" because this is where you will find many of the shops, restaurants, beaches and nightlife that Montego Bay has to offer. The hotel is moderately priced and offers clean rooms, friendly staff and all the conveniences of a full service hotel, such as a pool, Jacuzzi and a small fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Doctors Cave Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave Beach Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing