We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallest Resort, Biggest Heart - So True” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Carlyle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Carlyle to your Saves list
Sandals Carlyle
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kent Avenue | PO Box 421, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
World Travel Award!
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Smallest Resort, Biggest Heart - So True”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I got married at The Carlyle last month and it was the best choice we could have made. They call it the smallest resort with the biggest heart and believe me they live up to that everyday of your stay. Sure, you can stay at the larger resorts but you will never experience the warm, personal, feels like home experience as you will at The Carlyle. Jerome and Andre made every night a blast and assured everyone was having a good time. The Carlyle would not be the same without those big sparkling personalities. Shane, the photographer, did a superb job with our wedding photos. Service was exceptional. We looked forward to seeing Shery, Rashane, Sean, Darwin, Denise, Jordan and so many others everyday. They would sit and chat with you and greet you with hugs. They always had smiles on their faces. We loved everyday there and we look forward to returning there the first chance we get. I cant wait to see all my new friends again. I miss them all already.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    297
    86
    61
    42
See reviews for
39
1,001
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from June 8th until The 15th, 2013. We had sun shine every day and had the best meals, entertainment , loved "All" The staff. We would be greeted by the manager every morning at breakfast. Sherry lights up the morning just filling up a water glass. We loved every moment at this resort. It is so nice to start the day off with breakfast here. There are so many choices for breakfast. and then take a short ride over by shuttle to The Royal or the Montego Bay to swim in the private beach or the Private island. Rent a Cabana ! So many choices for dinner and entertainment we didn't have enough time to all we wanted to do in Montego Bay and it is our 3 rd. time to the Montego Bay Area resorts. We are booked again for next year and are looking forward to trying the other RESTURANTS we have not been to yet. And yes there is noise from the street at night, just bring ear plugs and close the bathroom door and it will be fine. We enjoyed jumping from the real hot tub into the pool. (0nly pool over our heads) Carlyle has the best pool of all the resorts in the Montego Area if you like deep pools.
Christopher, Jevon, Adrian, Jerome,Kaveen , Shery Tee-jay ,Keresha and Leeann we can't wait to see you all again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had another great vacation in Jamaica! As soon as we stepped through the entry way at the Carlyle, we immediately felt like we were home! Familiar faces greeted us. We shared lots of hugs! This smaller resort gives that personal touch that the larger places just cannot do. Every one of the staff always greeted us with a smile and want to make sure we were having fun. All meals were a great experience and the food, as always, was melt in your mouth, delicious! Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. We booked a couples massage and the ladies at the Red Lane Spa were wonderful! We were so relaxed for the rest of our vacation! There was always something to do at the property. The great entertainment staff will make sure you have fun! Sandals is the luxury included resort as the ads show, and the staff at the Carlyle Inn will give you the best vacation ever!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband & I celebrated our 10-year wedding anniversary at the Sandals Carlyle Resort, & unfortunately... the bad outweighed the good for me. Maybe my expectations were a little too high. First... The Good- 1. The staff was exceptionally nice & professional hands down. 2. The food & drinks were good. 3. The couples massage performed by Michelle & Maurine were excellent!! 4. The service for our 'Private Dinner for Two" from Craig was excellent!! Now the bad - 1. There were little black ants in our restroom. 2. My husband killed a roach in our room. 3. Window units for air conditioning in 2013.... really? 4. The "Private Dinner for Two" was absolutely not!! Our dinner was held in The Gardens area. This area is located right next to the main bar on the premises which meant that others on their way to the bar or having drinks at the bar could see us having our "private" dinner. I was sorely disappointed with their version of a "private dinner for two' & do not recommend it if you expect real privacy. We definitely plan on returning to Jamaica at some point but never to the Carlyle.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Ocean View Deluxe room on the 2nd floor. From what I understand, the 3rd floor is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickasha
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is our fourth time at the Carlyle. We like the fact of only 52 units & the staff is so attentive. The general manager, Chris Elliott, went the extra mile to ensure our every request was met. The shuttle to the other properties is only 15 minutes to Montego Bay or 30 to the Royal so we ate breakfast & slept at the Carlyle & went to the beach at the other properties.

Room Tip: Third floor away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Carlyle. You enjoyed our resort as well as our other 2 amazing properties in Montego Bay. It's so great to hear that our General Manager made sure your stay was an incredible one. Service is so important to us and we always want our guests to feel appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at the Sandals Carlyle Inn for our honeymoon and had a great experience! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and everyone was very professional. The food was excellent & the Carlyle campus was beautiful.

We honestly hadn't really done much research about the resort - we booked through a travel agent. We expected to have private beach access at the resort, so we were slightly disappointed. However, we decided that having the free option to travel between Carlyle, Sandals Montego Bay & Sandals Royal Caribbean was great. You get the opportunity to spend the day wherever you choose, and it helps mix things up a bit and give you lots of variety. A

Also, for someone with a budget (like us) this was a GREAT opportunity. We got to stay at a Sandals property that was much less expensive than Montego Bay or Royal Caribbean, but we had many of the same experiences. A room comparable to ours at Montego Bay cost nearly $200 more per night, so we think taking a shuttle for beach access was worth it.

Our only real complaint was that because the resort is so close to the public beach, it can be REALLY loud at night, between car alarms and music blaring. But I don't think there's much the resort can do about that.

Room Tip: Higher floors come with Butler service and were very nice. Facing the beach, we were on the right si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our first time visiting a Sandals resort and initially because of some of the reviews I was wary of making the selection that I did. But I quickly realized once we'd completed our stay at this boutique type resort that there are those who will absolutely love the Carlyle Inn for the same reasons that others will not have such a great time. First off, the service at this resort is second to none. Our many thanks to our butlers Supreme - Denesha, Javon and Dennis!! This trio saw to our every need, even when we played away at one of the other Sandals resorts (stay at one, play at three), Denesha would give us a call and check in on us to ensure that we were comfortable and were seeing and experiencing the best that the resorts and island had to offer. We particularly appreciated that attention to detail and no call from us was ever handled with anything but the utmost care and immediate action. So if there is one thing I can advise anyone visiting this resort it would be to definitely, definitely upgrade to receive butler service. Each morning with the exception of perhaps one or two at our choice, Denesha greeted us by serving breakfast to us on our patio (get the chef's 'dutch pot' - trust me as you won't be disappointed, and you're in Jamaica so experiencing the local fare is a must, if only one time). Before we'd travelled, I'd requested what drinks our room should be stocked with and we were not disappointed. We were even treated to a lovely flower petaled bed and towel art in the shape of swan one day upon returning from a day at the beach. Everyone at the resort is so friendly and generous with there time and knowledge of things to do and see in Jamaica. Yet another standout was Andre, the resort's entertainment director and Chris, the manager, as well as Lisa who never let an opportunity pass to ask us how we were enjoying ourselves. Andre took us on a great walk around the restaurants and shops nearby the hotel in a quest for my husband's fave cigars, and although they didn't sell them in that area, we greatly appreciated the time he took and his exuberance during the daily activities. As I mentioned earlier, some people will treasure the boutique, home-like appeal of this resort and I'm sure it is what keeps regulars returning every year - you could tell from the smiles on their faces. The butler service was a great investment and it made all the difference for us because we had a renovated room and that wonderful personal service. The beach is across the street, and yes, while it may not be a private beach, my husband and I enjoyed our cabana time at the Montego Bay Sandals resort just next door. And quite frankly, once we'd experienced one night of dinner at another Sandals resort, we longed for the familiarity, employees that knew us by name and home comforts of the Inn, so every night we dined 'at home'. It was my husband's first trip to Jamaica and he absolutely loved it. We'll definitely come back and stay at the Inn!!! I hope that Sandals corp. recognizes the caliber of people they have working at the Inn and invests in them generously because there truly is no greater asset to the Inn then its staff.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a 'Butler Suite' on the third floor. They are the only rooms that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We're so happy to read of your wonderful stay at Sandals Carlyle. Providing stellar service is our top priority and I'm so glad we were able to consistently offer you the highest level of service during your stay. We truly value our excellent staff members and appreciate your kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Carlyle

Address: Kent Avenue | PO Box 421, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandals Carlyle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.