We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesometastic Vacation!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Montego Bay to your Saves list
Sandals Montego Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $335 in Air Credit!
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pasadena, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesometastic Vacation!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just finished a 7 night stay in a Presidential Suite with butler service. Our butler team of Craig/Asha were outstanding, everything we wanted to do was taken care of without question from reserving our beach chairs, to dining options, to seating us in a restaurant even after we were 45 minutes late and maitre d said we were too late, Asha said follow me, and amazingly we seated right away, to booking excursions, spa appointmentws. The service they provide totally enhanced our stay. The resort itself has a beautiful beach and a few decent pools. Dining options for breakfast and lunch were a little limited(The Pizza and Calzones were awesome). Dinner options were very good. Tokyo Joes - Excellent, Oleander - Excellent, Cucina - Very good.
The Spa- Massages were very good.
Excursions- we did Dunns River falls and swam with the dolphins, both were fun, also played golf at White Witch- beautiful course and the caddy was excellent.

My only complaint would be the beer selection: Red Stripe and Red Stripe Light, Heineken(Some of the bars).

Now a subject i would like to address: Tipping the butlers!?!?

As you know the butlers are the only people you are allowed to tip at Sandals. I tried very hard to get an average tip figure from the butlers, and they were very politically correct and wouldn't give me an answer. The service they provide definitley has value. I think they should be tipped atleast $35/day per butler. we thought our butlers were outstanding and tipped them $500 each for the week.

Thank you Sandals for a great week we can't wait to come back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,395
    836
    312
    188
    123
See reviews for
98
2,787
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked the butler suite not knowing what to expect at all. It was great. Shaniel and Trudy made our dinner reservations, spa appointments, set us up on the beach with a cabana and any other little things we needed. Needed a relaxed and calming vacation and got it for sure.

Room Tip: Beach front is best, would suggest a bottom floor, other than that, anything is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Station
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Sandals Montego Bay and we really believe it just keeps getting better and better! Every year we notice improvements in the resort-from new cosy places by the beach to sit in the evening with a drink-to consistency in staff customer service! Sandals MoBay really knows the true understanding of hospitality! My husband and I have always maintained that Sandals as a whole, is a huge successful resort business, with slick marketing and advertising- supported by well trained wonderful staff and a management team who are on the ball. They aim to please! We have been lucky enough to vacation at other Sandals resorts, and this seems to be true of those hotels as well. Mind you, I believe that the MoBay resort is a cut above the rest!
From beach, to food/beverages, to cleanliness, the beautiful grounds, rooms and common areas, and just overall attractiveness of the resort- its #1!
We'd like to thank all the staff at Sandals MoBay for ensuring we always enjoy and have a fabulous vacation-its only 1 week- but you have memories to last a lifetime! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a fantastic resort staffed by amazing staff. We read a few negative reviews prior to arriving on 30th Jan this year and were a little apprehensive.
The moment we arrived at the resort our fears were allayed and never had a chance to return. Everything was spot on, nothing no matter how trivial was too much for any staff who assisted whenever they were required to do so. They also respected our privacy when this was appropriate.
The food was great as was the drink, particularly the Appletons Rum.
The entire resort was spotless with nothing out of place. We rate the place so highly that we have booked to return in November this year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our 18th trip to Sandals Flagship, Montego Bay, Jamaica and each year, our vacation tops the previous trip....If you want a perfect, pampered, couples only, all inclusive vacation, including the trip to and from the Airport, tips, great food, drinks, water-sports, private beach and nightly entertainment,.book Sandals, you will not be disappointed...Bring friends or travel alone.

Room Tip: Any room...all depends on what you want to spend...you don't spend much time in your room...your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our third visit to SMB (in a row) and our 16th visit to Sandals resort. We love this resort. The beach is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, and the food is very good.
We stayed in the Presidential Suite with two of the best butlers ww have ever had. Raynee never missed a beat in anticipating our wants. Terrick was the same but also kept us laughing all the time.
We loved the couples massage.It was my first but absolutely not my last. Ladies you MUST have the sugar scrub. My skin felt silky for days. A lovely experience.
I don't know how the staff does it but everyone seems to remember your name. We would like to thank Mr. M for providing us with a drink not usually available at the resort. Our favorite waiter of all time, Robert. Dalton at the Bayside, Duncan at the Soon Come Back, Asha, Omar, and Andrea for their wonderful smiles and geniune interest. Hyachinth, our wonderful room attendant. Her towel creations are very special. You will feel special at this resort.

Room Tip: Any butler room.. They are spacious, stocked with premium liquor and soft drinks of your choice. Af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the negative reviews, this charming resort exceeded our expectations. We just returned and I wanted to do my part and share just how amazing the resort was.

We upgraded to the Honeymoon Oceanfront in the Almonds Building. Awesome location... Our second floor balcony overlooked the beautiful seaside. We thoroughly enjoyed our stocked bar and the concierge services. This upgrade was well worth the extra money.

One of the greatest features of this resort is its proximity to the airport. We were in our room within an hour of landing - seamless operation.

The planes fly over the resort periodically. You cannot miss their presence, but they are quick.

Food was excellent and service is always phenomenal. We went to Tokyo Joes, Stewfish, La Cuccina, The Royal Thai and The Oleander. The Return Guest dinner had amazing surf and turf, the beach party had a great selection of food too.

Beach lunches at The Mariner were sooo good - jerk chicken, Jamaican patties. They also serve homemade wood fired pizza, calzones... Don't forget the indoor buffet at The Bayside.

Drinks were plentiful - we easily found all of the premium brands. Don't be afraid to ask. (Jamaican Smiles, piña coladas with dark rum and Purple Rain) The Red Stripe is on tap and you can find Guiness at the Cricketers)

Entertainment was pretty good, the majority seem to go to bed after the nightly entertainment finishes. There is always a Dj in the Cricketers and the Piano Bar is a great spot after 1030.

Water sports are amazing - hobie cat, tubing, waterskiing, wakeboarding, kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkeling.. Soooo fun. Playmakers do their best to keep things fun in the sun.

I could go on and on,
We loved it and we will return!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.