We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful resort made even more exceptional by the wonderful staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$305 Spa or Tour Credit!
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful resort made even more exceptional by the wonderful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a great time. The top notch entertainment crew always made sure there was something going on. Everything was clean and the entire staff was extremely plesent. The food was great and there were always options whether you wanted a sit down meal, a bite to eat while lounging in your swimming suit or a late night snack. The private island was an even more exclusive atmosphere for a chance to just escape from it all.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,280
    703
    237
    151
    113
See reviews for
87
2,682
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our stay and Sandals Royal Caribean was excellent. Me and my wife were spending our honeymoon there and were so pleased with our entire stay. The staff was excellent. Stefan (watersports), Adrian, Albert, and Chad (beach grill), Courtney and Kevin (Cricketers), and Rodane and Shane (private island); were all excellent hosts. They each showed extreme professionalism and made our honeymoon that much more special. This was our 3rd trip to the Royal Caribbean and we have been pleased with each visit. Some upgrades were made to the grounds and we thoroughly enjoyed those upgrades along with what was an already pristine and impressive property. This resort has the best beach and staff in Jamaica! We will be back soon and highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay at a great Caribbean resort!

Room Tip: The concierge rooms in the Kensington building each offer a great view of the ocean and also have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Royal Caribbean Oct.31-Nov.6th and had a wonderful time. Don't listen to the negative reviews, this was our 3rd trip to the Royal and every time was excellent. The staff is the friendliest of any place we have every been too. Michael in the kitchen remembers us every year & comes out to give me a hug. Verna is great at the pool bar, there is not one staff member who doesn't go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.Every staffer, from the gardeners on up, says hello, can I get you anything, every time you pass them. Our room in the Balmoral building was very nice and clean. Housekeeping was there every morning taking care of our room. We absolutely love snorkeling on the island. The beach on the island is fantastic. We love the new pizzaria by the grill, but wish it was open later in the evening. I guess that is my only "complaint". The airplane noise is not that bad. The grounds and gardens are my favorite part of the resort. They are immaculate! They make it truly feel like you are in paradise. The managers are very friendly and always willing to chat. The restaurants are very good, its very tough to get a reservation to the restaurants at Montego Bay, so your need to make those as soon as you arrive. The evening entertainment is always fun, and the steel drum band is not to be missed! The new manager in the Crickateers Pub is very nice also. We have been considering going to Sandals Negril for the last two years, but the Royal Caribbean keeps drawing us back. What else can I say, excellent resort, awesome staff! Would definetly return!

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room here, beds are a little hard though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for our weddingmoon but had a wedding offsite (Hummingbird Hall). Sandals Royal Carib is itself is beautiful and we are glad we chose it for our accommodation, though there were a few too many weddings a day for our liking and not much privacy (hence choosing to get marry elsewhere).

Everything else was fantastic though. Particularly the food and staff. Special shout outs and praise go to Michael (I think that's his name) who works as a chef in the lunchtime buffet restaurant. He was brilliant - such a nice guy! He greeted us by name, remembered what we liked and said congratulations about a ZILLION times. He seemed really genuine.

We wrote a comment card about him and hope it got through to the relevant people. Michael is awesome!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The airplane noise here is still very obvious and really ruins your relaxation vibe. That said, the private island is a great feature of this resort, which has many beautiful places to sit and relax. The main pool was very noisy and as it is so central to the resort, it is a bit overbearing. The beach area is way too small (and if you really like the beach, you might be better off at montego bay).

That said if you can't stand the disruption of planes taking off every 10 minutes on Saturday and Sunday, then find yourself another resort. The other sandals resorts are a bit of a longer driving distance (60-90 minutes) but it will be worth your while for the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Lunch on the private island is worth the little boat trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I were able to stay at the Royal Caribbean resort Nov.3 thru to Nov.10. It was our first time in Jamaica and our first time at a Sandals resort. Needless to say we were not disappointed by either. The resort staff were great and the service was awesome. We had the luxury of staying in a butler serviced suite and would recommend the experience to anyone. Our butlers, Orlando and Jeshane, were great ambassadors for the resort and were ready please at a monents notice. The atmosphere was wonderful and the food was great. We're already talking about trying to budget for a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from an absolutely fantastic holiday in the Sandals Royal Caribbean. Met some absolutely terrific staff from the pool cleaners, bar and restaurant servers, housekeeping staff, general cleaning staff. Resort food absolutely outstanding. Highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting to go to Jamaica. A little airplane noise from the nearby airport but it only takes 10 minutes to get to and from the airport so most of the time of your vacation can be spent at the resort not on a long bus ride. Outstanding security is provided so we always felt safe..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.