We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha Brae River

Martha Brae River
Martha Brae River | Falmouth, Montego Bay 19142, Jamaica
876-952-0889
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$100*
and up
Martha Brae River Rafting and Dunn’s River Falls...
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Montego Bay
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautiful! It was soooo nice to just kick back, relax and enjoy beautiful Jamaica! It's just a short drive from Montego bay to get there. Be sure to bring cash for drinks snacks and souvenirs!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    168
    41
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a tranquil experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A best kept secret. This jewel of the island needs to be promoted more intentionally. It was a sweet escape from the noise of life. Yes - they are always trying to sell the "trinkets" along the river bank but it is part of the charm. Hilton was a great guide -even let my hubby captain for a bit of the ride

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

me & my husband do this on every trip to Jamaica! its a can't miss! We love the handmade trinkets the sale & personalize also.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Secret Pleasures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised with this excursion. Even tho there were lots of people ahead and behind us we felt like we were the only ones on this river at times. Our guide was very informative on the foliage and history of this river. We did end up buying a souvenir from him. And he carved his name into it. He took our picture on the raft on the part he called Memory Lane. Very nice afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth doing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We took the excursion while staying at a resort in Ocho Rios. ( 1 hr ride from Ocho Rios, would be about 1 hr from Montego Bay)

The trip was amazing. Very romantic as well as informative. Mention to the captain at the beginning of the trip if you want to take a dip in the river. It's pretty cold at first but feels great after a few minutes.

Also, the carvings the Captains have to sell were much better than I thought they would be. The carvings seemed to range from $20-30 US.

Take bug spray just in case!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha Brae River also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Rose Hall, Montego Bay
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Martha Brae River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha Brae River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.