We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning guests, treated royally.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Introductory Bonus Credit
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Returning guests, treated royally.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

We booked SRC for a long weekend April 14-18. We had stayed at the resort two years ago and were very comfortable returning to for a few days of sun sand and ocean.
Pros:
Room:
As Signature Guests (Sandals returning guest program) we recieved a discount on the booking and on arrival we were upgraded from a deluxe beachfront to a concierge level room in the Kensington (East) building. This level of service provides an in room bar with liquor, wine, beer and soft drinks refilled daily at no charge and 24 hr room service at no charge. We only ordered breakfast, which was delivered in 45 minutes, others ordered hamburgers at 4 AM which were hot and juicy. The concierge service was not at US or European level but did provide us with a single contact for excursions, dinner reservations and express check out. We enjoyed the Signature Guest barefoot - blacktie- beachfront cocktail party special event as we were there at the end of Reunion Week.
The Kensington block is our choice as it is quiet somewhat remote from the rest of the resort, has its own pool (never more than 10 people in it at any time) whirlpool, and beachfront. I suspect that guests in other buildings percieved this pool as belonging to just these rooms.
Private Island:
We enjoy the seclusion of the private island, au natural if you desire (and we do). We were never bothered by gawkers and did meet some very nice couples there.
Food.
Plentiful and there is variety. Remember that you are in Jamaica and do not expect supreme cuisine. Beef is not prime quality, instead enjoy the chicken and pork.
Staff:
In the Sandals tradition, friendly greetings from everyone (even from an electrician working on a lighted pathway) and willingness to help in any way.
Guests:
There are a variety of people, ages from 28 - 60. Mostly in the 40's (like us). It is easy to strike up a conversation and we always had company for meals and around the pool and beach. Of course there will be drunk oafs, and rude people, but just avoid them as you do at home.

Cons:
I had been intrigued with the DineAround at the other MBJ Sandals. The"French" resturaunt at Sandals Inn was a huge disappointment (wine served in plastic glasses?) The Inn is an older converted hotel in a shady part of town.
Visited Sandals Montego Bay for 1/2 hr. and couldn't leave soon enough. Very loud raucous crowd. Resturaunt looked like a high school cafeteria, NO greeting from any staff, one resturaunt with no guests and twenty un-cleared tables at 9PM.
Air Jamaica:
If you are on an AirJamaica operated plane, no problem mon.
If you are on a NorthAmerican rented aircraft, order a few drinks and watch the movie and try to ignore the very cramped seats and the odors.

Hints:
Meet and greet the other guests.
Meet the staff, they are lovely people and want you to enjoy your stay. (Natives have been known to camp out for two days just to fill out an application to work at Sandals).
No tipping necessary. This is absolutely true. Excellent service without tipping. EXTRAORDINARY service with a carefully passed $5 or $10. Just do it out of sight of any other employee.

After two stays we are Sandals junkies. Cannot wait to go back, to St. Lucia or Whitehouse next trip.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,443
    779
    260
    159
    116
See reviews for
95
2,906
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Va
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

It was mine and my husbands 15 year anniversary and we took our first trip out of the country to The Royal Caribbean in Jamaica. We got a glimpse of the beautiful clear waters that awaited us from the plane. Upon arrival in Jamaica, we were escorted to the hospitality suite Sandals has in the airport. There we relaxed with champaign until our bags were loaded into the van that took us to our paradise. The Royal Caribbean Resort was absolutely breath taking! The staff was the best. We arrived earlier than check in and they held our bags so we could go explore the resort. The landscaping was beautiful and the water was so clear and warm. Our room was spacious and well decorated with all the ammenities. They have a private off shore island with restaurant, pool and bar. That was like our own private island! The resort was so beautiful that we did not even venture out to see the rest of Jamaica! We spent our days relaxing in the sun and doing what ever we felt like! I cannot wait to go back and we will definatly go back to the Royal Caribbean!


  • Liked — The 24 hour room service!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara Jalisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

The hotel was great, since the arrival to the airport we were treated great, after arriving to the hotel everything was great the concierge was great, there were some problems regarding some escapade packages that didn't were what we expected but they managed to reinburse some of the money, the guy at the tour desk was awesome. They really exceeded the expectations, the food was great, we didn't used all the restaurants but the ones we used were nice, we also ordered things at time no one will eat but they were nice at filling that, the views, climate, water, pools, etc were awesome, hope we can make it again in a couple of years to revive our honneymoon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Pricing and Food Time Restrictions
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

We had a wonderful time at SRC in Montego Bay. The weather was fantastic, the resort was beautiful, the grounds were impeccable and the staff was friendly and very entertaining! Speaking of entertaining......the entertainment staff was made up of a group of fun and absolutely fantastic people! We enjoyed every activity and really had a great time. Before our trip, we were offered an upgrade to concierge service and a bigger room--it was well worth it! The room was spacious and lovely and we had a beautiful view. Our room attendant kept our room clean and there was never a shortage of anything. She also left us the nicest note with the cutest floral decoration on our bed the day of our wedding. The conceirge staff made sure we had everything we needed and they were a pleasure to work with. In fact, every staff member in the resort from the wait staff, to the groundskeepers, to the room attendants, gave us a smile and greeting everytime we met. The spa personnel were also very nice and we had a wonderful couples' massage and I had my nails and hair done for our wedding. We had a lovely wedding on the beach and a nice reception with newly made friends in the gardens. We are so glad we chose a WeddingMoon package and highly recommend this resort to couples looking for fun, romance and pampering--we can't wait to go back! This wouldn't be an honest review if I didn't point out the couple of minor flaws we experienced. Unfortunately, we can't give the food (variety or quality) an A+, but it definitely was a B- at the least. I think most people tend to have a preconcieved notion of food on a tropical island....but keep in mind that it's an island with limited natural resources and very little is shipped in due to expense. Go with an open mind and don't expect 4 star dining and you'll be fine. Also, room service is a little slow and doesn't offer much choice....but like us, you learn to eat more at meals and not rely on late night snacking!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

Wife and I went for honeymoon. What a way to recharge your batteries. the weather was just as good as the staff. loved the jerk chicken down by the beach. Cant wait to go back next year!

  • Liked — the a/c and the staff
  • Disliked — cant think of any
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

sandals royal caribbean was one of the best vacations ever!! the staff was second to none and the resort was more than we could have dreamed of.the grounds were beautiful, the food was great,and the beach was beautiful. we highly reccomend any sandals for a great vacation!
sincerely,
cliff and heidi haslun

  • Liked — couples only
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Absolutely the most relaxing 5 days I've ever spent on vacation. From the welcome desk at the airport til the day of our departure Sandals Royal Caribbean exceeded every expectation we had. Service was spectacular and the staff exceptional. We can't wait til we return.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and BookIt.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.