We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$335 Instant Air Credit!
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

First time to Jamaica and Sandals. Resort was tremendous and we will definitely be booking with Sandals again. Great choice of restaurants and different cuisines. Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of entertainment if you want it, or you can simply chill and be pampered.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Consierge suites are not just for honeymooners, and they are away from the main beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,298
    714
    238
    153
    113
See reviews for
88
2,707
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We returned again in JUNE 2014! It was awesome - AS USUAL!

We have to start with Ellis and Highill..... they MAKE the trip.... professional and friendly - just the right mix. they know what we like and don't! they focus on OUR vacation..... making US happy. thanks to both of them!

Owen at the island pool bar - just awesome..... he always delivered. Delano too!

the staff at the RED LANE SPA is awesome..... Charmagne,Andrew, Nickel, Lois, - they deliver with a warm touch!

Simone and Shaq - from the watersports team always make you feel like they care!

the island remains the place to be..... with a trip to the pub, the beach grill, the regency, and all the other great restaurants! event the staff futball game was awesome!

we will be back - we get into island time in about 10 minutes upon arrival and stay that way til departure..... it's the staff that matters....... and the location is not bad! ;-)

Room Tip: do the island..... resort within a resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stay at a Sandals in Montego Bay and do the stay at one play at three program that they offer. Our favorite place in Mobay is the off shore island at Royal Caribbean. It's absolutely beautiful. The staff really make it special. Starting with Simone, the best captain in the world. Always greeting us with a smile and docking the boat on the windiest day like there is nothing to it.
On the island was a couple of great guys who just happen to be bartenders. Owen and Delano kept the Rum flowing. We ordered our drinks onetime and never had to ask for another all week. All we had to do was walk up and they knew what we were drinking.
Lunch on the island is the best around. Topped off with Georgia's friendly smile looking after us.
Can't wait to get back to see everyone again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our first time in Jamaica and our first time booking with Sandals. We got an upgrade to a room with butler service. At first we thought this was a great idea but our minds were soon changed when we got there. The butlers are more of an annoyance than a convenience. My husband said it was like having extra baggage on our vacation. The airport is super close to the resort so you are constantly bothered with airplanes flying in. Also at night all you can hear is the crickets. We took the trip package to YS Falls, Black River and Rum Factory. This trip was jam packed that we barely had time for doing any extra activities such as zip lining at YS Falls. Overall the resort was beautiful and the service was excellent. There was plenty of wonderful dining options. The resort is quiet and relaxing. The island is a must visit.

Room Tip: Avoid the butler service unless you want to do absolutely nothing on your OWN on your vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Outstanding resort. Great friendly people. Great Food and drink. Raked beaches twice daily. Plenty of activities if you like....or do nothing at all. Your choice. Lots of restaurant choices. Never had a problem getting any reservations.

Room Tip: Try to get in the Kensington Block for the "quiet side" of the resort. Looking at the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I love Jamaica. This was my 5th visit and I chose the Royal Caribbean. The staff and the "feel" of Sandals is never a disappointment. Unfortunately, I had much higher expectations for the room. The room was cramped and not elaborate/luxurious as the web description suggests. (beachfront walk out grand luxury concierge room)

If I were to suggest a "must" if you select this hotel, it would be to rent a cabana on the island. ($65 for 4 hours) The cabana attendant, Dwayne, was outstanding. He provided us with a basket of sun screen, a stocked cooler, a mid day snack and specialty drinks without our asking. The beach is awesome. Bring some crackers or some bread and feed the fish. The bright colored fish swim right up to you for the treat! it was so neat and we were even able to get amazing pictures of yellow, blue and rainbow colored fish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

So, from the time we landed till the time we left the resort we were pampered. There are some specific names of people you need to find when you get there. First, use the concierge! When you go in ask for a Royal Surprise. While there the folks that were the best and took care of us were Baggio, Andre, Tobiah. The food is great all over but if you want good Jerk go to the private island and see Lavalo at the grill. If you plan to snorkel or go out at all on the water you need to see Davion, he's great! For pictures you should ask for Levor, he does a great job and makes it a lot of fun! Stephan is great to talk to, he is in the catamarans area. We also met a lovely girl by the name of Ocion. She always greeted us with a smile and we really enjoyed getting to know her.

If you decide to go to Dunns River Falls (well worth the drive!!) there are a couple things to know. First, learn the phrase "Me no want it". This is invaluable at the end of the tour. Also, buy your water shoes at the first rest stop on the way there. Finally, take single dollar bills. After you climb up the falls, as soon as you come up the steps the your guide and all the other guides start hitting you up for tips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.