We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere was worth trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Introductory Bonus Credit
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing atmosphere was worth trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I most say from arrival to departure was just great. It was my anniversary and my husband and I decided to take a trip at sandals royal staff allows you to feel welcome every step of the way. While passing each other it was all smile and ready to assist you. The hotel was clean and up keep was excellent my only downfall was that I wish they had more activities for us to do. Hotel food is known for not been good but I guarantee there food is excellent they have different restaurant that you can chose from they also have a little island where you took a boat to reach which was an romantic experience under the moon light. My trip at sandals royal was worth every penny,thanks to all the managers and staff for making our anniversary a memorial one. Everything ire mon!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,444
    781
    260
    159
    116
See reviews for
95
2,909
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights March 2013, in a Grande Romeo Suite with Private Entrance. Second floor of the Clarence building with a private stairway to the river pool, which we never used because the pool was freezing. Loved the room and location. Huge balcony and sitting area. Very large tub/shower/vanity area, double sinks. The Sandals site is pretty accurate for pics. We had a butler room, if you are an early riser and can get your own beach/pool chair, you don't really need it here since the resort is not very large but very well laid out.
The bed was very comfortable, but set very high for a shorter person.
In room bar/refrig was stocked daily. We drank alot of bottled water this trip. Never had a problem getting more.
Chair service for drinks during the day was nice, they came by often. Had the service at all the places: main pool, river pool, beach.
I used the workout room one morning at 6:15am, was alone. Came for the power walk program at 7:30 a different day and it was pretty full.
Service was always with a smile. And they were always asking if you needed anything.
Very happy with our trip.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have privacy issues, not really a "private" patio that I saw anywhere at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first time in Jamaica as well as visiting a Sandals Resort. Our experience was nothing but exceptional. We were very much impressed with the staff. They went out of their way to make sure our visit to the resort was one we will remember. There was no shortage of meals and the drinks were overflowing. We did not find a meal we didn't like. This will definitely be our once a year vacation spot from now on.

Room Tip: Kensington building is great if you want more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort was an absolute Freaking awesome experience! The staff made our stay "no worry" "no problem"! From the smallest detail the staff made our vacation a most memorable escape from reality.

Mr. Nugent, the hotel manager, should be proud of the service provided by his excellent staff! They made it so hard to leave, we felt like we were leaving home. The personal service provided has assured this will not be our last visit to his beautiful resort.

The food, facilities, and amenities are top shelf. The personal attention provided is over the top. Shanique, Kevin, Odane, and too many others to mention by name, "Thank You!". You made our first all inclusive vacation one that we will never forget.

We shall return!

Room Tip: Concierge level rooms have free wi-fi and 24 hour room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I spent our Honeymoon at SRC in '88 and were a little concerned that returning after so long and having had so many other great holidays in between,we may have been disappointed - WE WEREN'T!!
The entire experience from Sandals dedicated arrival lounge at MBJ, to departure (be sure to book "Mobay Lounge" when leaving - additional cost, but free drinks, snacks & no queueing at security etc), was outstanding.
Checking-in to our Concierge room (see tips below), was smooth & quick, and we were unpacked & ready to go, less than 90 mins after landing!
The most outstanding feature of this relatively small (and as such, personal and friendly) resort, was,the staff team which, without exception, did everything possible to make our stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. It's perhaps unfair to single out individuals, but with apologies to anyone we miss, here are some of the highlights:
Firstly around the main pool (where we spent most of our time during the day!), a big thanks to: Everton, Jeffrey, Tremaine and Neville for looking after us! To Nicola and Ashelle for keeping us stocked-up with drinks (and friendly smiles!!) and to Albert, Jagan and all the pool-bar staff for keeping us entertained! Equally, at the beach bar & grill, we were royally served by Verna, Odain, Janice and their colleagues.
In terms of dining, whereas 25 years ago there was only the Regency restaurant (still very good!), this time we were spoilt for choice! The Royal Thai, on the island, was a culinary experience, which even had its own dedicated " Asian water taxi!" Our personal favourites were however: Eleanors (Caribbean cuisine), expertly served up by Delon, Ivan,Terrence (and Keith, the proactive Head Chef!) and La Jardiniere (outstanding French cuisine) - Andre was our favourite waiter here!!
In addition to all of this, we were also impressed by the Senior staff, who all adopted a "management by walking about" ethos and were always approachable and keen to help. Special mention here for: Oakley, Horrace, the ever-busy "Eric the Engineer" and the unbeatable Edris Rhodes (thanks for everything Edris - you don't look a day older than 25 years ago!!). It would also be remiss, not to recognise SRC General Manager, Louis Grant, who sets the standard for the approachability and willingness of all the staff.
Finally, the entertainment.....staff worked tirelessly to provide activities (for those who wanted them!) but did not impose on the more sedentary guests! Well done to Ginger and the team. Also the evening provision - diverse and top quality (if a little early) - The highlight of our stay has to be the two Monday night performances by THE SILVER BIRDS (DO NOT MISS!!) - a brilliant steel band that served up a visual spectacular that was brim-full of energy. the "White" and "Jamaican" theme nights should also not be missed!
If you are celebrating a special occasion, we would also recommend the Candlelight Dinner, on the beach (or in a pier-end cabana). The additional cost of this was well worth it - thank you Maria for looking after us so professionally!!
So, all in all, another memorable trip to SRC, which we would thoroughly recommend, soured only by the fact that we couldn't get our hands on a couple of "Sandals Select" tee-shirts, despite tireless efforts from the concierge staff. Maybe next time............

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, the "Concierge Rooms" (quieter location in Kensington Block) are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

SRC is by far the best resort I have every been to and I travel a lot withing the states and internationally. The service is excillent and the staff omg EVERYONE IS GREAT AND ALWAYS SMILING. They make sure you are comfortable, feel at home and makes sure u don't want or need anything. Will be going back for the summer, this time for two weeks.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just got back from the Royal Caribbean in Montego Bay. Although this resort is smaller than the other Sandals we have been to it seemed more personal than some of the others we have visited. The service at the beach bar and grill was outstanding along with the pizzeria. They are all just a few steps from the beach and the bartenders and waitresses were more than happy to take your drink orders and deliver them to your beach chair. Orel and Stefan at watersports were so helpful when we encountered some problems on the Hobie Cat. The food at all the restaurants was good, but the French restaurant was exceptional. If you are a Sandals Select Member make sure to go to the evening meal especially. It was around the main pool and once again the food was quite tasty and different than other Sandals we've been too. We had a beach front room which was nice and close to two pools as well as all the restaurants. The entertainment committee has many activities available, probably the most we have seen at any Sandals. The jerk chicken was excellent at the pool barbecue, and the ribs were tasty at the beach party. The weather was in the eighties every day, with a few clouds in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Not all rooms at this resort have an oceanview, but the price is worth upgrading if you want the tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and BookIt.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.