We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sandals is the best!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$335 Instant Air Credit!
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sandals is the best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

sandals royal caribbean was one of the best vacations ever!! the staff was second to none and the resort was more than we could have dreamed of.the grounds were beautiful, the food was great,and the beach was beautiful. we highly reccomend any sandals for a great vacation!
sincerely,
cliff and heidi haslun

  • Liked — couples only
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,298
    714
    238
    153
    113
See reviews for
88
2,707
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Absolutely the most relaxing 5 days I've ever spent on vacation. From the welcome desk at the airport til the day of our departure Sandals Royal Caribbean exceeded every expectation we had. Service was spectacular and the staff exceptional. We can't wait til we return.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

The staff at this resort consists of the nicest people I have ever met. They go out of their way to help you in any way. From the front desk, the water activities, the security guard,waiters, and in the spa, everyone we encounter was simply wonderful. We look forward to going back soon.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

The Sandals Royal Caribbean is an amazing property with a fantastic staff and a management team that is a real asset to the Sandals company. The property has gone though renovations and if you have stayed here before the changes, you need to visit it again as we did. We were amazed that they could improve on what we thought was the best of the best of Sandals.The property is elegant, romantic and just calls out to couples who need to renew those loving feelings or to the new couples out there for the great atmosphere of love in the air. The room accomodations are very upscale and beautiful. The food is definately a 10 in our book and the beach and private island are so pristine and clean. I would definately recommend this Jamaica Island Paradise to everyone who enjoys the finer things in life and a staff that can make all your vacation dreams come true.

  • Liked — Everything!!!!!
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarsdale
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

My boyfriend Kevin and I loved the vacation. It was romantic from the moment we landed to moment we took off. Every night there was something to do. My favorite night there was our "italian night" which was thursday night. They had a singer by the pool and Kevin asked me dance under the stars , it took my breath away. The paradise island is just that. We stayed on the island the entire day. There was a gentlemen there his name was Patrick, he was one of the water sport advisors. He was so much fun. He took us snorkeling, boating and after a day or so we just became so friendly, what a nice guy he was!!!!!! All the staff was terrific.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We had the most amazing time. From the Landing at the airport to checking at the Sandals booth. The Hotel staff was surperb the whole time. We were greeted with cold towels and champagne. Then the bell boy took us and our luggage to our rooms. The hotel accomadations were magnificent; even though, it was lower room catagory. Our in room refridgerator was constantly stocked. The planned actities the hotel entertainment staff had were well organizaed and including any guest who wanted to participate. The choice of resturants in the evening was fantastic; the food was excellent and very satisfying. The hostess staff and waitstaff were very nice and attentive; they pulled my chair out and sat the napkin in my lap! The morning and midday meals included a variety of different buffet options. Addititionally, my wedding vowel renwal was awsome. The cordinator attended to and meet my needs. The cermony was wonderful and exactly how I dreamed it would be. The cool sand between my toes saying "I do!!" I just showed up to the cermony and everything was done from the reception to the photographer. Which the photographer was spectacular. On many occasions I asked him to take pictures of my husband and I doing different things! My overall stay and impression is this place had a very relaxing refreshing, renergizing amptosphere, refreshing! And above all everything was all inclusive including drinks and most hotel activites, so there was no bill when we checked except for the photographer pictures.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We went to Sandals Royal Caribbean to get married. It was beautiful, I must say but we were not informed about the "older guests" that also vacation there too. We were surrounded with people in there 50's
and up. We did see a few young couples but that was it. Our room, the
resort was wonderful. The staff were outstanding. The only thing is that it is not good to be a guest there for more that 1 week because all the weekly games/activites ie: "name that tune" had all the same answers etc... Since we were very good at the games and won almost everyone that we had participated in, we felt like we were not able to play the following week because we won the week before and the game planners would always skip us or make sarcastic comments about us knowing it all so we could not participate. I was rather upset with that. We TOO paid our money to stay there for the 2 weeks and we were being excluded. We also had issues with the photo/DVD dept with our wedding stuff. We did'nt get our album & DVD till the night before we left and we were married 6 days prior to that. There were alot of mistakes and issues about our pics and DVD. Thank god we didn't leave a couple days after we were married because we would not of had our pic or DVD. The hotel manager could not give us a reason why it had taken so long. My last week there I spent most of my time in the photo shop!! I should have been enjoying myself, it was our HONEYMOON, but instead it was like I had to keep on top of what was going on to make sure that everything was going allright. We spent a small fortune on the pics & DVD & I wanted it perfect. After all that is said and done I am not 100% happy with the out come
of our pics & DVD & We will perhaps NEVER return to another SANDALS again.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.