We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Chilled out holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have just arrived back from this wonderfully relaxed hotel after 2 weeks.From the moment we arrived to the time we checked out yesterday nothing was too much trouble for the well trained happy staff.It is a small hotel with a very high standard of cleanliness and service.The grounds are beautifully maintained and with the swaying of the palm trees every where is very calming. The choice of menu is delightful and very tasty all cooked to order even the breakfast !!
Francois the manager works all the hours to make sure everything is just right,thanks to him and all his staff especially Kay,George,Marco Barbara,Tacia Gladstone not forgetting the life guards and also the gardeners.The beach is small and the water is very calm,there is selection of water sports. A holiday here we would highly recommend

Room Tip: All are of a standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    126
    48
    20
    13
See reviews for
90
249
17
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Coyaba at the end of our 12 day trip so we'd be close to the airport. Have been to the island many times but never stayed in MoBay so went on the advice of others as to where to stay. While the resort is nicely appointed and comfortable, there is very little beach. The pool is small but clean and feels cramped with all the guests lounging. The food prices are high and with few restaurants withing walking distance (we walked to Scotchies for dinner) you have very few options. Airport transfers are $25 US each way but we found a taxi on our own for $15. The resort is close to the airport (10-15 mins) which is why we stayed so it fulfilled our needs but I don;t think I would stay again unless the price were right. Definitely not the place to go if you're a beach person or like to explore off the resort (Negril hands down for both) but a safe, clean place to relax nonetheless.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We came here for a rest and found it. All inclusive, no hassle, nothing is a problem.

Of course people don't all look for the same. We weren't intent on going out, were happy that there isn't a disco, and enjoyed the understated quality and attention. Not everybody would,

You can snorkel off the beach but there isn't not much under water to see. Through the front desk, we got a boat to come and pick us up and take us to a nearby reef to snorkel, which was much better and not too expensive.

Another suggestion: pay the extra to get access to the airport lounge on the way back. There is a lot of time to kill, and you might as well kill it in comfort with food and drink at no extra charge

Room Tip: We were wise to upgrade to a junior suite so we could have a proper sized bed and a sea view. Smart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

As regular visitors to this beautiful Island, we were delighted to see this hotel for the first time this year with Thomson holidays from the UK. The Coyaba hotel is exactly as described. The attention to detail in furnishings and colours throughout the hotel has certainly paid off. it is beautiful as are the gardens. However with the exception of four staff members we were disappointed with the manner and mood changes of others. Whilst we were aware that entertainment would be low key & this works well for a lot of guests, unfortunately it was too quiet for our tastes as most people seemed to disappear before 10.30pm. Food is very well presented and tasty, particularly in the Vineyard, but maybe the selection could have a little more variety in all three dining areas.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite with a garden view, which was close to the pool & beach. Also the larger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel they made us feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Excellent room and variation of good food.
The staff made our holiday, so much fun and personal care. Special thanks to Kay, George, Marco and Gladstone attending to our every need.
And how can we forget Pitney (Lamar) on the front reception, always with a smile. Looking forward to returning, a truly wonderful holiday.

Colin and Sharon Millichamp

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just got home today from the Coyaba what a lovely Hotel this is, Small and friendly is exactly what it is, the staff were all very friendly and made our holiday. Kay,Marco,Barbara and Dalton just to name a few, nothing was too much trouble for them, the service was excellent. The food was to a very good standard, plenty of jerk sauce!!!!. Breakfast, lunch and evening meal, so if you like snack's between meals you will be dissapointed. There is a menu for each meal, no buffets etc..
It is very quiet at night, the Polo bar is where alot of guest's went at night after a meal, but if you don't like sitting in one bar, the only thing to do is go back to your room with the tv, there isn't any entertainment day or night really.
The manager of the hotel does come and speak and ask you how you are etc, which is nice.
The rooms are kept very clean and are all a stone's throw away from the beach and pool.
There is a shopping centre The Blue Diamond, within walking distance of the hotel 20 mins but it does sell all the usual tack and it's expensive tack, don't pay for a taxi to get there its a nice walk,but I would go in the daylight as it's along the roadside which isn't lit at night.
We went on the trip to ride the horses along a track and bare back in the sea this was a lovely half day trip,worth doing for somthing different.
The only niggle I had was the Thompson air line crew use this hotel and we did hear them talking and making rather nasty comment's about guest's and passengers on their flights which was rather unproffesional. We had a really good 2 weeks stay at the Coyaba, although it was fabulous in the daytime the night times were too quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I booked a stay at Coyaba, but learned that I'd booked for the wrong dates when I arrived late on a Sunday night. The kind front desk staff offered me the last remaining room, and quickly had it cleaned and prepared for me. They took me on a tour of the property while it was being cleaned, and it's not that big a place so their cleaning staff have to be commended for working quickly. My room was considered a garden room, but I had a great view of the ocean and pool. Lucky me! The room was extremely spacious, as was the bathroom. The robes were a nice touch as well. The patio was a wonderful place to sit and have a drink.
My only complaint was that breakfast was a bit expensive. They really should consider offering a room+breakfast rate in addition to the all inclusive because I spent most of my days outside the hotel, so the all-inclusive made no sense for me, but $18 for the Jamaican breakfast (which is quite a meager portion, by the way) just doesn't make sense.
The beach is very quiet and relaxing, but it's not the comfy, sandy expanse that other Montego Bay beaches have to offer. Still, it's great to have the option to swim onsite beyond just a pool. I thought the place was very quiet while I was there, and would definitely stay again. Be forewarned, it's not in town, so you do have to catch a taxi to do whatever shopping or exploring you want to do. I took local taxis, which stop directly across from the hotel and cost J$100 into town. I can't speak for the cost of the taxis the hotel calls.
Also, I got a fabulous pedicure from the spa. It made me wish I'd gotten a massage as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is an intimate seaside hideaway directly on a private, calm beach. The resort offers 50 guestrooms, three restaurants, watersports, fitness, tennis, spa services, and the service & quality of a small luxury hotel. All rooms feature A/C, TV & VCR, private balcony, CD-radio, coffeemaker, hairdryer, mahogany furnishings, and choice of king bed or two doubles. Connecting rooms for families and handicap facilities available. Experience true Caribbean hospitality in an elegant beachfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel Montego Bay
Coyaba Beach Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.