We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SMB never a disapointment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Montego Bay to your Saves list
Sandals Montego Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $335 in Air Credit!
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SMB never a disapointment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Last night at Sandals Montego Bay, 7th time here and alway have a good time. Special thanks to Gary at the main bar, you always take great care and are extremely efficient. Thanks for taking good care of us. francine the new bar manager is a special lady, thanks for keeping us company during the returning guest dinner. we really enjoyed our dinner conversation with you. Thank you to Nadine at stewfish, your smile is contagious. Also need to thanks 12 for the awesome dive experience. You are a very knowledgeable diver and we always feel safe diving with you. Special shoot out the the team at the Royal as wells especially Sawe best boat captain ever and Shaq, we wouldn't trust anyone else with our dive specialty training. Big thank you everyone! For making our vacation a very special one! Can't wait to come home again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
I'm so happy that you had such an amazing vacation with us. We want all our guests to have the experience of being in paradise and I am delighted to hear that we were able to create that experience for you. We're even more glad to know that we were able to meet your expectations the 7th time around.

Thank you for your great review of Sandals Montego Bay. We can't wait to welcome you home again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,395
    836
    312
    187
    123
See reviews for
98
2,787
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from our second trip to Sandals Montego Bay. This time we were in one of the newly renovated villas, and it was amazing. The jacuzzi tub was so deep you could drown in it. We had a wonderful, almost private, beach area. We took friends with us this time who had never been to Jamaica. They are hooked. We have stayed at a lot of Sandals, and I would have to say, this was some of the best food we have had. The Linguini Alfredo at the Italian restaurant was amazing. The Lobster Thermidor at Oleandar was fantastic. The meal at Tokyo Joe's was excellent. The beach service was always right on time. The first day snorkeling was incredible. As soon as we hit the water we were surrounded by hundreds of fish of a huge variety. Our friend went on 3 dives while we were there and he said it was the best he had ever seen. The service overall was great. We had a little glitch on check in, even though we were club level, but they made up for it after we got a manager involved. We used the new Club MoBay to get expedited through immigration and customs on the way in; and expedited through security to their amazing lounge on the way out. Worth every dime. The water was gorgeous and warm, and even though we had a little shower every day, it was still beautiful weather. I am ready to go back.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the renovated villas, it is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Varina, thank you so much for your review of Sandals Montego Bay. We're so happy that you had another great stay with us. Also, it's so wonderful to hear that your friends enjoyed their first experience at our resort. We can't wait to welcome you all back in the future for more amazing experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora. Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Thanks to Sandals for another fantastic holiday. It was our 1st time staying at SMB....we enjoyed every minute, and we'll definitely soon be back....ya mon.
The room, beach, pools, service, food and drinks were perfect during our quick get away.
We highly recommend SMB to all the uncertain travellers....you won't be sorry.
Cheers,
Sharon and Glen.

Room Tip: I like been so close to the airport...it make your vacation that much longer, both coming and going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We're glad that both you and your wife had an excellent stay at Sandals Montego Bay. Thank you for your great review. We're happy that you enjoyed every moment of your stay. We certainly hope to welcome you back for your second perfect experience very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I am a travel agent, so I always go in with a critical eye. This resort is amazing. The beach is long, with the softest sand I've ever had at an oceanfront resort. We had the butler service oceanfront honeymoon category in cottage 12, and what a wonderful way to celebrate our 29th anniversary. We only had three nights, but made the most of it. Food was very good - breakfast and lunch we either had at the poolside grill or buffet (Bayside), and the morning of our anniversary we ordered room service. They had written Happy Anniversary in leaves and flowers on our bed, tables, etc. Dinner was delicious - we ate at Tokyo Joes, Cucino, and Stewfish. Portions are sort of small but you could order more - and we never went hungry. Beringer wines were great, and they'd make you any cocktail you wanted. We sailed on their Hobie cats at least twice a day, went snorkeling, and my husband waterskied at least 20 times in 3 days. Each morning we woke up to a thatched hut equipped with beach towels and reserved for us in our name by our butler...no worrying about where to set up camp for the day!
The most amazing thing was the staff - no request was turned down. If I had to pick a complaint, it was that the beach chairs did not lie flat and the fruit served did not have a lot of flavor (partly due to the season) and they had limited fruit selections - but nothing to ruin your trip. The wireless (took us a while to get that right) was a decent speed and helped us keep in contact with the office/home. I loved that chairs and space was plentiful and you did not need towel cards like many all inclusive resorts. Fitness center was nice - but we did not try the spa services. We went over to Sandals Royal Caribbean as we heard rave reviews about their private island, but prefer Sandals Montego Bay as it is bigger and more spread out, with a much softer sand beach. I'm glad we picked the Montego Bay location, especially since it is a ten minute drive from the airport. All in all I'd go back in a heartbeat and can't recommend this resort highly enough. I always wondered if Sandals was worth the premium price and it certainly is a top notch property. Fellow guest ranged from twenty-somethings to couples in their eighties, so all ages were welcome.

Room Tip: cottage locations are further from the action, but provide a quiet escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We're so happy to read that you had a great vacation with us. We love to hear our guests, especially travel professionals, boast about our luxurious accommodations, delectable dining options, beautiful property and the wonderful personality and hospitality of our staff. Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure creating such a memorable experience for you.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
severna Park, Maryland, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This resorts makes you feel at home. The staff is very accommodating, always great you with a smile, and happy to assist in anyway they can. The resort is lovely. My travel agent Ruth Demuth with TripGuyTravel knows the Sandal Resorts and is always ready to help and get the best deal she can.

Room Tip: Airplane noise because you are close to the airport but after a day you almost forget about the plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We're so happy to have been able to give you the feeling of being home! Thank you for your review of Sandals Montego Bay. We look forward to your return back home for more exciting experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Sandals Montego Bay with another couple from October 16-24th 2013. This was our first experience at a Sandals Resort for all 4 of us, and we were very hopeful that it would live up to the reviews that we had seen on Tripadvisor. All I can say is that Sandals Montego Bay exceeded any expectations that the 4 of us had for the flagship resort! My husband and I stayed in room 809 in the Seagrapes building. It was a ground floor room that faced the swim up pool. I could not have asked for a better room location, as it was close to the pool and beach. We just loved the room! The grounds of the resort are very lush and well kept. Everywhere you turn there was beautiful vegetation to be seen! The beach was excellent, and no lack of chairs to sit on! All in all the resort is beautiful!
We tried all resturants except the Italian, and have to say that everything was excellent! Have to try Tokyo Joes and Stewfish they are awesome! Portions are so big! But if you do not get enough, do not hesitate to ask for more! Yah for 2 desserts!
The staff at the resort are very accommodating and just wanted to make our stay the best it could be! From check in with Aston (thanks again for the laughs and coffee for both our rooms), and Kadeen making us laugh at every turn! Micheal at the watersports hut gave us the best hobbie kat ride! To Joseph at the bar who made the best Long Island Iced Tea we have ever tasted! Thanks again for the departure song! To Kemon and Anjay the bartenders thanks for keeping us hydrated and putting up with our shenanigans! To Regan, who put up with us for 2 days on the Cabanas, we thank you for all your hard work and kindness! To Sesno and Shanna-Nay (aka Pickle) at Cricketer's Pint for the great service and life long memories! And Shanna the entertainment manager, who was exceptional at entertaining, but also an exceptional person! We miss you all!
All in all the staff at this resort will leave you wanting to stay longer. You will not go wrong if you book Sandals Montego Bay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Four of us(2 couples) stayed at this little slice of heaven from October 16-24.We were hesitant on booking Sandals because of a past bad experience at a different couples resort in Negril,but because the tickets were already purchased our travel agent(Natasha) urged us to go here,as it is one of her favourite resorts of the Sandals chain.So 2 months out we decided to make the switch.Man! Best decision EVER! Hands down the best vacation we have every had! We stayed in the sea grapes building ground floor with a perfect view of the fountain every am with our coffee.The grounds are lush with greens and colors of every kind peeping out.The walkways wind throughout the property just enough to enjoy the scenery,but not to much that it takes forever to get anywhere.We did not have the concierge and were worried that we were going to be stuck in a (Class division) but we need not to have worried.We were treated no different than anyone else,and never felt less than any other guests who did have a higher category.We took advantage of some of the water sport activities such as tubing,hobbie cat and snorklling.As well,a MUST DO,rent that cabana!Flippen awesome! We read on here a few times that it could be too much of a party place and not enough of a romantic feel.Trust me when I say there is always somewhere to go to be alone and laze the day away cuddled up with your honey.We have been converted to Sandals Montego Bay,and can't imagine going anywhere else.Yes it is a few pennies more,but what you get with this place is worth more than anything you actually pay for,which is why you go on vacation in the first place.All the restaurants were superb with great service right down to the grill.Yummy yummy!Fun activities during the day we were never bored!The security keeping tabs on everything made us feel so secure and were funny too! Now I do wanted to mention a few of the staff that made our vacation extra special. Front desk..Kadeen(Wait for it...wait for it) also the last face we saw as we waited once again for our husbands to arrive.Great laughs we had those days. Cricketers Pub..Sesno- kept the Long Island kick in the faces coming,sorry we missed you our last day.Shanna-Nay ( dill pickle dill pickle) you just rock it girl! Kemon- aka Dr.k,didn't even sit down before our Rum and Cokes arrived,made to perfection I might add.Thanks for wearing our pins with pride it made us feel great(royal flush rules!). Rhegan- Our cabana saviour.You can sleep very well my friend,very well indeed (4 thumbs up) Micheal- hope the spelling is right,water sports hut.The Angry Chef salutes you! Alrick- dude! Great conversation with you.keep up the great work! Anjay- pool bar,what can I say you were being very professional.So professional that you ensured every night that we never felt our feet on the pavement on the way home.You gave them wings I swear.When we come back we'll swim on up and look for you right away. Shanna- Miss Entertainment,,,I feel like your my childhood best friend that I connected with again after years have gone buy.You are so talented and darn good at your job Sandals is truly blessed to have you. Joseph- at the lobby bar.You were the first face at the bar to great us our first day and we loved you right away.It seemed only right to have you be the last hand I shook when I was leaving to go home.A little song didn't hurt either because I have to agree with you, "what a wonderful world ". Once again don't hesitate just book it and you will love it.......we sure did!

Room Tip: Room 306 sea grapes was a wonderful location.Take a bottom room very handy with no stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.