We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Jerk food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scotchies

Scotchies
Falmouth Road, Montego Bay, Jamaica
(876)953-8041
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 97 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Roselle, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Jerk food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The jerk chicken and pork was great. Loved the spices and the make the jerk on this great grill so you can smell the spices as soon as you walk in the place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    284
    50
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A taste of Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

A great restaurant to taste the infamous Jamaican Jerk Chicken and other local foods...rice and peas (not beans but was rice and beans), festival, yams, sweet potatos, and breadfruit. Our tour guide, Mark with Di Jamaican Flava, took us here during our sightseeing of Montego Bay. Our group of 12 loved it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food even for a Veggie-Guy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Okay, strange review because I did not have the meat (which smells very good). As a person who does not eat meat, I was a bit concerned about finding anything worth eating in Jamaica. However, our fantastic guide, Mark, of Di Jamaican Flava, took us here since most of the people in our group are carnivores. Once we arrived I realized that I was going to have NO trouble finding food. There were four or five different items to eat and all of them were very well spiced and prepared. The festival was excellent and the Rice and Peas (beans) was delicious. The yams were really good and everything blended really well. Definitely worth the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Jerk Chicken. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Scotchies had great jerk chicken and festival. It's made fresh and it's so tender. Perfectly done. Even if you are staying in rose hall it's worth taking the little 15 minute ride from your resort to go up there for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Real Jamaican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Authentic Jamaican cuisine road side stop between Half Moon and iberostar resorts
If Locals eat there you know its good and priced right pulled pork, jerked chicken, ribs and sauces
Just have your conversion tables with you as the menu is priced in Jamaican Dollars

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchies also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Scotchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotchies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.