We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butler Service Is the Way to Go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $150 Spa Bonus!!
Ranked #5 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Butler Service Is the Way to Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I went on our honeymoon to the Royal Caribbean in Montego Bay last week and had a great time. The place itself was very clean and even though it is not huge it definitely has enough options to not have to repeat yourself.

They have about 7 different restaurants so you can have a different dinner option each night of the week. The food was great and the staff in the restaurants were very friendly. There are also bars located all over the resort and there is not a drink they do not know how to make.

Overall, the entire staff was great. They were all so friendly and funny. A couple that stuck out were Chad from the photo shop and Stephen from the water sports. We saw Chad a number of times throughout the week and he always stopped to chat with us and get a few pics of us. Stephen took us out on the Hobie one day and out to snorkel another - he was pretty funny and threw in some free Jamaican and Sandals history/trivia for us.

Even though everything I mentioned up top is great, by far the best part of our trip was our butlers. We had Jason & Khalil - they each work half the day so you always have one of them just a phone call away. They set any dinner reservation you want, save the best chairs at the beach or pool for you with towels and a cooler stocked with the drink of your choice, they answer any questions you may have on all of the excursions and will make sure you get a spot on any excursion you choose to do, and so much more. My wife and I were laughing that we were going to miss Jason & Khalil more than we were going to miss the Sandals & Jamaica. We will be back to this resort and I do not think we would say that if it was not for those two.

Just looking at the things below, I will give a few quick notes.

The service was great top to bottom.

The value was actually probably out of our price range but since it was our honeymoon we splurged and can now say we had no regrets doing so.

Sleep quality was great, rooms are cold and can be as dark as possible if you completely close all of the shades. (Personally I love cold dark rooms to sleep in - you can set the temperature and lighting to your own preference).

The room and entire resort were very clean.

Location is great - only 10 minutes from the airport.

Our room was big, had a shower and tub, mini bar, big tv, big bed.

The food was great - plenty of different options. The lunchtime jerk chicken at the private island was probably our favorite.

It would be nice if they had a few more beers to choose from, but they have every kind of liquor and plenty of wine options.

Room Tip: I am sure all the butlers are great, but if you are allowed to request I would ask for Jason & K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,175
    671
    225
    148
    112
See reviews for
87
2549
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon at Sandals Royal Caribbean, we had an amazing time and did not want to leave! The actual resort isn't anything special but the staff make it amazing. The beaches and pools aren't very large, it is often hard to find a chair but if you do get one make sure you leave your belongings on it all day. Most of the food is delicious but the lunch and dinner buffets are pretty poor. The nightly entertainment is hit or miss, some nights are amazing and interactive while other nights are pretty boring. The best part of our trip was making friends with guests and the staff. Some of the best staff members were Andrei (Cricketer's), Rodane (Piano Bar), Cleveland (Piano Bar), Chiko (Ent), Andrea (Mariner's) and Aretha (Concierge). Andrei makes some of the best mixed drinks and shots (especially the rainbow shot and panty ripper) and Andrea was always willing to make us special food late at night. Overall we had a great time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from May 28-June 6, and all I can say is that it was perfect honeymoon bliss. Everyone at the resort always had a smiling happy face and a welcome hello when you walked by. The penthouse room provided amazing sea views, and our butler Flo was wonderful. Even Sherry Ann was incredibly helpful even though she wasn't our butler. The food was very delicious from all the restaraunts and the pizza place was a favorite afternoon snack. The bartenders were all terrific with their drinks, and after being there for so long, they know what you are going to want as they see you walking up, especially Andre at the swim up bar. The real stars here is the entertainment team. Ginger has an incredible team here with Storm, Richie Rich, Hollywood, and Chico. They make the days and nights fun and make you not want to leave here. We will can't wait to come back here and pick up right where we left off.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at SRC several times now and upon arrival we are greeted with "Welcome Home". We've enjoyed the resort so well that we encougaed our two daughters to have their weddings at the resrt last August and October. The location, the service, the staff, and the food continues to be better than expectations! And, Mr Orkely, we are headed back again this month for another fun filled, enjoyable and relaxing time

Room Tip: Any room near the beach or pool is great! Avoid the rooms with the floor mounted ac!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I can't say enough about the staff at Sandals Royal Caribbean. They make you feel like family and go out of their way to make sure you are having fun.

I read many reviews before going, and the resort could use a little more maintenance. There was a missing lock on our door, but we called the front desk and they took care of it right away.

The food was fantastic. There were a few things we didn't like, but that will happen anywhere you go. Le Jardinier was fabulous and was Cucina Romano at Montego Bay. I will say, stay away from the desserts at the Regency, had a Tiramisu that wasn't. If you want great desserts, go to Cricketers. They also have great Eggs Benedict. AND, the Rainbow shots aren't to be missed, AMAZING!

Overall, they made our 20th Anniversary relaxing, stress free, and most of all romantic.

Thanks Everyone!

Room Tip: We had room #7207 in the Windsor. Our balcony faced the ocean, overlooking the beach volleyball cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We got a married at this hotel a long time ago and forgot to put a review on. The hotel and staff were fabulous, holidays haven't compared since as the service was excellent. We would definately go back. Rooms were excellent they offered a complimentary upgrade to a suite and nothing was too much bother.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I wanted to go away for our 25th anniversary and we choose Sandals Royal Caribbean. Everyone were very attentive and very friendly. Mr. Orkley took care of all our needs till the day we left. The restaurants were great especially the French & Thai you do need to make reservation as soon as you get there. The other restaurants no need to make reservation and the food is great. The entertainment crew ( Storm, Vijay, Chiko, Starboy, Hollywood, Rich ) were great so friendly and very attentive as well. The bartenders, cooks, waiters, waitress and cleaning crew were also great we were satisfied with how everyone treated us.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor (4105) we would walk out to the pool & beach from our room we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.