We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandals Montego Bay to your Saves list
Sandals Montego Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$335 Instant Air Credit!
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Norwich, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

This was the most luxurious vacation we have ever had, made extra special by the incredible service we received from our butlers Carlene and Nasha, our room cleaner Pauline, and all of the friendly, helpful staff, including Tameka at Bayside and Marlene at Cucina Romana and Maxine and Paula at the Red Lane Spa. We have never had such care and comfort, including excellent food and terrific tables, thanks to Carlene and Nasha. Our room in the Bay Roc Villas was superb in every way. The only downside was the noise at night; we would have preferred absolute quiet. The airconditioning in the room helped a lot, though, and it was delightful in the mornings and afternoons. A wonderful, restful, vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,173
    764
    268
    181
    114
See reviews for
82
2,498
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Spent our Honeymoon at Sandals Montego Bay. Really enjoyed our stay. Resort is quiet yet has areas for socalizing if you want that. Took the rum tour. I would skip that. Best advise I can give is read the reviews and use your head. The planes were a non issue unless your there looking for reasons not to enjoy your self. Those people will always find something. We had a butler room. The room was nice but had a few issues. The butler service was ok at best. They serve more than one guest and at times you cant just call and get results. Beach bums are present and if you ignore them they go away. I do believe Sandals allows them as I saw them eating the same food as us off Sandals plates. Over all it was a great Honeymoon. Thank You Sandals!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We went to MoBay because we wanted to spend as much time on the beach as we could and they have a great private beach. We got the cheapest room they had because we didn't figure on spending much time there but we were pleasantly surprised by how nice our room was, plus the staff kept our fridge filled the whole time. We had a great balcony and a nice view of the ocean. MoBay is very beach centered unlike many of the other Sandals which are all about their pool we really liked this. The food was great and the wait for tables was no issue even though the resort was completely full. A friend of ours told us to make reservations at the two restaurants that require them as soon as we got there because reservations fill up fast and we were glad we did. The staff is really nice and always interested in making sure you have a good time and are happy with everything. We went on two excursions and were pleased with the Island Routes services that are offerd at Sandals. In fact one of our tours was ended about halfway through because of weather and they refunded half of our fee without our even asking. The diving at MoBay is really fun and very well run. We've never been diving before and felt safe and well equiped before we went in the water. We're not much for night life but the two nights we did stay out there was plenty to do and it was really nice that the Cricketters Pint stays open as late as it does because we did decide to grab a late night snack one night. The playmakers are really fun, if you say "no thanks," they don't make it awkward and if you say "yes," or more appropriatly "ya mon," they make sure you have a good time. I've heard alot of complaints on here about the planes and we nioticed it but never really had a problem. They take off mostly in the morning and at dusk and the rest of the day you hardly even realize that they are there, plus the trip to the resort from the airport was like five minutes. When you're off the resort you do get asked for tips all the time and the independant vendors are a litle aggressive with the hard selling of their stuff, but that's not something that Sandals can really change. The vendors that they allow on the resort property are really nice and do take no for an answer, so if you want to buy souvineres buy then from the vendors that are at sandals. My only advice would be: don't buy any boose when you're at the resort, if you see something you like wait until you're at the airport heading home, buy it at the duty free shop it'll be a lot cheaper and you can carry it onto the plane with you from there and not risk broken rum bottles in your luggage.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We stayed at Sandles MB from March 7-14, 2010. The resort is just 10 min from the airport and 10 min from the Sandles Royal & Sandles Inn. It is also central to most of the tour excusions listed in the brochure.

Sandles MB is a mid sized resort with beautiful grounds and very friendly staff.

We stayed and played at 5 Sandals while on our trip and I have to say my opinion and those of my guests (3) was Sandles MB has the best beach. The beach is private, very long and clean. The beach at Negril was long but not wide; people were piled up on top of one another and the water smelt like sewage (they said it was sulfour) it was disgusting. The Sandles Royal was the most beautiful of all as far as the grounds, buildings and design. The Sandles Inn was Very Small and there is no beach just a public beach very small across the street and very dirty - no chairs no nothing.

The entertainment at Sandles MB was amazing. Everynight there was mulitple singers, bands, or guests entertainment planned. They had a live steel drum band, reggea band, fire man, piano man etc. It went from 6pm until midnight.

I highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a cozy, romantic place to stay in Montego Bay.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Me and my husband, and parents stayed at Sandles Montego Bay March 7 - 14th 2010. The resort is conveniently located just 10 minutes from the Sangster International Airport and is central to all tour excurisions. The resort is a reasonable size and it doesn't take long to be acquantied with the grounds and staff. When you walk into main lobby area you are immediately struck by the beautiful beachfront location and Bayside Restaurant that overlooks the ocean. This resort has the largest private beach in Jamaica and the waters are warm and crystal clear. Our rooms were located in the first building and did have direct beachfront views - it was breathtaking. The resort is only 10 min away from the Sandles Royal Caribbean and Sandles Inn. We spent the day taking the free shuttle to Sandles Royal and enjoyed a delicious variety of food at the beach grill, took the free boat to their private island and enjoyed a 5 min catamaran ride in the bay. SMB has a desk in the front lobby open everyday to book tours. I highly recommend the Lets go Native tour to Negril. Book it half way through your stay and it will be an exciting trip along the coast though small towns and villages. The tour guide Dalton is hilarious and is an abundant source of trivial and local facts. We laughed and sang with him the way there and back. Don't buy to much at Times Square shopping mall in Negril - no bargins there. At the end of the tour we stopped at The Caves and watched cliff divers jump four storeys into clear ocean below. Its free it you want to try it yourself. Once you get there and see others you realize its not that scary. No regrets!! The Dunns River fall excursion seemed like a longer day although it took less time to get there. Not much to see on the way and the driver in the small bus doesnt have a mic so its hard to hear. The falls are worth seeing but beware of the tourist trap afterwards to buy local crafts - no deals there I swear. Back to Montego Bay - Thank you to Robert who served us breakfast at Bayside almost every morning, you were so friendly and funny..I'll miss u the most. SMB is a 5+ star resport with great food, a selection of nightly entertainment from 6pm -12am and the friendlist staff I've ever encountered. The grounds are beautiful clean and very cozy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

nothing but positive things to say! everything was perfect!
the food was amazing, especially Stewfish-our server ANDREW who also works at BAYSIDE in the afternoon must be mentioned for his hospitality/charm/humor and service
also loved the chocolate buffet in the evening
the playmakers especially Tanequa was great!
we cannot forget to mention Mr. G, the food service manager who really went over-and-above what we expected! thank you Mr.G for the cheese cake and hote apple crumble in the lounge area!
the beach was beautiful
the ocassional planes flying over-head were no big deal, actually, cool to watch
the steel band that performed were top-notch, really entertaining
anyone deciding to choose this large SANDALS will love it! There's always lots of action!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I have to admit that our trip did not start off very good. When we visited Sandals Mo Bay back in June 09, we booked our anniversary trip for January. We choose our specific room and paid for it in June. When we returned in January, we were told that we were givin an "upgrade", needless to say, we were not upgraded. We booked a butler ocean view (specified exact room number) and we ended up in a garden view! We do not travel to the caribbean for the view of a garden --- we live in Kansas, we want the ocean, we paid for the ocean view! After visiting with our AMAZING butler Dwayne, he took us to management and we were able to transfer to the room we requested after 2 nights of a 7 night stay. But all the staff at Sandals went above and beyond to make sure this mishap did not ruin our anniversary! I send so much love and appriecation to Dwayne, Kalib, Dawn and Josef for all they did to make things right for us!

The resort itself was great, as it has been everytime we have been. We always look forward to our return. Since we have upgraded to Butler service and experienced the wonderful service from Dwayne, we will never go without again on our vacations. Dwayne has always went above and beyond what I could have ever dreamed of to make our vacations the best ever when we are there.

We will be returning to great services of Dwayne and Sandals Montego Bay!

Our room: The garden view one: was very nice, clean and spacious, the only complaint I have is that it is not what we requested. If we were expecting a garden view then we would have loved it, but as I stated before, we paid and vacation for the ocean.

Our Ocean view room was just as we expected, amazing, clean, and the perfect view of the ocean... exactly what we expected!

Service/Staff: wonderful, went above and beyond to fix the misunderstanding we encountered. Always friendly.

Playmakers: My husband just loves to play volleyball with Leevon and Ferrari, they are a hoot.

Food: there is always a wide variety of food, even for me, a very picky eater. Everything I had was great. My favorite is Toyoko Joe's and my husband the the steak and lobster at Olieanders.

Candle light dinner on the beach: Memory of a lifetime! Beautiful setting, love eating next to the ocean, listening to the waves. The food was great, and our server sand to us and had us dance!!! It was the greatest experience ever. I can not remember her name but she was amazing!

Overall: We love everything about this resort and we are always look forward to returning!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.