We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay at the Coyaba Beach Resort, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly and treated us like family, my room was comfortable and easy access to the calming beach on the property. Very quite, relaxing and calming

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    106
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
81
212
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Usual 3 day/2 night stay whilst on business. Check-in was swift with a cold flannel and fruit punch. Room was amazing as expected from previous reviews. Food was substandard... A shame because this what let's anyone down.. Food in my eyes are a key component to any holiday. Small friendly hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Peaceful, beautiful small but adequate property. Friendly & helpful staff. Flawless rooms, well kept grounds, calm & swimable beach, no time constraints on the kayaks and available hook-ups for my hammock.No wild night life, although our domino games might've been a bit loud at times. Unscheduled accommodations provided to disabled friends was much appreciated. "Never fear~Richard is Here!" KUDOS to All Staff - Hugs for Richard! Transport to Hip Strip-reasonable $25 for 4 of us. Daily complimentary Tea-Time was nice way to sample foods. Pool, hot tub & beach were nicely maintained. Without a doubt, you WILL relax here! No elevators. I loved the high ceiling in rm 218, the view, arrangements.. Everything!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my partner had 10 days here at the start of August with Thomson Holidays on an All Inclusive basis. We are frequent long haul travellers and have visited many destinations with several airlines / tour operators.

The hotel was very nice with good facilities and a jetty which was an excellent feature to see marine life.The food was excellent and really well presented being plated a la carte as opposed to buffet service. The hotel is not a traditional all inclusive hotel and so this made the food of better quality. The restaurant staff bent over backwards to provide vegetarian meals and alternatives from the menu if we desired-superb!

Most of the staff were very friendly. The best staff we encountered who were polite, genuine and professional were Richard (the porter), Barbara (bar), Barry (restaurant) and O'Neill (restaurant and bar). Some but few of the other staff did not appear as happy in their jobs as these exceptional characters who really our holiday enjoyable. The rep Jackiee was also excellent and very friendly.

The hotel is well situated and in my opinion is much more preferable than the much bigger rival hotels next door that offer buffet service and is rammed with people.

Overall the holiday was excellent but let down by the tour operator Thomson who we found to be unprofessional and well below our expectations in line with other companies. If you go to this hotel I would strongly recommend going with Virgin or another operator instead as the extra cost really would make the difference. In short the flight was extremely poor and not up to standard and equipped for long haul. The service provided from cabin crew as well of the food fell well short. Drinks have to be paid for on the flight and there was only one very poor meal and a snack. In comparison with Emirates, Virgin and Sri Lankan airlines they have not got a clue to be honest and I was embarrassed for them. Please do not be fooled by the premium class seats that appear to be a gimmick and are not comparable to other airlines who are experienced with long haul and what level of service should come as standard.

The other negative was that the cabin crew were allowed to stay over at the hotel before flying home and clearly stood out like a sore thumb. They were loud and unprofessional and kind of took over the place which at other times was very quiet and pleasant and much more civilised. This would be unheard of for other travel operators to do this and allow their staff to portray their company in this negative light. Overall we dreaded the flight home and wished we had used Virgin despite being on the 'Dreamliner' where the lights were like a disco and the windows kept being dimmed and relit with duty free goods being rammed down your throat making us feel ill.

Overall a fantastic holiday and very relaxing hotel with overall superb staff but very disappointed with Thomson who I will never use again even if considerably cheaper than rivals.

Room Tip: We had a studio room that was excellent-it could not be faulted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a nice little hotel, good location, nice stretch of beach (though small).

The staff were a mixed bag. The reception staff were very nice, as was the bell man. The restaurant staff were ok, not rude, just a bit indifferent I guess.

The food selection was a bit of mixed bag too, some nice options, and at times some rather boring options. The food wasn't particularly cheap either.

All in all, it was a nice stay, and something different to staying in the big resorts. My room was really nice as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This July I had the opportunity to revisit Coyaba for eight nights, my ninth visit! Over the years, I have traveled with my best friend and with family; this trip was a combibnation of both. And I can say with certainty, that I'm already looking forward to the next stay!
The staff is warm and and friendly, greets us on arrival like old friends--if I started naming everyone, this review would have no end--from management and the front desk, bar and restaurant staff, the gift shop, house keeping and grounds men: everyone takes exquisite care of the guests as well as of the resort.
I particularly enjoy the all-inclusive option; the food and drinks are excellent, the menus wonderfully varied--and, of course, I know my costs up front. Again, everyone is accomodating, remembers me and my "favorites."
Even though the resort was completely full several of the nights during our stay, there was always a sense of quiet and privacy, as much as needed. There was always room on the beach, at the pool or in the restaurants. By request, our favorite room was waiting for us, and each morning, I watched the sun rise over the beach from our deck--the best therapy in the world!
Coyaba is a gem: I hope to return again and again, and hopefully for longer next trip. Definitely my "Happy Place!"

Room Tip: For the best view, choose an upper floor with a view of the water; for easy access, take the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed here for a 3 day holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Positives included: plentiful and filling breakfast, helpful staff, spacious, clean rooms and a balcony with enviable views of the beach, a friendly atmosphere, well kept gardens and a relaxing private beach.

Negatives included: a gym with no air con (which resulted in a very sweaty work out), a particular sarcastic waiter at breakfast with a slight attitude, being far from the main tourist strip of Montego Bay and overpriced hotel taxis.

However, I believe the positives outweigh the negatives and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is an intimate seaside hideaway directly on a private, calm beach. The resort offers 50 guestrooms, three restaurants, watersports, fitness, tennis, spa services, and the service & quality of a small luxury hotel. All rooms feature A/C, TV & VCR, private balcony, CD-radio, coffeemaker, hairdryer, mahogany furnishings, and choice of king bed or two doubles. Connecting rooms for families and handicap facilities available. Experience true Caribbean hospitality in an elegant beachfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel Montego Bay
Coyaba Beach Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.