We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $150 Spa Bonus!!
Ranked #5 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Manheim, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Returned to this resort again this year and had as great a time as last. Saw a lot of new workers and some of the same but all were as great and kind! They are there for everything you need or want! Had a lot of great food and fun activities!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,175
    671
    225
    148
    112
See reviews for
87
2549
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited SRC in October 2009 and had a blast. We say wedding after wedding and how nice it was. We than decided that was what we wanted to do. And on Saturday, October 13, 2012, we did. With 14 family, friends and resort guest looking on.

I'm going to name names as I try to remember them all. First, Nicholas, he was awesome and made sure we were well taken care of and immediately took us around the property to show the upgrades including our fabulous room. Andre was also awesome. He really looked after us and I still hear him saying to me "my lady is everything okay." He arranged transportation to take our family and friends to Rick's cafe.

Our wedding planner AWESOME!!!! First we were not aware of our appointment and they were looking for us. They saw us at lunch and said we had missed our appointment. But later that day Millcent (this, I'm sure is NOT how she spells her name), meet with us. We covered every detail of our day. She is very professional and helped with every decision. Even arranging a dinner for our guest that we had not discussed. We were going to be outside for dinner and was all set up and than it begin to storm. So they rearrange everything in the Regency and set us up at a grand table and extended our guest time who were there on a day pass. She even called before we left to check in on us and to say bye, because she was going to be off the day we left. Jerome and Tonya were our servers at dinner and an awesome job they did. Jerome keep the wine coming and everyone went right to sleep after dinner.

The entertainment team... Let me just say they were entertaining. Hollywood, Chico, the DJ and the rest of the gang were awesome and kept everyone moving in their seats. They are HIGH energy and LOVE what they do at Sandals.

Our house keeper was special. She had a smile on her face every morning we saw her. And she wanted to make sure we had everything we needed in our room. It always smelled nice and clean. We saw her mopping the floor every day. So we felt comfortable walking around our room without shoes.

Words could not even express how GREAT our weddingmoon was with Sandals. I'm advising everyone getting married or renewing their vows to go too Jamaica and stay at the Sandals Royal Caribbean & Private Island. The pictures online are true!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite in the center of the property. Awesome. Our wedding guest had a room with an awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We recently returned from our third stay at SRC, and despite being two years since our last visit it was just like going home. The number of staff greeting us with "welcome home" and "welcome back" was astounding. We were in the Kensington Building again, and for the first time on the ground floor with direct access out onto the pool area - and this worked well for us. There was some refurbishment work going on in the other half of the building, but this was mostly in the background and not a real inconvenience. If anything it meant with 24 rooms out of action the Resort was just that little bit quieter which suited us. Yes at times there was some noise, and paint/woodstain fumes, but there was always somewhere else to move to if it became too much.

We made good use of the Concierge service to book our dining, and to get things done when needed. We've never seen the need for a butler to be honest as the Concierge do everything we need. Sadly we were too late to get a reservation at the Stewfish over at Montego Bay when we asked in our second week - so will book earlier next time! We made full use of all the food options at SRC (including the fantastic new pizzas at lunchtime) and had a lovely meal at the Italian restaurant at Montego Bay. The new pub breakfast option is a nice addition - we ate there a couple of times. As always we found all of the food and drink staff to be only to eager help. It was good talking to Jason in the pub about his ideas to revamp the evening menu there - we look forward to seeing that in place next time!

Moving on to the entertainment and the Playmakers - and once again we had an awesome time joining in all their fun and games! Every single one of them appears to work 24/7 to provide things to do. We can only say THANK YOU to the whole team for making us feel part of the family - and having a whale of time doing so! We also joined in lots of the fitness activities with Robin - aquacise for both of us, and tennis and gym sessions for Jo. The only down-side is that there's no aquacise at weekends!

Another small improvement for us was the resort photographers - they seemed a lot less intrusive than previous visits - and we appreciated that. We know some people love all the photoshoots and stuff, but for us that's not of interest, so it was great that when we said no thanks they moved along - thank you.

For us what makes SRC is the staff - and once again we found this to be the case. I do not think we met an unhappy staff member in the whole two weeks, from arrival at the Airport to loading our cases on the bus when it was time (sadly) to go home. We would have no hesitation recommending the resort, and will be shortly booking next October's return trip!

Room Tip: Kensington building ground floor rooms are great, with access directly onto the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Sandals Royal back in early May for our 20 year Anniversary. We had such an amazing time and hope to go back for our 25th!! Everything went amazingly well, we never encountered a problem! We were upgraded to a concierage beachfront room upon arrival. (Room 111), great location tucked away into a quiet area of resort with pool right there. We thought it was a great time of year to go, not to crowded! We met lots of great people and had fun playing water volleyball often. The activities crew were TONS of fun! We enjoyed the nightly entertainment, white night, and the chocolate buffet! The private island was very nice to go to, lunch there is a great choice!

Do not hesitate to book here, you will have a blast!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I only gave a 3 on service because I encountered a few problems, but over all service was fine.
This was a nice resort and this was our second trip to this resort. I believe Sandals is the best and as an experienced traveller you can't get any better in quality. Theres much to do or if you are like us we prefer to take it slow and relax. Normally we usually get butler service but this time we didn't so we got to experience service on a different level! If you want to really enjoy any one of these resorts, take the first day if you aren't to weary and learn the area and what's available. Once you know your surroundings it's a piece of cake. Also get all your shopping and photo's the day before you leave as we found the service to move very slow especially if you're about to leave for home. For the most part every one is friendly but a few individuals could use some customer service tips for example the photo shop individual. Upon arrival service could have been better to as we waited pretty long and to say we are regulars at Sandals it would have been nice to be upgraded to concierge at least!! Anyway, we made the best of our trip and thanks to the pub !! We really had a blast. The service was very nice and pleasant in many other areas so that made up for the few things that were lacking. In conclusion Sandals is our favorite allinclusive resort so we will be doing travel to other locations next year . If you haven't been to Turks you should take the kids! And other properties are amazing! As for this resort I am sure you will be happy with all the entertaiment, food, water sports, games or just relaxation. Also there's free transportation to two other sandals resorts ! Give it a try ! At least 4 nights and I'm sure the experience will draw you in as a Sandals lover!!
If you need a travel agency and are serious email info@reachtravel.net
Go to Sandals and let your love be rekindle with the one you love!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Sandals RC Oct 19-26 2012. From arrival to departure, Sandals staff is friendly, relaxed and happy to meet your every need, even during Hurricaine Sandy they didn't miss a beat. If you can't find something good to eat here, it's your own fault. try some of the local foods. Food was excellent. Chef Juan met me at check-in to discuss my special dietary needs and made available sugar free desserts. We ordered all types of drinks including top shelf liquors with no problem.The staff is incredible from maintenance, housekeeping, hostess, managers, servers, bartenders and front desk staff. We were never told "no" to any request, even if it wasn't on the menu. The entertainment was great. The resort was clean and organized and under constant care. You just bring your cloths and relax. We went snorkeling and attended a scuba diving class in a pool before diving in the ocean. Instruction is excellent and fun. My husband and friend went deep sea fishing and caught a Mahi Mahi. Chef Juan specially prepared it the next day for us to have with lunch. We were charged nothing additional for this service.I did experience some mesquitos but I brought Avon Skin So Soft insect repellent which does not smell like bug spray and I had no problem. The beach was clean and beautiful. I felt like a special guest there but I am sure everyone is treated the same. We plan to make Sandals our priority vacation destination. You have to try the Jamaica resorts!

Room Tip: If you are not interested in a "view", most of the rooms seem similar in design and are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Sandals RC for a week. We had great entertainment every night - without even leaving the resort. Everyone was gracious, friendly and eager to ensure we had everything we needed. Hurricaine Sandy hit in the middle of our vacation and we were expecting all the fun would be over. But the staff did a lot of great preparation to keep us all safe and informed. I am not sure how they did it, but the entertainment, great food and even the spa services were available the entire week. We spoke to some staff and discovered that they had simply stayed at the resort (separated from their families during the storm!) in order to keep things running! Special thanks to the General Manager, our favorite server - Odane, Landon who never seemed to stop working, Robin at the gym, and the very friendly and talented barkeeper on the private island whose name escapes us! The chef did an amazing job of keeping the buffet menu in the main restaurant interesting, tasty and full of variety. The resort exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: We like oceanfront, on the second floor. Great view and good for people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.