We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable attention and service for an amazing price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ridgeway Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ridgeway Guest House
Save
You added Ridgeway Guest House to your Saves list
34 Queens Dr | W.I., Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
conway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable attention and service for an amazing price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

This small guest house is located on a hilltop across from the entrance to Montego Bay Airport. Free pickup and return are offered by the delightful owner, Colin Tatum. He is amazingly friendly and "at your service," while maintaining a really professional attitude. Our room was clean, spacious and well-appointed with two queen-size beds, cable TV, easy chairs, desk and good lighting, and a plain but complete bath. We arrived in mid-afternoon and the air-conditioning was off. It took till late night for it to really cool off the room. After that is was fine for our two-day stay. Colin gave a free tour of the area in his van and also made our bus reservations to Kingston, taking us the day before so we could buy them at a discount. He drove us to the terminal at 4:30AM, too. There is no food served, but a college cafeteria and very Jamaican restaurant are adjacent. It's a long but doable walk to the restaurants, clubs and beaches of the strip. Taxis tend to be very expensive and the bus service hard to use. Higher-end restaurants and resorts are farther away, but Colin also drove us to one for a special dinner our last night. I enthusiastically recommend Colin Tatum and his Ridgeway Guest House.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
20
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at Ridgeway Guest House and were pretty pleased with our choice.

Pros:
- The room was clean, quiet, and big enough, and there was a balcony, microwave and mini fridge.
- Colin was great! He was very friendly, hospitable and as helpful as he could be. He helped us figure out our day tours, he gave us a ride to the pickup location for one of them and he gave us a ride to the airport.
- Great value, especially if you just need a place by the airport for a night or two.

Cons:
- Location. On the plus side, it's very close to the airport, which is great. On the down side, it's a little bit of a hike (since we like to walk around new places when we travel if we can, rather than just take cabs) to any eateries when the one restaurant nearby is closed (or the nearby college cafeteria). When the restaurant is open, however, it's awesome b/c the food is DELICIOUS and the least expensive food we had on the whole island ($3 per breakfast of salt fish, okra, bananas, dumplings, yams and juice--no kidding!).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

When you first arrive in a new place it's nice to be picked up by a welcoming host and given advice about the area. Ridgeway is very close to the airport, right next to the owners own home and a 15min walk from the tourist area of Montego Bay. The room was spacious and comfortable enough. The cafeteria just by the entrance is the only option for food, but the main benefit was the money saved by not staying in an expensive hotel. Some of the locals look to take advantage of tourists and while I never felt threatened by them, I could have saved myself a lot of hassle by wearing a sign around my neck saying 'No thanks, I don't smoke'. I can understand why Colin, the owner, didn't want strangers brought back to the rooms and near to his own house and family.

If I go back to Jamaica, I'd probably try a different area like Ocho Rios. But if you're going to Montego Bay and don't want to spend a fortune on accommodation, Ridgeway Guest House could be just what you're looking for.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

When me and my niece first got there everthing was great. But, then three days later thats when the real Mr. Collins came out he is the owner he is a very controdicting bloodclott. He wants too try and treat his guest like his kids. And tell them who they can have in their room and who the can't. Also, it even got sooo bad till were we had to call the cops on him for standing on the ruff top syping on us. Then he lied to the cops bout how he told us that we can't have anyone in our rooms he was like so in decisive. "DO NOT STAY HERE"

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I wanted a place to stay for our trip to Jamaica for my birthday with girlfriends and stay in Montego Bay. I found this place on the internet and loved all the great reviews and the location/ price was just what we wanted to pay within our budget! Upon arrival, all 6 ladies, we were greeted by the wonderful staff and owner with a warm welcome and information about Jamaica. For 4 of my friends this was their first trip to the island. The owner was generous enough to make us a special expresso drink and entertain us for hours about the culture and history of Ridgeway and Jamaica. We were fascinated to learn all he had to share! Our rooms were clean and just the right size since we did 3 double bed- rooms to accommodate everyone. The location was ideal for driving to local restaurants for our main meals. The rooms came with fridges, microwaves, kettles and tea bags so breakfast was very easy. At first we were going to stay at Ridgeway for a day or so then head to Ocho Rios but the guesthouse was so reasonable and the people (Owner/ staff) were so nice to us that we extended our stay for a full week! Everything worked out perfectly and the owner made arrangements for us to stay! Our Jamaica trip was truly "No Problem" , and we have already planned our return trip for July! See you soon Ridgeway Guesthouse, your the best! Thank you soooo much for a wonderful birthday, we loved it! "One Love!"

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed at Ridgeway for seven nights while travelling through Negril and Montego Bay Jamaica. The room is clean spacious and equipped with mini appliances and A/C unit. My wife and I sat on the front and back balcony catching the cool sea breeze and games played at neighboring University Campus. Colin our friendly host offered to take us from and to the airport. He took us for drives through town, shopping groceries and up the coast pointing out the sceneries and famous jerk restaurants. The famous Doctors Cave Beach and Hip Strip are in walking distance, but I’m sure Colin would have taken us if needed. He and his family are wonderful people. The person at the Jamaican Tourist Board just next to Ridgeway was helpful in offering roads maps and places of interest in Jamaica. My wife and I enjoyed a pleasant stay at Ridgeway and would recommend this guest house to others

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed at Ridgeway at the beginning and end of our trip and was not disappointed.
Ridgeway is excellent as a base. It's right next to the airport and the owner Colin is just as friendly as everyone says. He picked us up at airport and when we left a week later, he dropped us off in the morning for departure.
We rented a car from a place right on the premises (ACE rental) and after getting acclimatized in Montego Bay, we hit the road for Negril and Treasure Beach and then came back to the Ridgeway.
Rooms are basic but clean and nice. And Colin was very proud that he had just fixed the faulty cable TV! Indeed, the TV was excellent: perfect reception and a whole cavalcade of channels. Even had the HABS game on CBMT feed!
In short, if you are looking for an all-inclusive experience, or to be right on the water immediately, Ridgeway may not be for you. But for independent travellers and/or budget travellers, it is great. We will go back.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ridgeway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeway Guest House

Address: 34 Queens Dr | W.I., Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ridgeway Guest House Hotel Montego Bay
Ridgeway Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridgeway Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.