We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very poor hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel reception staff were rude and not friendly at all. I asked for the wifi code and they just pointed to a sign, the wifi was intermittent and not available in your rooms. Breakfast service was like something from Faulty Towers. The menus were thrusted in our faces, no good morning or hospitality, breakfast itself was cold and burnt. I had room service and it wasn't what I ordered at all, had been mixed up with someone else's. No apology and not taken off my room bill. Very poor show, management not interested in helping or assisting. I felt like an inconvenience. Also had to wait 90 minutes for my room.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    133
    49
    22
    14
See reviews for
91
259
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my husband chosen this resort for our honeymoon, and considering the location, our staying was comfortable and pleasant. The staff was mostly nice, the manager even organized some champagne for us on our arrival. It is a bit small, which we liked ! The food was beautiful, the chef s award winning tuna is something that you must try, as well as the banana cake. We used the water sports, and mostly relaxed by the beach. My suggestion though is to include coconut water on the bar menu. I was craving for some and ironically they were everywhere around since they have a lot of coconut trees, but not on the menu. Overall, we were really satisfied!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from Coyaba beach Jamaica we spent a week in the hotel ,staff were very helpfull nothing was too much trouble , the food / drinks was very good the hotel was spotless a very relaxing holiday not for the party goers !!! Kevin was the perfect host at the managers, Thanks to all at the hotel for making our stay engoyable.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room with fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This is a small hotel with a beautiful ocean setting. Very quiet and peaceful. Traveled alone and felt very safe. The food isn't that great but the staff is exceptional. Spa massage right on the water by Michael.....exceptional! Recommend this hotel for a quiet getaway. Will be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 3 would be best ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week in January. I had emailed in advance asking for a ground floor room due to a mobility issue. On arrival we had been allocated a ground floor ocean front suite which was amazing. It was lovely to walk out to the beach from our terrace.

We thought the food was lovely, not lots of choice but we tried things we maybe wouldn't have had and enjoyed everything. Drinks nice and plentiful.

The majority of the staff were lovely and being such a small and intimate hotel we got to know some of the staff quite well.

We will definitely stay here again, hopefully next year!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Small hotel with large groups of people together mostly flight crew haveing party time 4 days stop over if you Want a sun bed by the pool get up early! If you go for after noon tea get there first or there be non left. We paid extra for sea view room they get one free. Resturant has Nice food slow service gets better with tips same at the dark gloomy Polo Bar same at the Dock For lunch so take lots of small dollars bills. Will I go back NO!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Private beach, friendly staff, clean and fresh atmosphere. I would recommend this beach for honeymooners who like their privacy because not too busy like some other resorts. However, the food on this resort does not have many options, so we ate out a lot. We had a problem with the WIFI service in our room on our last 4 days of stay, but other than that it's all good.

Room Tip: Request for oceanfront room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is an intimate seaside hideaway directly on a private, calm beach. The resort offers 50 guestrooms, three restaurants, watersports, fitness, tennis, spa services, and the service & quality of a small luxury hotel. All rooms feature A/C, TV & VCR, private balcony, CD-radio, coffeemaker, hairdryer, mahogany furnishings, and choice of king bed or two doubles. Connecting rooms for families and handicap facilities available. Experience true Caribbean hospitality in an elegant beachfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, EasyToBook, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and getaroom.com so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel Montego Bay
Coyaba Beach Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.