We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martha Brae River Tubing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha Brae River

Martha Brae River
Martha Brae River | Falmouth, Montego Bay 19142, Jamaica
876-952-0889
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$100*
and up
Martha Brae River Rafting and Dunn’s River Falls...
Ranked #6 of 74 things to do in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Burlington, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Martha Brae River Tubing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Very educational and entertaining guided tubing tour through the Martha Brae river near Falmouth, Jamaica led by Chukka Tours. Very knowledgable staff who organized and led the tour. Paid $70 a person as a shore excursion on a Celebrity Cruise. Learned facts about Jamaica'a history, vegetation, cultures, wildlife. Refreshing cool limestone river surrounded by beautiful tall bamboo chutes and palm trees. Made for a relaxing but informative day in the sun. Watershoes recommended and dry season in March-May may cause cancelled tours because river is too shallow.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    231
    55
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing/Tranquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just returned from cruise 3/3/13. Chose the Martha Brae River Rafting. We had been to Jamaica before and did the Falls wanted something different. This is a beautiful place very relaxing you float down the river on a bamboo raft with a tour guide, our guide was Peter. you travel approximately 3.5 miles down river. They build their own rafts and maintain them, as we went down the river Peter pointed out the different plants, Almond Trees, Bananna, Plantain, Bread Fruit (sp?), Mangos, Bamboo, Cane. Gave a lot of history of the surroundings. The River is beautiful, canopied by trees. You can hear the Parrots and different birds. Just a relaxing time.

I had actually forgotten a swimsuit (imagine that), thought I would be able to get one on the boat. Nope, so we wanted something not requiring water. This was alot of fun. You do not get wet. Very beautiful, nice photo ops.

Most of the guides make carvings out of the Bread Fruit - They scoop out all the fruit and make beautiful carvings around the outside. All different sizes and shapes-you do not have to buy one, but they do show them and you'll want this keepsake. After the river trip we still had time to stop and shop (I found a swimsuite) and grab a bite to eat. (Lunch is not included)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing. A sight to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

You get a chance to relax, unwind and take in the simple pleasures in life. Our tour guide Captain Sewel was so knowledgeable about the river the grounds, plants and things that were growing there in the area. We left there with an appreciation for the things there even more
He also makes beautiful carvings with wood.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Raft trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a great, relaxing tour to take down a slow river. Our guide Peter was very knowledgable about the wildlife and plant life along the river, as well as the history of the region. We would definitely do this again--it is only about a half hour from Montego Bay.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Martha Brae River Rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband was allowed to guide the raft the entire trip!! Sale pressure to buy souvenirs was low keyed compared to Ocho Rios experience last week off a cruise.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha Brae River also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Martha Brae River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha Brae River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.