We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coyaba Beach Resort & Club : Excellent hotel near Montego Bay, Jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Coyaba Beach Resort & Club : Excellent hotel near Montego Bay, Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed ten days in this hotel near Montego Bay in Jamaica. Without any doubt, this is one of the very best hotels we've ever had. The buildings are beautiful, the interior design is a refined 'colonial style', there are many plants and flowers between the buildings which are beautiful and well kept. The staff is very friendly and cooperative. At the back of the hotel is a beautiful and very clean private beach (a magnificent sight!), with possibilities to do water sports (snorkeling, canoe paddling, water biking etc.). The rooms are spacious and very clean. The hotel has other facilities like (2) bars, a shop, spa etc. The hotel only has 50 rooms - which makes it an ideal place for people who prefer rest and tranquility (although there are social activities, but these are never too noisy and never at night). Last but not least (and this is one of the most important merits), the food is really excellent and varied (both Jamaican and 'fusion' kitchen). Not only the evening meals, but also the snacks for lunch and the breakfast are exquisite. It's a pity that beautiful Jamaica and this hotel are so far (we live in Belgium), otherwise we would become regular visitors (who knows, we might go back in some years...). From the hotel, you can make many interesting excursions. In short: we highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: (we did not use the 'spa' so we cannot rate it). We think the best rooms are at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    108
    39
    18
    13
See reviews for
83
214
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our vacation requirements are simple: value, natural beauty, rest, navel gazing, sun, quiet beach, good and healthy food, rum punch and red stripe, exercise, clean facilities, quiet and pleasant guests and a friendly and helpful staff.

We spent seven nights at the Coyaba under the all inclusive plan, and found the experience to exceed our expectations.

Of note:

The beach - While small, it was never crowded allowing for lot's of personal space. The beach is also alive with small crabs and fish. One morning I spotted a small mantis a few feet away from shore. We were even able to walk about a 1/4 mile through the water out to the natural reef that protects the bay.

The food - Being of Jamaican descent I can say that the Jamaican dishes were generally good. I particularly enjoyed the Callaloo and had it daily! The ginger cole slaw was also quite tasty.

The vibe - Very low key and relaxed but with a strong customer focus.

Room Tip: Building 300 has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Superb location, just ten minutes from the airport. They advertise three restaurants / bars. Main restaurant is great for breakfast, service is a bit flakey for dinner.

Main problem from a business standpoint - reliable wireless Internet access is only available in the hotel lobby. There is usually a gathering of users in the lobby area - computers, tablets, smartphones, etc.

Would I go there again - absolutely for a vacation. From a business standpoint or combined vacation / business perspective...

No comment on management or management style. Staff seems to have a genuine interest.

Room Tip: There are three buildings. Building '3' is preferred if beachfront is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

for what it is (a small hotel surrounded by giant all inclusive resorts) it's an absolute gem!

The food is top notch, (with stuff like free afternoon tea and managers cocktails once a week). the location is cracking and the staff are wonderful (once you get past the Jamaican 'charm' shall we say - they can come across as quite blunt but that's just how all Jamaicans are).

I recommend getting a cab down to Scotchies Jerk Shack - it's quite possibly the best jerk I've ever eaten and it's cheap as hell!

Room Tip: There's only one block with a sea view I think - but the rooms in the main building (the old Col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We just arrived back from another great holiday in Jamaica!! We travel to Jamaica every 6 months for vacation and truely loved the Coyaba! The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating with big smiles everyday! Shout out to Dwight and Roy on the beach, our cleaning lady Dahlia, the gardeners, the restaurant and front desk staff!
Thank you to the hotel manager Francois for making our stay extra special! We highly recommend the Coyaba if you want to relax on a quiet, beautiful beach front hotel that is very close to the Mo Bay strip.

Thanks Coyaba, we miss you already!
Paul and Lina

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dighton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel and grounds were fantastic, very clean and felt upscale. Grounds, beach and pool immaculate. A little disappointed in the beach there is a lot of seaweed to if you went in the water past your knees you had to tread water constantly to avoid standing in seaweed plants and the barrier blocks all waves so it really is like a lake (hence the seaweed). The restaraunts on site were very expensive for what you got and the service was definately on the slow side, I know it is vacation and all but I was tired and wanted to go my room and relax but it took forever. The main dining hall indicates pants are required to dine for men, my husband only had jeans no dress slacks so we did not go to the restaurant and ate from the limitied menu at the bar/grille upstairs only to walk by the restaurant and see men in there in shorts. If you are looking for an upscale location and the scenery is more important then the beach this is the place to go. Don't get me wrong it is beautiful, friendly staff just not the right fit for my husband and I.

Room Tip: We had a great view from our room water side in the 300 builing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We are just leaving Coyaba... This Hotel is a beautiful resort, very well maintained, and very accommodating staff. Our room (314) came with the ocean/beach view, beautifully appointed, and everything we imagined. The grounds are immaculatly maintained, a real old world plantation feel to it. One of the only drawbacks is that the breakfast and lunch menus are set, so if like us you are staying for an extended vacation it can become repetitive .
One oddity that we as all inclusive guests found was the continual and relative signing of beverage and food receipts every time we ordered something... If we are staying as A/I guests why do we need to sign.... We found this very disconcerting. We also found this resort very quiet, as many other reviewers have noted, but we found this to be too quiet for us. If you are looking for a very quiet vacation Coyaba is for you

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is an intimate seaside hideaway directly on a private, calm beach. The resort offers 50 guestrooms, three restaurants, watersports, fitness, tennis, spa services, and the service & quality of a small luxury hotel. All rooms feature A/C, TV & VCR, private balcony, CD-radio, coffeemaker, hairdryer, mahogany furnishings, and choice of king bed or two doubles. Connecting rooms for families and handicap facilities available. Experience true Caribbean hospitality in an elegant beachfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel Montego Bay
Coyaba Beach Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.