We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the bad and the bad AND THE WORSE.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Doctors Cave Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the bad and the bad AND THE WORSE.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The room did not have microwave or refrigerator dirty beds and floor no cofee pot or glass to drink from. baaaaaaaaaaaaaad very baaaaaad. dont go please boycut.They should not be in business.

Room Tip: Dont go there please you will not be happy, they are the worse ever.NO VALUES OR INTEGRITY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    44
    22
    16
See reviews for
18
37
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Doctor’s Cave
The best thing about Jamaica is the people hands down! Jamaica is rich in culture and beautiful people. My wife and I were welcomed by the warm staff at Doctors Cave on December 9th - 12th and December 17th-19th after we returned from Kingston. We felt at home and can’t wait to return. Kenny the bartender is EXCELLENT!! This man can not only make a hell of a drink, but he is a stand up guy and knows how to take care of you. He remembered us from last year and proceeded to treat us as family. He took us shopping for Jamaican specialties, spices and the like. Kenny turned us own to the best local food…ex. curry goat, rice and peas, etc.
Kenny has a way of bringing people together: One Love. Big Ups to Kenny!
We encountered some of the most amazing people at Doctors Cave from around the world.
Shari Jackson, the Manager on Duty was extremely helpful. Since we were staying at a bed in breakfast in Kingston and then Ocho Rios for a few days with no hotel in mind, she was able to help us book accommodations. Shari, Kenny and the entire staff were excellent as they were all courteous and attentive! We will certainly be back. FYI ---- Make sure you get Kenny’s rum punch recipe!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Traveled Aug 2008: Hotel was decent the front desk staff was ok nothing to rave about. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Location is right on the Hip Strip meannig its close to the shops and restaurants. The beach across the street was nice not to crowded. Be careful crossing the street (need i say more). What i didnt like was to get ice you had to walk through this path of the hotel that is actually outside but enclosed by a railing here and there. So at night needless to say i ran there and back. Excursion pick up was very close so that was nice.Overall decent hotel. One restaurant on site decent food

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I booked this property online and had my rates displayed , upon check out I was informed of an Energy Tax, which was not explained anywhere in or on their information. I called back to have this charge reversed and was promised a call back to date no phone call while I was in the Island. I have no problem paying any fees that I was informed of, this property just seemed to be nickling & diming their patrons , this occured on the Jazz festival weekend. l later went to Kingston to attend a wedding and upon my return Nedless to say, I stayed at another property, The Wexford. So ! you see they lost my additional business and any future possibility upon my return.......

Room Tip: Keep in mind you generally get what you pay for, Do take the time to visit Trip Advisor for previous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 2010 and 2012 Jan. Both times, rooms were clean. Any shortcomings were fixed immediately upon request. The staff are sincere, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Considering its location (ie. walking distance to beach, restaurants, nightclubs), the price is very affordable. Bartenders are very good in making drinks and entertaining guests. Towels are free, happy hour rum punch is free, referral to taxi drivers is free (but you need to negotiate the price with the driver yourself), continental breakfast is free!! But be aware, there are no organized activities or events within the hotel. Also, due to its location, it's noisy at night. As a global frequent flyer, I recommend this hotel to experienced travellers.

Room Tip: ask for bed size you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Doctors Cave Beach Hotel in early November 2011 and had a wonderful vacation. The management and staff are friendly and accommodating and we plan to return in the Spring. Kenny does a wonderful job in food and beverage. There is a Continental breakfast daily and rum punch parties twice a week. When I booked this trip, I knew this was not a luxury, all inclusive hotel because I had stayed there previously; but it is located right on the main street where there are plenty of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. It is across the street from the two most popular beaches in MoBay. Our suite was very spacious and clean and when we had any requests, they were tended to immediately. WiFi was available in the lobby. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

ok for price, was clean and its right on strip close to everything, but could use new mattresses, was out dated and looked better on website ! but its what u make of it ! we had left another place cause we decided to extend r visit to see jamaica, it was close to airport !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doctors Cave Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave
Doctors Cave Beach Montego Bay
Address: Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Doctors Cave Beach Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is centrally located on Gloucester Avenue, locally referred to as the "Hip Strip" because this is where you will find many of the shops, restaurants, beaches and nightlife that Montego Bay has to offer. The hotel is moderately priced and offers clean rooms, friendly staff and all the conveniences of a full service hotel, such as a pool, Jacuzzi and a small fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Doctors Cave Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doctors Cave Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.