We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Carlyle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Carlyle to your Saves list
Sandals Carlyle
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kent Avenue | PO Box 421, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
World Travel Award!
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Value and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

As the other reviews note, the staff make this hotel special. When you consider the service you get and the ability to go to the other two Sandals properties for the amenities not available at the Carlyle, it is a great deal. If you are looking for the wow factor of the Grand in St. Lucia or Antigua, you will be disappointed, but if you are looking for a clean room, friendly people, and a way to save substantial money, go here.

Room: We were upgraded to a remodeled room on the 3rd floor overlooking the outdoor bar--partial ocean view (room 305). The room was clean, nicely remodeled, and mostly quiet. At night it could get a little loud until the nightly entertainment slowed down around 1030. The bathroom was small, but nicely done. Our housekeeper Charlotte did a great job every day.

Pool: There is a single small pool and hot tub which we only used in the late afternoon after returning from the other resorts. It was never crowded, and always clean.

Bar: Denise at the bar makes fabulous drinks. It is a nice covered space in the garden area. Breezes come through and keep things cool. If you are at the pool, staff will check on you and see if they can bring you a drink.

Food: Breakfast was a la carte. After the first day, we went to Mo Bay every morning before diving and used the buffet there instead. We had dinner at the Carlyle in the garden area twice--Chef Kevin did a great job. We also enjoyed Mr. Nibbles food at the grill for lunch on our first day, and Shantelle (the waitress with the lovely smile) was a delight at the Carlyle and at the Returning Guest Dinner.

Staff: Everyone here was friendly and went out of their way to help--by far the best experience we have had at any Sandals, and we have stayed at or visited all of them except those in the Bahamas. Special thanks to Michael at the front desk, Doreen the Front Desk Manager, Andre and Richard in entertainment, Kavine at Soon Come Back, and the fabulous GM Christopher. The Returning Guest Dinner at the Carlyle was far more fun than any other we have been to. And what other resort would have the GM, the Front Desk Manager, and the Soon Come Back Manager all waiting to hug you goodbye on your last day?

Entertainment: We were lame and went to bed early most nights, but there was always a band or dancing going on below. The few nights we stayed out late, we had fun. Admittedly, we were not there during the day most days because we went to Mo Bay early to go scuba diving. The Carlyle could organize group walking group trips from the resort to the hip strip in the morning or late afternoon to give guests a reason to stick around the property rather than head to Mo Bay or RC. And it might even bring guests over from those resorts. We walked it alone and were fine, but others might prefer a larger group.

Beach: The pictures on the web site are more deceptive than I thought--and I was not expecting much. The beach is really just a small spit of sand across the street. It is usually crowded, and you can't go over there without being offered "brownies" or other substances for purchase. We never tried it.

Diving: We took a cab every day to Mo Bay--and Sandals pays for the cab because it is before the Shuttle runs. This is a great benefit and usually 6 of us went daily. The diving itself was the best we have seen in Jamaica (compared to Ocho Rios, White House, and Negril). There is a lot more life on the reefs, including large eagle rays, sting rays, eels, and lots of fish. The diving staff at Mo Bay was fabulous. We want to thank Donovan, Fast Car, Winston, Owen, Doc, Twelve, Rochelle, Sergeant Major, and every one else at Water Sports for making our vacation amazing.

We already booked our return trip.

In sum, don't stay here if you want to wake up every morning and step out onto the beach and/or have a giant soaking tub in a large bedroom. Do stay here if you want to save a LOT of money, be treated like you are special, don't mind a clean but average size hotel room and bathroom, and don't mind a 10 minute shuttle ride to Mo Bay and 20 or so to the RC. NOTE: the shuttle does not run during lunch or dinner.

I could not give this hotel 5 stars only because I have stayed at Antigua and St. Lucia and know that other Sandals properties are truly on the beach. The lack of a true beach here is truly the only downside, but if you know that going in, you can make the right choice for you.

Room Tip: The remodeled rooms on the 3rd floor are much nicer than the older style rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Carlyle. We're thrilled to read of your amazing stay with us. You had an incredible vacation filled with excitement, delicious food and superb hospitality. Having visited our other properties, we understand that not having a private beach can take a little getting used to but many of our guests loved the fact that they can enjoy the beaches and amenities at our sister properties in Montego Bay.

We can't wait to see you again during your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    297
    86
    61
    42
See reviews for
39
1,002
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Service in this hotel from the welcome to the farewell made this a memorable holiday. The personal greeting/chat everyday from Chris the manager was a lovely touch, making the hotel more homely. The food was good, and Mr Nibbles at the grill made it feel especially delightful because of his smile/stories; and Denise at the bar was the "hostess with the mostess" as she efficiently managed guests with grace late into the night. Our hotel room was beautiful with views of the ocean, but was let down by the bathrooms which though clean felt very tired. A very limited selection of wines for the non-spirit drinkers was a bit a let down. Good value overall as you can make use of 2 other sandals resorts in Montego Bay, with free shuttle transfers, allowing for partying/ free water activities, then coming back to a more relaxed intimate setting....highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We're happy that you had a wonderful stay at Sandals Carlyle. Chris and his entire team are all committed to making our guests feel comfortable and right at home. We appreciate your feedback about our wine options and bathroom decor. We definitely take all feedback into consideration to ensure that we offer the best to out guests. Thanks so much for your review.

We look forward to you visiting again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

A great vacation. It was just four nights long, but the staff and management made it a very enjoyable and carefree stay.it was our third time staying there and the warmth and personal attention has never been anything but fantastic.
Allen & Mary Lovelace

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
It's always so good to welcome our return guests home to Sandals Carlyle. We're so happy that your third stay was just as great as the first time you experienced our beautiful resort. Thank you so much for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back home again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The anxieties of work, packing, airports, immigration, transports and such started easing with Shanetta's smile greeting and service at the front desk. After having our room refreshed, touring the grounds, meeting the hard -working and beautiful Denise at the bar, sitting in the jacuzzi, dinner, sleep, and a refreshing morning swim in the sea, we truly felt like we were on vacation. Being able to visit the other 2 Sandals at MoBay, enjoy the services and facilities then return to our Carlyle Family(staff) made the trip exciting and a great value! Special thanks to Darwin for fetching us soursop from the hills and his"fast" room service.Andre is a great entertainer, his easy going manor got everyone to participate in bar games without being pushy or offensive. Zedrine kept or room spotless and we enjoyed her towel creations, flowers and juice in our fridge. We also enjoyed the Ja. breakfast specials, especially the akai and fish. Kimberly kept our water glasses cold and our coffee hot. Keresha was prompt and our favorite waitress. It seems most guests miss out on the small public beach. We swam at it every morning. A simple "no, Thank you!" kept the vendors away. Thanks to Teejay for setting up chairs and umbrella and bringing us "very dirty banana" drinks on the beach! He is also a fantastic bartender. the excursion to Negril Sandals was fun + informative, Dalton was great at keeping everyone safe and amused and Rooster has great driving skills. Thanks to all the staff at Carlyle, all good. Saying goodbye to our new friends was bittersweet, especially to Shanetta who felt like a daughter to us! Her sincerity and focus should be rewarded and we look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of your wonderful stay at Sandals Carlyle! We're so glad that you enjoyed every minute of your vacation with us. You experienced the excellent hospitality of our friendly staff as well as the exciting amenities of our two sister resorts in Montego Bay.

We can't wait for your return next year for an even better stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had an extraordinary and blissful time at the Sandals Montego Bay Carlyle Resort spending 5 days and 4 nights (This past 9/14 - 9/18/2013). This was definitely worth every penny spent! My husband and I enjoyed our selves so much to the point nt we did not want to even leave. There was tons of fun things to see and do from riding in a glass bottom boat to see the fish, snorkeling, excursions to see wildlife and other beautiful locations / sites. With the all inclusive package we received butlers were included and day trips to the other Sandals Montego Bay was definitely a blast. Another service that we definitely appreciated was having a Butler. Also the fact that the Sandals resorts are for 18 years of age and over.


The staff at the resort were extremely friendly and they ensured that I was we were happy and enjoyed ourselves at all times.

Our butlers Anthony & Dennis were intensely pleasant, polite, helpful, sincere, and overall beautiful people! Our butlers were extremely knowledgeable about anything related to the Sandals Resorts, Anthony and Dennis are two hardworking and educated butlers, The service provided was above and beyond wonderful. These gentlemen totally understand the concept of providing the most ULTIMATE PROFESSIONAL & FRIENDLY customer service possible. Both have years of Butler experience together and enjoy their positions to the utmost. They surprised us by daily setting up something in our room and returned there would be anything from rose petals to towel decorations, also creating a birthday cake with our names on it.
Overall on a scale from 1-10, one is the lowest and ten being the highest I would give my butlers a 10!

Again, this vacation was wonderful & pleasant another to remember-able!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
It's so good to hear of your fantastic stay at Sandals Carlyle. Sounds like your awesome butlers, Anthony and Dennis, really took excellent care of you during your stay. We encourage all of our staff to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience with us and I'm glad we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The first point to make, as in anything, you get what you pay for. Facilities wise, the Carlyle is by far the poorer cousin of the 3 Sandals hotels in Montego Bay. The beeches, bars and restaurants in the other 2 are superb, whereas the Carlyle does not have its own Beech (there is a very small public one over the road but we would not use this). The Carlyle has limited food and restaurant facilities compared to the other 2. Most people seem to use the Carlyle as a place to sleep using the facilities at the other hotels.

The room was comfortable, but by no means 5 star. It was in need of a makeover and a decent TV. Saying that, it was kept spotlessly clean and the fridge was always topped up with soft drinks. The pool area is very small but you could always get a sunbed.

Turning to the staff at the Carlyle. They without exception are absolutely amazing and in my opinion the main reason people go back to this hotel. The staff will go out of their way to ensure you have a good time are always polite and courteous with a want to help attitude. I would like to particular say thank you to Michael, who went out to help us, Denise amazing at running the bar and Emily (I mean Sharnetta….sorry private joke) who gave a fantastic welcome when we first arrived and then went on to provide great Customer Service. This is the reason I gave this hotel 4 stars.

Finally, would I stay hear again. Maybe, but that would only be because of the great staff. In any case we as we have done so in the past, we will definitely be going to a Sandals hotel on our next vacation, but will probably pay the extra and get the true Sandals Luxury. One final note, we did find the whole Butler thing a little uncomfortable. Whilst waiting at a bar, a butler appeared with 2 young people. He ordered their drinks, placed the drinks in their hand and even positioned the straw in the glass, for easier access. This just didn’t feel right for me, I know there are reasons why this service is provided, its just not for me.

PS...Andre the entertainment guy, is wasted here. As the hotel is mainly empty as people are visiting the other hotels he does not get as much oportunity as he should, to use his obvious talent. He is very impressive and has a really great way about him.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review about your stay at our resort. We're a bit disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in a few areas of our vacation package but we take feedback very seriously and will make the necessary adjustments to ensure we offer a superb vacation to our guests.

Our staff really makes things so much better. It's so great to hear your kind comments about your experience with them. We couldn't ask for a better group of people who are so committed to showcasing stellar hospitality skills.

We certainly hope this will move you to visit with us again for a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at sandals Carlyle Inn Sep 12-15. We did the butler service and I would highly recommend as it really created a nice experience for us. The stay at 1 and play at 3 is a great additona to this trip. We spent a day at all 3. The best part of this trip is that my wife who is 7 months pregnant was treated like royalty. Everyone kept asking how she was and how "Jack" was. Jack is the name of our unborn son. Our butler Jevan even bought us a little baby outfit to take home. We also had butler services from Anthony who left a little surprise in our room every evening when we returned. Keyon aka Mr. Nibbles is probably the nicest chef I have ever met. He bought special foods for us, he catered to our every need. The only issue with this hotel is it does not have a public beach and there were some scary individuals on the public beach everyday. I knew this going in and we planned to spend our beach days at the other resorts. It can also be a little noisy during the weekend nightas with locals honking horns and "drag racing"

Room Tip: get the butler service at carlyle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We're so happy that you had such a great trip to Sandals Carlyle. We understand that not having a private beach is a worry for some but we certainly make up for it with our amazing staff on resort and the full use of our private beach at our sister resort. We're glad you still got the chance to enjoy your vacation with us and we thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Perhaps, to one of our Beaches resorts when Jack arrives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Carlyle

Address: Kent Avenue | PO Box 421, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandals Carlyle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.