We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Carlyle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Carlyle to your Saves list
Sandals Carlyle
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kent Avenue | PO Box 421, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
World Travel Award!
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our first time visiting a Sandals resort and initially because of some of the reviews I was wary of making the selection that I did. But I quickly realized once we'd completed our stay at this boutique type resort that there are those who will absolutely love the Carlyle Inn for the same reasons that others will not have such a great time. First off, the service at this resort is second to none. Our many thanks to our butlers Supreme - Denesha, Javon and Dennis!! This trio saw to our every need, even when we played away at one of the other Sandals resorts (stay at one, play at three), Denesha would give us a call and check in on us to ensure that we were comfortable and were seeing and experiencing the best that the resorts and island had to offer. We particularly appreciated that attention to detail and no call from us was ever handled with anything but the utmost care and immediate action. So if there is one thing I can advise anyone visiting this resort it would be to definitely, definitely upgrade to receive butler service. Each morning with the exception of perhaps one or two at our choice, Denesha greeted us by serving breakfast to us on our patio (get the chef's 'dutch pot' - trust me as you won't be disappointed, and you're in Jamaica so experiencing the local fare is a must, if only one time). Before we'd travelled, I'd requested what drinks our room should be stocked with and we were not disappointed. We were even treated to a lovely flower petaled bed and towel art in the shape of swan one day upon returning from a day at the beach. Everyone at the resort is so friendly and generous with there time and knowledge of things to do and see in Jamaica. Yet another standout was Andre, the resort's entertainment director and Chris, the manager, as well as Lisa who never let an opportunity pass to ask us how we were enjoying ourselves. Andre took us on a great walk around the restaurants and shops nearby the hotel in a quest for my husband's fave cigars, and although they didn't sell them in that area, we greatly appreciated the time he took and his exuberance during the daily activities. As I mentioned earlier, some people will treasure the boutique, home-like appeal of this resort and I'm sure it is what keeps regulars returning every year - you could tell from the smiles on their faces. The butler service was a great investment and it made all the difference for us because we had a renovated room and that wonderful personal service. The beach is across the street, and yes, while it may not be a private beach, my husband and I enjoyed our cabana time at the Montego Bay Sandals resort just next door. And quite frankly, once we'd experienced one night of dinner at another Sandals resort, we longed for the familiarity, employees that knew us by name and home comforts of the Inn, so every night we dined 'at home'. It was my husband's first trip to Jamaica and he absolutely loved it. We'll definitely come back and stay at the Inn!!! I hope that Sandals corp. recognizes the caliber of people they have working at the Inn and invests in them generously because there truly is no greater asset to the Inn then its staff.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a 'Butler Suite' on the third floor. They are the only rooms that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We're so happy to read of your wonderful stay at Sandals Carlyle. Providing stellar service is our top priority and I'm so glad we were able to consistently offer you the highest level of service during your stay. We truly value our excellent staff members and appreciate your kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    297
    86
    61
    42
See reviews for
39
1,001
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This small hotel, Sandals Carlyle made our vacation the best. The rooms were OK. The food was excellent. Our butler, Jevan was the best. The managers were great persons to talk. The gardens were beautiful.We really enjoy the entertainment; special thanks to Andre and Jerome for that.The bar was always full of energy.The bartenders Devene, Lamar, and Denise. were awesome. Eric and Teejay was always bringing us drinks on the pool deck.Craig made the Carlyle restaurant. The food at the gill was good especially the rice and peas and jerk chicken and the patty. It was our first time eating patty.The Bay Window was also great. The food was excellent at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff there was also great especially Rashane, Nigy, Jerome,Geordane and Shadonna. Jerome and Geordane always were able to answer our question even when it not related the dining room.I would recommend this hotel for people who like a little peace and quiet.

Room Tip: The butler room are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed the peace and relaxation of our quaint resort. Our staff members at Sandals Carlyle exemplify the true meaning of service. They are always so warm and welcoming to all of our guests. I'm glad that your stay was indicative of the norm. Thank you so much for your review.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful stay!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great place to stay in Montego Bay. Small hotel, but you get to know everyone here and the staff are fantastic. Everyone stops and says hello and makes an effort with you. The food in this hotel was better than the other bigger Sandals that we visited.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second or third floors, not the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I can’t say enough nice things about the people at the Carlyle. From the day of arrival the staff introduced themselves one by one, even the maintenance staff stopped to say hello, and everyone made it a point to remember our names for the remainder of our trip. We had visited the property while on the first trip to a Sandals while on our honeymoon so we were familiar with how small the property was but what it lacks in size it makes up for with personality! The shuttles make it easy to enjoy the amenities of the other locations and that is a nice option. If you are looking for a location with a private beach on site you should opt for one of the other locations in MoBay but if you are looking for a great option that is more cost effective, Carlyle is your place! I will be back without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Carlyle. We are thrilled to read of your incredible experience at our resort. It sounds like you truly enjoyed your stay in Montego Bay. You got to experience the best of both worlds with the Stay at 1, Play at 3 program.

We look forward to seeing you again for another amazing stay!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The smallest member of the Sandals brand, the Carlyle offers a small town feel without compromising the luxury of an all-inclusive resort. The friendly and attentive Staff waste no time getting to know your name,and really make you feel welcome.
Breakfast and lunch is served a la carte poolside or indoors. For those in-between urges Nibbles garden grill serves snacks and grilled items. Enjoy a romantic open air dinner at the Carlyle restaurant serving French cuisine.
The pool is a nice size with plenty of lounge chairs to relax on. Enjoy an in-house fashion show poolside. The energetic playmakers keep the party going, and friendly bar staff make you feel right at home.
A public beach is available across the street. The beach is small, but the water is crystal clear and great for swimming. Staff will provide a lounge chair and umbrella on request.
Choose the renovated penthouse rooms complete with spacious balconies and Butler service for ultimate pampering. Along with all this, you can hop on the complimentary shuttle and visit the other two Sandal's properties nearby. It truly is stay at one, play at three!
We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be going back! Dave & Jeannie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals Resorts Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Carlyle. It is so refreshing to hear the kind words of our guests. We're so thrilled to read that you both had a stellar experience with us. You also got a chance to try out our Stay at 1, Play at 3 program which allowed you to enjoy all of the dining and excitement of all 3 of our Montego Bay resorts.

We are eager to welcome you back for another amazing stay!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford herts uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from 11 nights at the Carlyle. Not our 1st trip there so we know our way around!! They made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. A special thankyou to William on the snack bar who was very pleasent, always smiles and cooks great jerk chicken!! There is a new chef and a few new cooks who served up some very tasty food ( loved the cheesecake!!) All the servers in the restuarants were most helpful sorry to many names to mention!! The whole place is very relaxed and has a very homely feel. we were unlucky with the weather and would not go there again in May!! If you want peace and quiet and a low key holiday book your tickets now. Dont forget there is a very prompt mini bus service to take you to the other 2 resorts so you get the best of 3 worlds!!

Room Tip: The upper floors are the best I think, but no lift so not for those with walking issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals Resorts Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Sandals Carlyle is really the best of both worlds. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to our lovely resort. You can experience a relaxing vacation here as well as a fun, entertaining experience at our other two resorts in Montego Bay. Thank you so much for our feedback.

We can't wait to welcome you back again!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We selected the Carlyle because it was a small hotel. We wanted a quiet place to stay, with the option of the larger hotels 5 minutes away. At the Carlyle, you are greeted by name from the bartenders (TeeJay & Denise) wait staff (Jerome, Darwin, Shadonna, Kerisha, & NIGY. The 2 ex.chefs (Colin & Christopher) were very accommodating. Colin even brought escargot to the bar for me, when I told him how much I had loved it 2 nights ago. Eric (pool) got me cocktails in the rain. The Hotel Mgr. (Lisa Gardner) was always around to see how we were doing. The butlers added to the pampering. The gift shop here is at least 10% cheaper than the shops at the other Montego Bay properties. Stay at this hotel & visit the others for the beaches & other restaurants. You'll save at least $1,000 per week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals Resorts Review Coordinator at Sandals Carlyle, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Carlyle. We're so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. Our staff is top notch and truly do their best to ensure our guests have amazing experiences on resort.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another great vacation!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Carlyle

Address: Kent Avenue | PO Box 421, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandals Carlyle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.