We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, Fun, and Super Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Montego Bay to your Saves list
Sandals Montego Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $335 in Air Credit!
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Easy, Fun, and Super Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Sandals Montego Bay for a Christmas vacation. Overall, it was a great vacation and we really couldn’t have asked for much better. This is our second trip to Sandals (we spent our honeymoon at Sandals Grande St. Lucia). We’ve stayed at other all inclusives (Palace Resorts and RIU Palace Resorts) and overall we think Sandals is the best.
Room
The room was very nice and clean. You can tell they’ve updated this resort over time and some things look newer than others. The bed was comfortable and the balcony was really spacious. The bathroom was a little smaller than I would have liked, but it’s not like you are going to Jamaica for the bathroom! The room has a safe and the minifridge was replenished daily. We were upgraded to a room in the Palms building from the Seagrapes building since the resort was pretty quiet the week before Christmas. This building has a clearer view of the ocean and is closer to the ocean than the Seagrapes building.
This resort also has a very nice fitness center. Lots of treadmills, elipticals, and weights. You can tell it was recently renovated/added to the resort, but it’s top notch.
Airplanes
This resort is basically behind the airport. As in, if you are looking off the back of the rooms (not facing the ocean), you can see the runway. As everyone knows, Airplanes are loud, but there weren’t that many planes taking off except from about the hours of 3-6 PM. I didn’t really care about airplanes on the beach, but I was concerned about being woken up in the morning. I think I woke up the first morning, but that was the only time I heard a plane in the morning. I don’t think it would stop me from going back to this resort if the price was right!
Beach & Pools
Sandals Montego Bay has a nice, long beach with lots of chairs and lots of shade available. The staff does a good job of keeping the beach clean and raking up the seaweed daily. There are also lots of piers so it’s easy to get a private place to watch the sunset – which I highly recommend! We saw the most amazing sunset ever there. There is also a lot of nice seating/bedding around the pools. Very comfy!
Food
The food is good. They have the daily breakfast and lunch buffets and the lunch grill beachside. They do open up the Italian Restaurant Cucina Romano a few times/week for breakfast. We at there on Christmas day and it was very good (Eggs Benedict, Waffles, Omelets, etc.). We ate at all the restaurants and we enjoyed Cucina Romano and The Oleander Room the most. The Cricketer also has good food (who doesn’t like fish and chips?!). We went to the Royal Thai Restaurant at The Royal Caribbean resort one night too and the food there was very good.
Service
The staff here is really amazing. They were always friendly and happy to get us anything we requested. They work incredibly hard and do it with a smile. We never wanted for anything.
Sandals pushes the photos more at this resort than when we were in St. Lucia. We ended up purchasing a few, but we also had to dodge the photographers sometimes too.
Entertainment & Tours
We took advantage of the included snorkeling and that was really fun and easy to sign up and participate. We also used the kayaks and those were fun. We took the Martha Brae River Rafting Excursion. It was about a 20 minute drive from the resort to the river and then we had a raft captain take us down the river explaining some Jamaican history and about the river’s impact on the island. This was a really peaceful and low key tour.
We also took a taxi (only take the one’s sandals recommends – we took one with George Smith) to the shopping area and poked around in the shops. Our driver dropped us off at the store Strawberry and they helped us find some souvenirs and gave us good prices. From there we walked down the shopping strip to Margaritaville. Our cab driver picked us up at our agreed upon time and took us back to the resort. He charged 10.00 each way plus tip.
We spent most of our time on the beach and we spent the morning one day at the Royal Caribbean resort. This resort is somewhat different than Montego Bay so if you are trying to decide between the two, there are a couple things to consider: The beach at the RC is small, but they have more pool areas. We didn’t see the inside of the rooms, but the resort is newer and seemingly has more rooms (most rooms don’t seem to be beachfront though). The RC also has the private island. I have mixed reviews on the island. Although it seems like a good idea in theory, it comes off as a little kitschy. There also is very little actual beach area to lie out. We took the boat over and couldn’t find a single place to sit so had to come back to the main resort area. That was kind of disappointing, although the boat ride over is fun because the water is so clear. The water at the RC was much calmer and shallower than at the Montego Bay resort.
We would recommend the Sandals Montego Bay resort to others, but next time we go to Jamaica we might check out Ochos Rios or Negil just to mix it up!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,390
    836
    312
    188
    123
See reviews for
98
2,784
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Pros: good breakfast, decent room, water activities included: Hobie cats, kayaks, windsurfing, scuba, glass bottom boats, all alcohol included, good service, friendly staff, no kids, adults are well behaved until night when they get drunk and act like college kids, outdoor beds around pool good for reading at least until annoying loudspeaker person begins beach activities.
Cons: airplanes take off and whiz over your head loud enough to shake the building from about 7AM-10PM and sometimes in between those times; about every 30-60 minutes on average. People party loudly at the piano bar adjacent to villa 12 where we stayed (and other villas) - this goes on until well after midnight (now 1 AM and they are doing so as I write). Food generally is bland and mediocre. No one tells you ahead to bring dress pants required by some restaurants. If you don't make dinner reservations as soon as you arrive you won't be able. Scuba included BUT if you have not dived in last year you have to pay $80 each for refresher course in pool. Constant photographers. Water not what you expect from pictures (not clear blue). Expensive but probably fun if you want to party and drink a lot. Not recommended for rest and relaxation.

My wife and I left a day early so we could get some sleep. Management kindly agreed to refund 1 night for us. We found out from a traveler at the airport that Sandals at Negril, Jamaica is much nicer and beaches have more typical Caribbean water.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

My husband and I made a quick weekend getaway to Jamaica a few weeks ago. This was our first visit to a Sandals and also our last.
To begin, our flights from the states got cancelled and we missed a full day of our stay at the resort. We called to make the changes to our reservation and asked to get a refund for the evening we were not going to be there and we were told No, they go not refund anyone's room due to flight cancellations. So we went in with a sour taste in our mouth. The woman who assisted us on the phone was extremely cold and rude.
Our first reception at the airport by the Sandal's staff was nice and they made sure we were taken to the resort immediately.
Once we got to the resort we were told we were "upgraded" due to our troubles. If that room was an upgrade, I would hate to see what our first room looked like! The rooms were very outdated, the bathrooms tiny (you cannot fit 2 people in it) and the floor always looked dirty.
We have been to many All-Inclusive's but never a Sandal's. Apparently we didn't get the package that had the alcohol in our rooms and were told we could not have that upgrade (even though the bottle holders were in the rooms). This was a complete shock to us. Although not a huge deal, it was very annoying.
The common areas of the resort were okay. The pools were very small and there were never any towels. We had to ask multiple times for staff to bring us some.
On our last (full) day at the resort, we had just gotten back to our room and were changing to go to the pool. It was around 3 pm. the housekeeping knocked and I answered and asked her to give us 10 minutes to change. She told me we were the last room on the floor to do, so it was either then or never. We had been gone from 9 am and this was the first she was coming to our room. She told me I could change in the bathroom while she cleaned the common area. My husband was checking emails for work and she asked him to go on the balcony! I have never had that done before. It was quite awkward and inappropriate.
I also agree with the people who commented about the planes overhead. It is literally right next to the airport and you constantly hear the planes overhead.
I will say that the food was pretty good. The best place was their Italian restaurant. The food was delicious!
We did take the shuttle to the Sandals that was nearby. This resort looked a lot nicer and more modern.
There are so many other resorts in Montego Bay, I would strongly urge you to go some place else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Just in case you are not aware, this resort is literally RIGHT NEXT TO THE AIRPORT!!! Planes fly right over you at all hours. Also if you want to sleep in the music on teh beach starts at 8am promptly. We were not able to get into our room for the first two nights of our stay without the assitance of the manager and the matience crew. When we mentioned the possibility of switching rooms we were completely ignored. We paid the extra money for the candle light dinner, we were given a reservation confirmation card of 6:30 pm and the butler would escort us from our room at 6:15. At 7:15 our butler called as asked us to meet her at the gazebo, needless to say not what we expected. Our food was cold and service was not prompt. We were not pleased. The next night we had reservations at the Oleander Room and were told that we could not be sat because they could not take anymore reservations for the evening, thankfully we were able to eat at Cucina Romana.
At the excursions desk we were told one time to pick up our passes and we would get there and they would not be ready. I understand the concept of Island Time, but come one, there are time frames that are respectable.
High points that were nice was further down the beach there were private areas to relax with my fiance and at the watersports are Patrick was fantastic! I highly recommend hiring the private boat if you can afford it. Also the cruise to Lover's Rock and the Martha Brae River were wonderful (ask for Larry/Laurel).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

My husband and I went here to get married and have our honeymoon. Loved the choice of restaurants, but we were not a fan of the Asian restaurant. This is definitely a place to go to relax and lounge around the beach & pool. Love the fact that with Sandal's resorts they have the best price guarantee and you can book your reservation a year in advance and make payments until you go. We had 10 other people with us and the restaurants had no problem seating us together. Yes the resort is near the end of the airport runway, but after the first day you don't even hear the planes anymore. It didn't bother us one bit, even when a plane took off during our wedding ceremony. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We were treated like royalty upon our arrival till our departure. It is really a dream vacation. We cannot wait to try another Sandals Resort.. The Game Players were really fun and we made friends for life.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

PROS: Amazing Beach, Nice Rooms, Great Employees, Good Food
CONS: Air Traffic, small pool by Sandals standards.

This is a beautiful property, that has undergone some great updates to refresh it. On a great beach. All the food I had was really good, I wish I could have eaten more! My room was well appointed with a very comfortable bed. I thought the view was gorgeous from my balcony. The main pool was smaller than the typical Sandals pool, but the swim up bar pool was cool. This property has a church that you can get married in. Every staff member I encountered was friendly, helpful and genuine. Enjoy the exchange privileges with the other Sandals properties. Montego Bay is well known for its nightlife, so if that is an important feature to you in a vacation, you will get it here.

So much about this property was perfect. It truly has to be noted that it is extremely close to the airport. This is nice in the regard that you can get off the plane and be on the beach extremely fast. It is negative in that it is very loud during the day as the planes take off over head.

The spa was nice, and they had some reasonable deals.

Sandals has amazingly good deals throughout the year. If you haven't experienced a stay, be sure to contact your Certified Sandals Specialist and have them find you a great deal. Enjoy your visit to Jamaica!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.