We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Fayetteville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Finally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

On my recent visit we, unfortunately, did not stay at Coyaba. We stayed at another location in Montego Bay where we experienced the worst customer service I think I have every experienced in all my travels. We decided to have dinner at Coyaba! From the moment I called to check if we needed reservations, all the way until we left for the evening, their customer service was excellent. Smiles everywhere! Helpful, pleasant staff. We made the decision, right then and there, that we will be staying here on our next trip to Jamaica.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    110
    39
    18
    13
See reviews for
83
216
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We chose the Coyaba based on the many glowing reviews we read on Trip Advisor and elsewhere, so we were a bit disappointed at the overall experience.

First the good-The waitstaff in all of the restaurants were tops! Devon in the Vineyard, remembered our preferences in coffee, which was a nice touch! Everyone we dealt with was friendly and efficient.
The dock is very pretty and it is great fun to sit and watch the many colored fish swim underneath. We also went kayaking which was very enjoyable.

Now the not so good-The rooms, while clean, were dated and had elements that I wouldn't expect to see in such a highly rated hotel. Our furniture was covered in sand and remained so even after the room was made up each day. I do believe in conserving energy, but having tacky paper stickers over every light switch to remind me was a bit ..well tacky! Some of the "stickers" had been drawn on by kids which is not a big deal..but attention to detail is what makes an establishment move from average to very good.
Being the tropics bugs are difficult to keep out, however, we had small ants everywhere. Not a real bother to us, but worth mentioning. Also, closet doors are old, ironing board (full size) in the bathroom rather than hidden, and an air conditioner that only halfway worked.

The food was fair at best and very expensive.

The beach is small but has a nice area for kayaking. Would be nice to have the cushions on the beach chairs taken up each afternoon so that they aren't wet and sandy in the morning. Lots of empty glasses and trash left around the chairs as well. Of course, guests should also clean up after themselves.

The area is far from anything, so transportation to an off property restaurant will cost between $50 and $70 round trip. That's not specific to the Coyaba, transporation is expensive all over Jamaica.

For some folks, the hotel is perfect..we like a few more options for activities, entertainment and dining. We spent the first part of our visit in a small BandB, and wanted to give a "resort" a try to see all parts of the vacation spectrum in Jamaica. Not a bad stay, just not as nice as we expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to Coyaba for 7 nights from 20 June '13. I will start with the cons:

Cons
I travel a lot for work, and have come to appreciate suites with iPod docking facilities. This is by no means a need, just a spoilt want, but thought it would have been a nice touch here too.

Pros
Rooms: when we first booked, we selected a garden view room. Then a few days before we left for Jamaica, we decided to upgrade to a junior sea view Suite. We emailed the hotel, who charged us USD$25 a night for the upgrade, down from $100 a night. The upgrade was worth it. Imagine waking up every morning to the sound of the ocean, you turn your head and the first thing you see is turquoise clear waters. Worth every penny to get a sea view suite, folks!
The interior of the suite was breathtaking, in plantation style. Every element from the curtains, very high wooden ceiling, wooden window blinds, the way the suite is arranged etc- all very stylish and practical (fitting for the warm weather).

Beach
About 20m Way from the furthest suites, that's my guess. As mentioned earlier, clear turquoise water, clean and warm too. The hotel has a dock, where people could chill and just take in the beauty, watch the fish that come around most of the day, drink some rum punch, meditate...whatever.
The resort has about 52 suites in total spread over 3 buildings (of 3 floors each),I think- so it's small and intimate and the staff are attentive to your every need. So there is a beach hut, manned by lifeguards, where they also provide water sports equipment that hotel guests can use freely. This includes snorkelling gear, pedal boats etc. Roaming around the beach and resort are security guards, so one always feels safe around the resort.

Food
Breakfast menu is the same daily, but the choices are broad- Jamaican, continental, some form of English breakfast, and loads of fruits. We always had fruits and Jamaican breakfast- ackee, salt fish, jimmy cakes, bammy, breadfruit, yam, fried plantations and calaloo.
Lunch also had the same menu daily, but all the items were good, so one could easily change daily to avoid repetition, if that is an issue. You will find jerk chicken and fresh full fish here, among other goodies.
Dinner is always a la carte and 3 course, if you want it to be. They have theme night e.g. Native night, jamasian etc. Its quite a classy affair, with live bands playing every day.
Drinks: we were on all inclusive, so could try different types of drinks, from rum punch, martinis to daiquiris with different fruits. I strongly recommend the sour martini (ask Barbara :)).
Excursions could be booked with the hotel, through Sonia. We went for the spirit of reggae Bob Marley tour, to St Ann where the legend was born and is not buried. What a trip, especially if you are a Bob fan. Then to the Dunns River Falls- breathtaking and cool- for the outdoors lover a must. Then we went to the Croydon Plantation- a must for the nature lover, you will see nature's wonders you never thought existed before.

All in all, if you want to chill, relax, have a good time in a safe place that feels like home and where you are treated very well, then I would recommend booking yourself into Coyaba- you will not wanna leave!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed in Coyaba for three nights.

One thing happened the second day made me feel really disappointed.

Me and my friend got stolen a total of 230 US dollars through the "horse riding in the sea" trip that we registered at the resort front door.
The bus driver picked up us in the hotel, before we got off the bus, the driver said we need to leave all stuff in the bus, we did what we've been told because we trusted the driver and the resort, but when we back to the bus, our money got stolen.
We argued with the resort but the staff said they don't response for anything, the only thing we can do is to call the police!! TO CALL THE POLICE?? We were plan to leave the next day!!!! They didn't even try to to contact the bus driver!!! They all knew the driver's name!!! When we asked how can we call the police, they said "well, it may cost you 20 dollars to get a taxi to go to the police station" !!!!!!!!
The staff's attitude was okay, but I feel like they could invesgate much much more on this....

Besides this, the ocean view room was good, food was okay, the room service were fine too.. But I won't come back again for sure..

Room Tip: ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

There's only one thing you can do after staying at Coyaba, and thats coming back asap.

The food menu is great, different theme's every night and all a la carte. I recommend you take the all inclusive plan, it will save you heaps of money if you want to enjoy every meal at the hotel.

I have never met such friendly hotel staff, they go out of their way for you. Friendliness is something really familiar for any Jamaican, which we experienced off the hotel grounds. The beach is really nice, so is the pool. Three restaurants provide excellent service, and live music performed by Jamaican musicians was provided at every dinner.

Only 50 rooms here, so don't expect the mass entertainment you might encounter at RIU, Sandals, Iberostar or others. Go to Coyaba to relax and endulge yourself in Jamaican hospitality.

We had a deluxe room with garden view, which actually had more sea view than garden view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

INTRO
-My gf and I stayed in Coyaba Resort for 2 nights during our first time visit to Jamaica. It was overall a pleasant experience at a decent boutique hotel.

PROS
-Clean rooms, great views of the ocean.
-Beach is quiet, clean, safe (constant security guards patrolling the beach). This is definitely a plus as we noticed that other beaches in Negril did not have any control over the numerous vendors that approached tourists. Don't expect amazing underwater views in this beach.
-Tea/sandwiches provided in the afternoon were decent
-Safety: we felt VERY safe at the hotel, no problems with security.

CONS
-Horrendous location if you are looking to explore outside of the resort. You NEED a car or rental to get ANYWHERE. It is a $25 ONE WAY trip to the Hip Strip. Other locations (Luminous Bay, Rose Hall, etc. are all over 30 min away and require a taxi). This is nothing like Negril where you can simply walk to the open beach!
-We paid approx $200 for the room but had another $50 fee added on to the cost since it was for two people rather than 1 person. I found this ridiculous as it was not detailed ahead of time. An outrageous and unnecessary cost.
-EXPENSIVE resort food. We did not buy a single meal, rather I highly recommend walking two stoplights down the main road to Scotchie's to get REAL Jamaican food. I spent approx $20 and ordered - Jerk Chicken, Jerk Pork, Chicken Sausage, Pork Sausage, AND two sides with drinks. An absolute fantastic deal.
-There is NO free breakfast. You have to pay for EVERYTHING! You at least get a free breakfast anywhere else in smaller venues (Hilton, Hampton, Days Inn, etc.)
-OK pool and jacuzzi. The bartender makes a poor pina colada.

CONCLUSION
-Overall we had a pleasant time at Coyaba, however, we strongly feel the high rates (room cost, food cost, etc.) do not justify the services provided. We recommend this hotel with reservations. We would likely consider the number one ranked Iberostar if we were to go to Jamaica again. The reason - if you're going to spend over $250 at Coyaba, you might as well spend a little more on the number one Iberostart and maximize the benefit and quality of your vacation.

Please email if you have questions, and as always - safe travels!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELGIUM
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just back from a week stay at Coyaba Beach
Some mixed feelings about this hotel!
Location
+ private, near to the airport
- next to main road A1 , quite some noise of the traffic, even on the beach!
- need a rental car or taxi to go anywhere
Beach
+ private , very less waves due to reef in front of the hotel
- not a nice sea to swim , saw not much people swimiming in
- MOSQUITOS and sand flies bite you all over
Rooms
+ good bed, very clean
- small bathroom , very hot when you take a shower because the airco is only working in the room
- safe with a key you have to take care off
Food
+ breakfast ok, lots a la carte choise
+ lunch at the pool area ok for a pizza or a burger , jerk chicken or a grilled fish but not everyday the same quality on preparing
+ diner , as a real Belgian -foodie some mixed ideas, Sometimes had a nice plate but also several times lesser and cold food. Quite certain lot is prepared in advance so if you come later ( after 8 oclock) you have the chance your food is not warm anymore or juicy anymore ( chicken, shrimps...)
Red wine should also be served much colder. Bottles of the house wine are put on the bar instead of cooled somewhere. So the wine takes the temperature of the environment which is at least 10° C too much for red wine.
Pool
clean but small
Staff
not all that friendly and quite visable who of the guests were tipping
General
didn't had the feeling that I was in Jamaica in the hotel due to the location
Went for a 2 day trip to Negril where you have a splendid beach with crystal blue water and seeing Jamaica passing in front of your beachchair (vendors , rasta's...)
If you're looking for a beachfront small boutique hotel, satisfied with a swim in the pool and going after diner directly to your room this hotel will please
you!!!

Room Tip: Block 3 is the best block to avoid road noise. If you don't like stairs try to get a room at gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is an intimate seaside hideaway directly on a private, calm beach. The resort offers 50 guestrooms, three restaurants, watersports, fitness, tennis, spa services, and the service & quality of a small luxury hotel. All rooms feature A/C, TV & VCR, private balcony, CD-radio, coffeemaker, hairdryer, mahogany furnishings, and choice of king bed or two doubles. Connecting rooms for families and handicap facilities available. Experience true Caribbean hospitality in an elegant beachfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel Montego Bay
Coyaba Beach Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.