We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Coyaba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved Coyaba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just got back from a week at Coyaba and loved it ! Genuinely nice, humourous and good natured staff all over the resort. Gladstone thank you for supplying us with cold Red Stripes and Gin and Tonics. Markey and Dwight thank you for getting the kayaks ready (and the hobie but it got too windy). We enjoyed great food and met some lovely people. We left the resort for one day only and went to Negril which I did not like, although the drive there is interesting. If we had had more energy we would have headed to the Blue Mountains and Ochos Rios but it was so relaxing that we didnt have the oomph to leave the resort. We had a great froom (313) and I would recommend the 3rd floor for the view, the breeze and reduce noise from the pool area (there was not much noise at all actually). There are three restaurants to chose from and we enjoyed lunch at the pool every day (jerk chicken, bbq chicken wings, wraps, salads etc). You also have the option of more formal dinner at the Main Dining room or the Polo Lounge (more relaxed). Coyaba goes out of its way to create a low key, relaxed and welcoming environment with great attention to detail. Not over the top or pretentious. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet get away. Michael in the Spa is an excellent masseuse. Thanks all at Coyaba.

Room Tip: 3rd floor beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    112
    39
    18
    13
See reviews for
83
218
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

went to Coyaba for a quick weekend away this winter and had a lovely time! Small resort, pretty quiet, beautiful setting on the beach. There were a few families with kids, but mostly adult couples. The staff were all incredibly fun and friendly! The food was a 7 out of 10. good but not the best Ive had on vacation. Definitely do the all inclusive route if you go here! The a la carte prices are spendy, but the all inclusive is great!

Room Tip: no elevator, so only pick a higher floor room if you feel like walking up. we chose one on the 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I just came back from my third visit to Coyaba and absolutely loved it. My favourite part about the hotel is the tranquility and the beauty of the grounds. After two weeks there, I feel totally relaxed. A big plus for me was that the wifi connection improved since my last stay and wifi is accessible now around the property and not only in the lobby. The one point which makes Coyaba truly different is their great staff and after a few days they will all know you and your preferences.

I will definately be back to Jamaica and Coyaba!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We just returned from our anniversary trip to our favorite Jamaican resort..
We were warmly welcomed and given cool towels and a delicious rum punch- a wonderful way to begin a relaxing vacation.

We feel that the resort is so special and well loved because of the employees--- those who work behind the scenes in the kitchens, the hard working gardeners,the beach staff, the housekeepers and the many others who do not directly interact with the guests.
Of course, we must also give credit to those with whom we had more frequent interaction:; Richard ,the smiling, friendly, helpful bellman, the front desk staff, and the servers and bartenders. This time we had the usual exemplary service from Gabi and Kamisha, Darlton, Marco and Barbara . We would be remisss in not mentioning the ever present, attentive and friendly Francois, the consumate "face" of Coyaba and manager of this Jamaican " home.".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This piece of paradise has good food and great staff - you are really well taken care off! Small but beautiful property with cozy pool area, hot tub and several restaurants. Not too far to anything. Beautiful room with a great bed - we're picky when it comes to beds. Lots of activities for everyone!

Room Tip: Top floor with ocean view - fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I were looking at a winter vacation in Jamaica and found a Groupon for Coyaba. The online reviews were good so we went for it (all-inclusive package). Boy, was it worth it! The property is small (~50 rooms in 3 buildings), so everything is a 1-2-minute walk away, including the considerable beach. The room was very nice, bed very comfortable. It had a small but adequate fitness center (for me the exercise buff). We were thinking we would get motivated and do a day-trip somewhere, but it was so easy to be lazy that we never did.

Though other aspects were very good, the staff is what made Coyaba stand out. I have some food allergies, so I asked on the first day how to accommodate those. By the next day, all of the servers were aware of my allergies and would volunteer which dishes were appropriate or not for me. By the end of the week, several of the staff knew us by name and knew our favorites (OK, that's not so hard for my wife's unquenchable thirst for diet Coke, but still :) ). Marco was very friendly and helpful, as was Barry. Barbara made an exceptional special drink my wife loved. Gladstone, Ian, and Carlene also gave us wonderful service. Richard was hilarious as a bell-hop. Francois did a little (lot) of everything to keep the show running. We ran into two couples from the US who have been coming here for 11 and 9 years, respectively, mainly because they like the service so much.

The food was excellent; mostly seafood (snapper especially good), but also steaks and pork chops, and several salads that were good when it was hot during the middle of the day.

If you want tons of activities and excitement, this is not the place for you. If you want excellent service, very nice rooms, and lots of sun and relaxation, it's very much worth looking into.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just returned from a five day stay at this lovely small resort. It is exactly what we were looking for in every way. All the staff are friendly and helpful in every area. The beach is not large, but it is very welcoming and not overcrowded. The ample number of beach lounges have large full length cushions on them to make the experience even more pleasant. The walk out peer with wooden chairs to sit on are a bonus touch to add to the relaxing atmoshere of this resort. The pool is on the smaller side, but its location next to the ocean, peer and the nicely appointed bar make it yet another nice place to catch the the holiday vibe. The suite rooms are very nice,large and they do have good size fridges. A person may rent a fridge for 10 dollars a day if they are in a room that does not have one. We chose to have the breakfast plan and we did not have the all inclusive meal plan. The breakfasts are very filling and tasty with multiple options. All the food on the resort is good and well presented. We ate four dinners here, but we did not have lunch. We had snacks and drinks in our room from the nearby grocery store. I would say the whole experience of our stay was very positive and I would not hesitate recommending this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is an intimate seaside hideaway directly on a private, calm beach. The resort offers 50 guestrooms, three restaurants, watersports, fitness, tennis, spa services, and the service & quality of a small luxury hotel. All rooms feature A/C, TV & VCR, private balcony, CD-radio, coffeemaker, hairdryer, mahogany furnishings, and choice of king bed or two doubles. Connecting rooms for families and handicap facilities available. Experience true Caribbean hospitality in an elegant beachfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel Montego Bay
Coyaba Beach Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.