We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coyaba Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Coyaba Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coyaba Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice quiet resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I went on a Living Social voucher and was very pleased. The food was great and the staff very friendly. I loved the special little touches such as the beach bonfire to make smores or the free banana bread left for us as a welcome gift. It's right on the beach which was nice. It is a small beach but calm and quiet which is exactly what I was looking for for the few days I spent there. I would definitely stay here again for a low key vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    108
    39
    18
    13
See reviews for
83
214
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed two nights at this resort at the end of our trip to Jamaica. This was our third trip to Jamaica. We've traveled to many places in the Caribbean and have stayed in little cheap hotels and fancy five star resorts. We enjoyed our stay at Coyaba. We had a deluxe ocean room which we loved (room 301). It was on the ground level which was great as it was directly across from the pool and had a balcony which we could walk out from to both the pool and the beach. Even on the ground floor we still had a nice view of the ocean. The hotel is small and very quiet. I'd say the average guest was around 40. This would not be my choice for a family/children. Because we stayed only 2 nights, the all inclusive option was not available to us. I think we actually spent less this way, even though the food prices are a little steep. Our room was very nice and large. The bed was on the hard side, however. The food was good (not great), and as I said, a little pricy. The service was good and staff were friendly. We did receive poor service one night in the Polo Grounds but that was simply due to a lack of staff, not a lack of effort. The beach is nice and we never had any problem with finding a lounger/chair. There is a reef about 300 yards out from shore. The water is very shallow in most areas walking out 100 yards or so. No rolling waves, etc. Okay for shallow swimming. We did see some fish, rays and crab in the shallow water. I did notice that beer bottles left by loungers at the beach from the day before were not picked up by the next morning. Speaking of beer, be aware that the bar doesn't open until 11am each day so if you want something before then, you're out of luck (key, it's 5 o'clock somewhere, right?) I'd recommend this resort for a short stay - no more than 3 nights. VERY quiet with not a lot to do. Small property. If you want a quiet place to relax and read by the water - this might be a good pick. As a note, the hotel is only about 10 minutes from the airport. The cab ride is $25(US) from the hotel (very expensive for the short distance). If you're brave you can walk across the street and grab a cab (red license plates) for around 200-300 (JD) each person (about three bucks each person). You'll probably be sharing the ride, however. Although we enjoyed our stay, we'd probably look for a hotel with a better beach and perhaps a little more going on if we returned to the same area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have enjoyed vacations in Aruba and Bermuda in boutique style hotels, but Coyaba is the one to which we have returned 3 times within 13 months.
It may not be for everyone, but it certainy is for us-- the warm welcome and the sincere greetings by management and staff made us feel as though we had come home again. The serenity and peacefullness, the delicious food and drinks,the wonderful staff all combined to provide us with another wonderful vacation
."Once you go- you'll know".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this wonderful place...I was stressing out for months about whether we made the right choice...and once we arrived I realized that I couldn't have wished for a better accommodation. We chose the Oceanfront Suite All Inclusive plan.
STAFF Such wonderful people...whatever we asked for was never a problem. Everyone went out of their way to accommodate our every need...whether it was to charge our Kindle, food choice, tour plans, etc. Everyone was so warm and sincere...special thank you to Gabi, Sonia, Jodi, Miguel and all of the front desk staff. Special thank you to the dining and bartending staff Kay, Barbara, Carlene, Gladstone, Glen, Devon, Marco and everyone else who took such wonderful care of us. Special thank you to the beach staff Markey and Max who saw to it that we were comfortable every day and kept the beach looking so beautiful all the time. Thank you to housekeeping staff for keeping our room so nice and clean as well as the rest of the hotel. Thank you to the gardeners for keeping the grounds so perfect.
FOOD So good every day...especially my Jamaican breakfast. Thank you for preparing my ackee with bacon the way I love it. Breakfast has the same menu everyday but there are so many choices it never gets boring. Same thing with lunch...lots of variety and they will prepare anything to your liking. Dinner was delicous and so pretty on the plate...3 different entree choices each night and a nightly special...soup and appetizer choices. Mostly the same dessert choices each night which were very good...and different choices on theme nights. There is also beautiful music each night at dinner...a trio, a singer, a steel band.
BEACH I thought the beach was absolutely wonderful...don't know why people think the beach is small...I found it to be perfect size for this property. Sand is pretty and white and the sea is a beautiful aqua, clear and calm..not to deep but perfect for a refreshing swim.

In general this was a wonderful place...totally relaxing and stress free leaving you free to do whatever you want without all the loud music, urging to join activities, standing on line for dinner reservations (never have to do this, just show up and get your favorite table) and just look around and enjoy the beauty of Jamaica. I can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: Of course oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a wonderful week at Coyaba in Jamaica! The facilities are incredibly well maintained, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the food is fantastic! Restaurant food is expensive in Jamaica, so spend the extra for all-inclusive so you can enjoy without sticker shock after meals. As everywhere in Jamaica, a few dollars tip here and there will be much appreciated by staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a small, beautiful, intimate property with a friendly staff. While we were there the guests were all couples traveling alone, and the premises were quiet and peaceful (save for a little groundskeeping and traffic noise). The suites are delightfully attractive and comfortable, and the common areas are attractive and mostly well-kept, but amenities are limited, as one might reasonably expect in a small establishment. I found myself having to make local phone calls via Skype, from the stairwell since the wifi didn't extend into our room.

The location is isolated, and anything that is not on the premises is at least an $8 (each way) cab ride away. This might not be an issue at a larger, more self-contained facility, but the restaurant menus are short enough that you may, as we did, want to venture off the property for some meals. (In particular I recommend the jerk stand just down the road, and the spectacular Indian restaurant at a nearby shopping center.) For this reason I would think twice about the all-inclusive package; even though the restaurant a la carte prices are high, we found our spending on meals and drinks to be well less than half the cost of the all-inclusive option.

The management provides complementary special events that are not to be missed; while we were there, a bonfire on the beach was one of the highlights of our stay. The food is adequate and occasionally excellent, and the staff is wonderfully charming when they are not busy, although service in the restaurants seems overworked at times.

All in all, though, it's a gorgeous place to spend three quiet days lying on the beach, and we would return again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor; the rooms are airy and the ceilings are high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderale
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

After a family group vacation at a villa near Trelawny, we ended our week's vacation with 2 nights at Coyaba...our first but not last experience at this small, boutique property in the Ironshore area of Montego Bay. Being from Jamaica and having a friend I regularly stay with in the area, I have always passed by Coyaba and longed to stay here.

The property itself was small and charming. It seemed to be well maintained, and everyone on staff was extremely pleasant. We were in room 314, which is on the 3rd floor of the building overlooking the pool and ocean--perfect location! We did hear the usual noise of other room doors opening/closing and voices here and there by other guests in adjoining rooms, but nothing too intrusive. We didn't choose the all-inclusive meal plan, as we planned to eat off property with friends in the area. However, we did end up eating dinner once on the outdoor terrace overlooking the ocean, and breakfast once in the restaurant adjacent to the main lobby. Meals were very pricey and the menu was limited. However, Mr. Green the restaurant GM made both dining experiences truly delightful. I don't think they get very many locals/Jamaicans staying here, so perhaps that was why we felt treated so special. He recommended a traditional Jamaican breakfast and even brought pear (avacado) for us to enjoy with breakfast from his house as he knew we would love that addition to our meal. He was fabulous. Yes, the pool is small and the beach is narrow. But it's a boutique hotel that to me really caters to adults looking for some quiet R&R. No hoopla, no noise. Just quiet and peaceful. Granted, we were there mid-week during off season, so the property didn't seem very full and we did not see another child at all. Most guests seemed to be in the 30s-60s, so I don't know that I would classify it as a family-oriented place. But they certainly accomodated our 18 month old, and we all enjoyed our stay. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a 3rd floor room with vaulted ceilings...makes it seem much more spacious. Anything in the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coyaba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Beach Resort

Address: A1 | Rose Hall Main Road, Montego Bay 000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coyaba Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Beach Resort is an intimate seaside hideaway directly on a private, calm beach. The resort offers 50 guestrooms, three restaurants, watersports, fitness, tennis, spa services, and the service & quality of a small luxury hotel. All rooms feature A/C, TV & VCR, private balcony, CD-radio, coffeemaker, hairdryer, mahogany furnishings, and choice of king bed or two doubles. Connecting rooms for families and handicap facilities available. Experience true Caribbean hospitality in an elegant beachfront setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Coyaba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Beach Hotel Montego Bay
Coyaba Beach Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyaba Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.