We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$335 Instant Air Credit!
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for our weddingmoon but had a wedding offsite (Hummingbird Hall). Sandals Royal Carib is itself is beautiful and we are glad we chose it for our accommodation, though there were a few too many weddings a day for our liking and not much privacy (hence choosing to get marry elsewhere).

Everything else was fantastic though. Particularly the food and staff. Special shout outs and praise go to Michael (I think that's his name) who works as a chef in the lunchtime buffet restaurant. He was brilliant - such a nice guy! He greeted us by name, remembered what we liked and said congratulations about a ZILLION times. He seemed really genuine.

We wrote a comment card about him and hope it got through to the relevant people. Michael is awesome!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,300
    714
    238
    153
    113
See reviews for
88
2,709
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The airplane noise here is still very obvious and really ruins your relaxation vibe. That said, the private island is a great feature of this resort, which has many beautiful places to sit and relax. The main pool was very noisy and as it is so central to the resort, it is a bit overbearing. The beach area is way too small (and if you really like the beach, you might be better off at montego bay).

That said if you can't stand the disruption of planes taking off every 10 minutes on Saturday and Sunday, then find yourself another resort. The other sandals resorts are a bit of a longer driving distance (60-90 minutes) but it will be worth your while for the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Lunch on the private island is worth the little boat trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I were able to stay at the Royal Caribbean resort Nov.3 thru to Nov.10. It was our first time in Jamaica and our first time at a Sandals resort. Needless to say we were not disappointed by either. The resort staff were great and the service was awesome. We had the luxury of staying in a butler serviced suite and would recommend the experience to anyone. Our butlers, Orlando and Jeshane, were great ambassadors for the resort and were ready please at a monents notice. The atmosphere was wonderful and the food was great. We're already talking about trying to budget for a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from an absolutely fantastic holiday in the Sandals Royal Caribbean. Met some absolutely terrific staff from the pool cleaners, bar and restaurant servers, housekeeping staff, general cleaning staff. Resort food absolutely outstanding. Highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting to go to Jamaica. A little airplane noise from the nearby airport but it only takes 10 minutes to get to and from the airport so most of the time of your vacation can be spent at the resort not on a long bus ride. Outstanding security is provided so we always felt safe..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we traveled to sandals royal caribbean on oct 27th thru nov3rd. as always it was the very best of everything. from the time we got to the sandals lounge until we left the resort we were treated like royalty. we cannot say enough good things about this place. the mood of The Royal is so relaxing and soothing. just what a person needs to relax and get away for awhile. every meal was fantastic! we can't say enough about the staff. they really go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of in every way. this place is wonderful. i don't understand some of the negative reviews about the royal. i suspect some people would find something to complain about no matter were they went. we love this place and can't wait to return. we have been treated very well by sandals. we really do feel like we are home. the grounds are perfect, not one blade of grass out of place. the food is great, the service is beyond belief. the staff are very caring. can't find anything to complain about except having to leave. the day we left the royal there were two crybabies there, it was us! we look very forward to returning. forget about the negative reviews and book at vacation here, you will love it.

Room Tip: every room is nice. beachfront is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We're so delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience with us at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We always want our guests to feel relaxed and worry-free in a comfortable, luxurious environment. I am happy that we were able to achieve that goal during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was the 4th Sandals my husband and I have been to and hands down the Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort has the best food and service. We probably wouldn't have selected this resort due to its proximity to the airport and the size but our friends decided to get married there and we had an absolutely great time.

We stayed in the Arundel building on the 2nd floor with our room overlooking some gardens and a small pool. The room was small and could use updating however it was clean and a great location. The bride and groom stayed in the Kensington building on the 2nd floor with their room overlooking a pool and the ocean. Their room was recently renovated and was a great size and beautifully decorated. If you want a nice room and don't mind spending some extra money, I would highly recommend this room.

This resort was definitely smaller than the other Sandals we have stayed at (Whitehouse, La Toc and Royal Bahamian) with small pools and a small main beach however they make up for it with their incredible service, food and private island. The playmakers are awesome at keeping you entertained during the day at the main pool. Playmakers, Chico and Norda were my favorite. Always remembering my name and making hanging out at the main pool a ton of fun. If you like to dance, let Norda teach you some Jamaician dance steps at the white party.

All the food was some of the best we have had at any Sandals (all the resorts have good food though). Our favorite restaurant was the Royal Thai located on the private island. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. If you want some awesome jerk chicken, go see Lavalo late night at Mariners. He has his own jerk sauce that is unbelievable plus his big smile and great attitude will lighten up your night. At the main pool bar, Kirkland and Andre are great bartenders. I recommend asking for Kirkland's special frozen drink, the Sting Ray or Andre's refreshing mojito. They are delicious! Last but not least, server Tracy-Ann gave the best service of anyone on the resort. She always had the biggest smile on her face and always wanted to ensure you were having a good time. Where ever we saw her on the resort, she would be smiling and would briefly stop to say hi to us. She even delivered drinks to us when we were in the ocean.

We were invited to the Sandals Rewards dinner and were so impressed with it. They introduced all the managers and the general manager, passed out awards then had an amazing meal for us on the main pool deck. Each table had a manager sitting at it. We were sitting with Okley, manager of Guest Relations. He clearily represents the attitude that is carried throughout the resort. This dinner put SRC above and beyond any other Sandals we had been to. So if you get invited to this dinner, I highly recommend going to it.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Sandals Royal Caribean in Montego Bay to anyone. Even though it is a smaller property, they do a great job of ensuring you are having a great time and provide the best service of any Sandals resort we have been to. We are planning on checking out other Sandals resort but will definitely be back to visit the SRC. I'm just hoping Chico, Norda, Lavalo, Kirkland, Andre, Okley and most importantly Tracy-Ann are still there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Sandals Royal Caribbean for our honeymoon in one of the butler level suites. The atmosphere was wonderful! The service was unforgettable....we were never without a drink or a snack or someone asking us if we needed anything, and if we did....they brought it to us! We loved the night time shows that were put on as well as the excursions that are offered at an additional cost. The butler was AMAZING! He was so friendly and considerate and knowledgable and did not mind educating us about Jamaica. He took care of all dinner reservations for us and made sure we had beach chairs reserved by the pool with a cooler full of our favorite beverages. The food was VERY disappointing.... for $5,000+...I want a home made burger...not a frozen patty that is dry as a bone. I want good seafood....the shrimp at the English pub were literally the size of my thumb nail and the scallops...maybe my ring fingernail. They need to bring the food quality up to par....it is really unacceptable.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the butler suite...you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.