We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capt Delroy!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martha Brae River

Martha Brae River
Martha Brae River | Falmouth, Montego Bay 19142, Jamaica
876-952-0889
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #3 of 27 attractions in Montego Bay
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Capt Delroy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The trip down the Martha Brae river was magical! Our capt was Capt Delroy, who from the minute we boarded the raft made us laugh and be entertained the whole three miles of the trip.

He was very knowledgable about the area and showed us the wild bamboo which grows along the river from which they make the raft from, also the bird of paradise flower. The scenery was simply breathtaking and after a few red stripes, the songs from capt Delroy began to flow!
People on the other rafts looked like they were having the worst time ever, but we had the best Capt, so if you decided on this trip make sure you ask for Delroy and make sure you tell him Julia and Paul said hi!!

Along the river there are small stalls where you can buy a beer or some wonderful handmade good, we purchased a lion of Judah carving and a calabash carving which Delroy made and personalised for a gift to take back home.

A wonderful, educating trip that is a must while staying on the North coast!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    144
    36
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
denver, co
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

There is more than one river that offer the bamboo river rafting experience. The Rio Grande is the original, however the Martha Brae is the most popular. We enjoyed our very slow, relaxing ride down the river. I even jumped into the cool water and swam along near the end of the trip. Our captain was very good and great to talk with. One thing that I noticed about the difference between the Rio Grande and the Martha Brae (other than location) is that the MB is a smaller, more narrow river. What this gives you is much more shade. This was definitely a plus for us on our hot sunny day. You will hear from your captain about how they do not make alot of money and how they need to support their family and so on. They do hand carve something for you out of bamboo and offer for sale. Ours were 2 cups. The engraving was quite good. We probably would have purchased them without the story anyway as they are neat mementos of our trip. These will fade. When you first get them they are still very green but will fade. Still enjoy them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Relax and enjoy the scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Incredibly relaxing ride in a beautiful setting. Our guide, Mike, pointed out a variety of plants and trees to us and sang nicely. He avoided all of the touristy sales booths for us, but did have beautiful handmade carved plant shells (I am blanking on the name!) for sale on the raft. He showed us how he made them himself at the end of our trip, and its an awesome piece of art. So just relax and go with the flow!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The "shoots!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Love going down the bamboo shoots!!! Ashley was a great guide....Can't wait to go back (for my 6th trip to Jamaica) to do this again!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

we had storms and got soaking wet about half way through. when we got to the end the locals doubled every price on towels and shirt.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha Brae River also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Rose Hall, Montego Bay
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Martha Brae River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha Brae River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Martha Brae River to your Saves list