We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience, staff, rooms, beach pool -- all good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, staff, rooms, beach pool -- all good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a great experience here. Our room was upstairs, sea view - could lay in bed and hear the waves hit the beach. The room was big enough for us, very clean and nice bathroom. Good to have the coffee maker in the room, would have been great to have a little fridge. Keeping drinks cold was a bit of a challenge. No meal plan for us due to food allergies - but the breakfasts and a couple of light lunches we had were great. We had a car, so finding food was no problem for us, would have been an issue if we did not have our own vehicle. Guests with all inclusive seemed very pleased. High tea a nice touch. Pool area great. Staff outstanding in every way, including above and beyond assistance with business related needs. Thanks, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    137
    50
    22
    14
See reviews for
95
269
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent five nights here on a Living Social special deal. One of the best things is the 10 min. cab ride instead of the hour and a half bus ride to Ocho Rios. The resort is over 15 yr. old but very well maintained so the age doesn't show. We had an oceanview suite which was very large and clean with no bad smells. There are no elevators so if you hate stairs request a first floor room. The pool and beach are small but they aren't crowded. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Food and drink prices are somewhat steep if you're not on all inclusive. A glass of house wine is $6; breakfast about $18. Tipping is allowed but not expected. As mentioned at check in many guests are European and only agree to the 10% service charge added to all bills. I'd leave a bar tab open all day and when closing it before dinner I'd leave a $5 tip and the bartender seemed most grateful. Food was very good but not outstanding, but at least there are no buffets. The guests are mostly over 50 but there were some younger groups and some families with younger kids. There are few things to do on the grounds but if you just want to lie on the beach, read and drink Pina Coladas it's a great place.

Room Tip: Oceanview in Bldg. 300 is the best. Higher is better but no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel staff are very fake they wear smiles but they try to get money from you every chance they get.
The food is terrible and the drinks are expensive and bad.
I hard some kind of parasite or food poisoning terrible cramps and diarrhea
I was told by a staff member to drink coke and put salt in it 2 glasses a day would help, It did a little but i was in agony.
The beach is extremely windy because of the location you cannot sit or lie on it. The pool is tiny.The gym is like being in a box too cramped!
They tell you to reuse your towel to cut expense to them...... very strange
The Entertainment nights which were rare were really poor
The place is dead at 10pm
What a waste of hard earned money Worst Vacation EVER!!!!!!

Room Tip: No refrigerators or cream for coffee in room . No ice machines Only 1 mobile ice holder for each bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was a nice all inclusive resort on the outer edge of Montego Bay. All of the items you want in a resort are here with a nice Jamaican vibe. They had a nice beach with a few different types of sea toys you can play with. You got to love a place that plays Bob Marley constantly and being that your in Jamaica, all good things will come to you. People are friendly and there are more foreigners here than in Ocho Rios. Only down side to this location, if you want to call it one, is that they only offer the all inclusive meal packages if you stay more than 3 days. If your not on the meal plan, the food is naturally expensive in the resort. There are a few local places to eat maybe 5 blocks away but you have to be willing to leave the resort, Taxi's will drain your wallet very fast and you have to be on guard for over billing. All in all, great for a couple & family who wants lots of pool and beach time without moving around a lot.

Room Tip: If you want a better ocean view then get 2nd or 3rd story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We just spent five days at Coyaba. It's our third visit. First time was our son's wedding -- awesome. Second and third times just for us. We sat on the beach everyday when we weren't in one of the restaurants. The staff here is just awesome! A special shout-out to Gladstone, but every single person is terrific. They even remembered we had been there before. Beautiful beach, beautiful rooms, great food and drink. We will be back again!

Room Tip: Go for an oceanside room and fall asleep to the sounds of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we just returned from the resort. we enjoyed our time at coyaba. know that it is a small intimate resort, very casual with limited activities. the hotel premises are basically shut down by 10pm.

the food is very good, and the staff are very attentive. the watersports staff were great help-esp windsurfing. the yoga classes were good.

I wish they had a few evenings of entertainment -the dinner entertainment -Marlene - would be great for an after dinner event. there was never an issue of waiting for a table or getting a beach chair. I recommend this resort to anyone who likes a peaceful beach holiday.

Room Tip: room 305 & 304 are great rooms- accessible to the beach. AC noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I went on a Living Social voucher and was very pleased. The food was great and the staff very friendly. I loved the special little touches such as the beach bonfire to make smores or the free banana bread left for us as a welcome gift. It's right on the beach which was nice. It is a small beach but calm and quiet which is exactly what I was looking for for the few days I spent there. I would definitely stay here again for a low key vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is an intimate seaside hideaway directly on a private, calm beach. The resort offers 50 guestrooms, three restaurants, watersports, fitness, tennis, spa services, and the service & quality of a small luxury hotel. All rooms feature A/C, TV & VCR, private balcony, CD-radio, coffeemaker, hairdryer, mahogany furnishings, and choice of king bed or two doubles. Connecting rooms for families and handicap facilities available. Experience true Caribbean hospitality in an elegant beachfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel Montego Bay
Coyaba Beach Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.