We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's No Sandals-Antigua” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Carlyle Inn

Save Saved
You added Sandals Carlyle Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Carlyle Inn
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kent Avenue | PO Box 421, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Free Night!
Ranked #14 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's No Sandals-Antigua”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

My sister and her husband were married at Sandals-Antigua and raved about how Sandals is the "Top Notch" all inclusive resort; they even returned there for their anniversary and had the best time. Therefore, my wife and I expected nothing short of the best in quality and service.

We chose Jamaica because, during a cruise, we'd been to the country before and had a good time. When we arrived by plane this time, Immigration and Customs took hours. We hopped a shuttle to the resort and we were graciously greeted.

Upon getting to our room, the air conditioner was located only in the bedroom, therefore, the bathroom was hot. The tile grout was 2 inches thick from consistent adding for cover-up, rather than replacing old grout. The door hinges were rusted and the tiolet seat was worn. Our television set was a 20 inch, 1980 model Panasonic on which channels would disappear while you were watching a program.

When we finally came to terms of acceptance, we ventured to Sandals-Montego Bay. Our visit there was fantastic, keep in mind we did not see any suites there. We tried to make reservations for the local(hotel) restaurants but were told they were booked until Saturday (it was only tuesday). The (only) swim-up bar there was under construction. We figured we'd try the Sandals-Royal Caribbean.

The Royal was our favorite spot. Nice pace...good water sports.

In all, our major diappointment was in the food and the availability. There were numerous times that we orderd someting on the menu and they didn't have it...example: I ordered Fried Bammy on 3 different days, they didn't have it and still kept it on their menu. We thought seafood would be plentiful, shrimp and lobster, only to find that we MUST preorder it in advance, and MAY get it if it's available.

For what we paid for our trip, we expected much more. Sure the drinks were included, but remember...you really do still pay for them, only in advance. You would expect them to be in a glass, not a plastic cup. Disappointment is the best term we can use.

  • Liked — Transfering to other facilities.
  • Disliked — Poor and slow service.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    769
    274
    79
    58
    40
See reviews for
37
934
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
adll30
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for our first anniversary. We liked The Halcyon in St Lucia soo much for our Honeymoon that we decided to visit Sandals again and try Jamaica. From the moment we arrived we felt so welcome. If you like a bed and breakfast atmosphere you will love the Inn. When you need a change of pace you can play at the other two resorts in Montego Bay and The Royal Carribean; however, it is nice to come back to the quaint feel of the Inn. Like coming HOME for the evening. Doreen will be smiling at the front desk and Curtis will refresh your drink. Anthony ensures you are well entertained before you leave, including teaching you some Jamaican dance moves! Elvis is ever present to make sure your taste buds are taken care of. Make sure to have the jerk chicken its the best! We ate it for lunch everyday!! This team is headed up by the very sweet attentive and approachable, General Manager, Ms. Cheryl Brown. The only words I can use to describe the whole experience is warm and genuine. All the guests and employees at the Inn get to know eachother. The water at the beach across the street was the clearest I saw in Jamaica and the most refreshing. There is a great reef around the left of the jetty at the beach that is great for snorkling. The street party was fun as well. You can walk to the hip strip to visit Margaritaville and other Jamaican restaurants and shops. I would recommend after your stay to sign up for the signature guest program to take advantage of all the special offers from Sandals. Stay at the Inn And get the Pampering you deserve on vacation. Not to Mention the great value it is!
Arlene & Lance L.

  • Liked — the quaint homey feel
  • Disliked — that the beach was public
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIchita, KS
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

We stayed at Sandals Inn in Montego Bay, Jamaica, for 4 days in late July. It was an intimate hotel with wonderful service and friendly people. We had access to all of the other Sandals resorts in Jamaica and actually went to 4 of the others to swim, eat and enjoy the beaches. It was nice to go to the other hotels, which were larger and busier, to do water activities and then come back to the peace and quiet of Sandals Inn. With such a small resort, get to know a lot of the other guests and the staff, so it is like coming home every evening.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and very quiet. Our room had a view of the pool, which was nice.

We booked two tours out of our hotel and had a great time on both of them. The gentleman who helped us book the tours was a Sandals employee and really helped us get tours that matched our interest and our time restrictions. He was very knowledgeable and helpful.

We loved our stay and would definitely like to go back again in the near future.

  • Liked — The small size of the hotel and the fact that it was so quiet
  • Disliked — That the hotel did not have its own private beach.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

I enjoyed everyday spent at the Sandals Inn. The staff treated us like family and we hated to leave. We are definitely going back for a visit!!

You also get to visit the other nearby Sandals Resorts and this is a nice feature of the resort.

There are all types of things to do and you will walk away educated.

As with anyone traveling, just be careful and aware of your surroundings.

  • Liked — The way we were treated by all of the staff/like family!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

apart from the air port ,sandles inn is one best hotels i have stayed at not posh ,but homely ,you are made very welcome .first name terms is norm go and find out for your self .

  • Liked — every ting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

I just need to compliment the extraordinary staff at the Inn at Montego Bay! We were there for six nights but our memories are forever.

We wanted to celebrate our 25th anniversary in a special way. I am a teacher in Florida and we are raising 2 teenage children so money was a major concern.
I did my homework and chose the Inn.

Our room was upgraded and the décor was great! It was clean and well cared for. The king size bed was unbelievably comfortable. The bathroom was slightly dated but served its purpose just fine.

The food was very good especially at the Carlisle which takes reservations only.
Be sure to do this as soon as you get there for the other Sandals restaurants as well. Tacia is efficient at setting up any/ all of your needs. I recommend the Thai at Royal Caribbean.

The Inn does not have their own private beach but the effective shuttle service allowed us to experience more than we ever would have if we had just stayed at one resort.

Our days were spent exploring the other resorts and their amenities. We also went to Negril with Dalton Clark ( this was a blast!) and to Dunn's River Falls to see more of the island but we were so happy to finally get "home" to the Inn. The gardens, bar and pool area are immaculate. The pool and hot tub are available 24 hours a day.

Cheryl, Doreen, Paul, Milton, Tacia, David, Antonette, Kenisha the housekeeping staff and everyone else made us feel so special.

The extent to which this staff serves its guests is unlike any I have ever experienced. They go above and beyond the call of duty. Most of them work hard six days a week as a team. They are always friendly and happy which just enhanced our experience.

Hats off to the lovely employees at Sandals Inn Montego Bay.
You are 'inn' our hearts forever.
Yea Mon!!

Kathy and Jimmy
Longwood, Florida

  • Liked — The efficient and polite staff
  • Disliked — re setting the air after opening the balcony door and sometimes there was late night traffic noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimauma, FL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

Hotel Name: Sandals Inn
Arrival Date: 7/22/07
Lead names on reservation: Mark Illum & Kimberly Inzerillo
Mailing address: [--]
Wimauma, FL 33598

That staff was great at this resort. They were very accommodating to our requests. On night we pass one staff member (name is Jamal) on street. We asked him how to get to Jimmy’s Buffet Margaritaville. Not only did he tell us how to get there, he told us which side of the street was better for us to walk on. The next day when we saw him, he asked us if we found ok and that we didn’t have any problems getting back to the hotel.
Another Staff member that went out of his way for us was Milton. I wanted to change in some of my money for Jamaican money to bring back with me. He found the crispest of the dollars and the shiniest of the coins.
We were just a little disappointed that we didn’t have a private beach at our resort and we had to leave our hotel if we wanted to do any of the water sports that were offered. Other than that, we had a great stay.

Sincerely,
Kim and Mark.

  • Liked — Had a lot of personal touches to it
  • Disliked — Did not have a private beach and had to leave the resort for the water activites
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Carlyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Carlyle Inn

Address: Kent Avenue | PO Box 421, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Carlyle Inn 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sandals Carlyle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Carlyle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.