We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
ny
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

I chose this hotel based on the reviews when booking my trip. Rest assure you will not be disappointed. The hotel is only 15 minutes away from the airport, the hip strip and doctors cove beach. We were greeted with tropical drinks and cool face towels immediately after arriving. The hotel is open air amidst a casual, cool, caribbean environment. The rooms are not the fanciest but excellent food, friendly and courteous staff, and well kept grounds makes up for it. The buffet restaurant provided delicious jamaican cuisine daily or american favorites. There's also an asian, italian and caribbean restaurant on premises all inclusive as well. Many activities to chose from. You can lay under a hut on any of the three beaches one au natural or relax at pirates cove where there's plenty of fun and sun. The resort provides a kids club and teen center. A wonderful live band performed every night. There was also a beach party --had some of the best jamaican bar be que I've tasted and a talented steel band. Don't forget those awesome tropical drinks -- they are not watered down. FYI move around to the different bars on the premises -- you will taste the difference. The bars atay open till 2:00am. The resort uses Jamaica's own Appteton Estates Rum which I come to love. There also a disco, casino, hair salon, gym with yoga and pilates classes and spa. Last but not least the entire vibe is complemented by soft, soothing, roots rocking reggae music. I enjoyed it so much that I did not want to leave. Great resort for singles, couples, families, Hint - if you book a tour you will be charged the same price whether 1 person is going or 4 persons going so hook up with others to reduce the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    1,729
    702
    345
    229
See reviews for
1,465
899
75
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We are usually careful in selecting our resorts, reviews were up and down on this one. We are on day 3 of a 8 days stay and we are extremely pleased with the resort. This rates as a 4 stars in our book, its a older venue but very clean, tons to do and the food is among the best we have had in all our travelling.

This is the place if you have kids of any age, from 1 year old to 16, the pools are great, with the Water Park slides, the lazy river and tons of activities including tennis, wind surfing, snorkling right on site etc....

I truly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Our second stay at this resort.
- close to airport - 15 minute drive
- huge resort. Lots to do
- excellent water park with slides and lazy river
- great snorkelling after a bit of a swim
- very friendly staff
- dated but clean rooms
- food was excellent. Lots of variety. Staff is wonderful (Damion, Desrick, Aundrey, Omar, Denise, Carol, Kimberley, Anishka to name a few)
- omellete station and pasta station are great
- amazing desserts
- grounds and gardens are very well maintained. Bertram is great!
- ScotiaBank ATM just outside the resort entrance
- beach is very clean and well maintained
- lots of bathroom facilities
- great spa - wonderful massages
- bars are well placed and very friendly
- loved the Italian and Asian restaurants


Cons
- repair the fountains. There are a number of beautiful fountains on the resort that don't work. These could be fixed quite easily, and should be fixed.
- service degraded noticeably at the end of the week when the resort got busier.
- fix the paddle boats. It's a resort on the Caribbean Sea - there is no excuse for broken water sports equipment
- the 2 hot tubs on the upper levels of the water slide tower are closed. Fix them, or find something other than chunks of unpainted plywood across the entrances.
- resort will not give you $USD for travellers checks. They will give you Jamaican dollars at a very poor exchange rate


Some tips:
- if you take a laptop, buy a security cable with alarm. Then use the cable to secure your laptop and the safe key. I strung the cable through the bed frame and left the laptop under the bed. This way, your laptop is secure, and you don't have to carry the room safe key with you, as they charge $100 for a lost safe key.
- take your own snorkel gear
- best snorkelling is in front of the new Secrets resort. It's a bit of a swim but well worth it
- take a few plastic coat hangers if you plan to dry your wet clothes outside
- don't pay the resort prices for taxi trips (to the hip strip for example). Just outside the entry gate you can get a red license plate cab. A trip to the hip strip costs $10 one way, and the resort price is $40
- buy a weekly wireless internet access pass for $30 it's the best deal
- take $US. Don't bother with Jamaican dollars. Take US cash and lock it in your room safe.
- a short walk to Freeport for shopping if you don't want to take a bus or taxi to the Hip Strip.
- pre-book your return trip from the airport. I recommend JCAL Tours http://www.jcaltours.com/
Courtney was a wonderful driver
They will greet you at the airport with a sign with your name. Very easy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aclarkpalmtree
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

The Sunset Beach Resort is a great destination on a budget. My husband and I wanted to take take our honeymoon a few months after our wedding. We traveled with our great friends whom wanted a destination wedding. When we arrived at the resort we were greeted with drinks from the bar and fast service from the front desk. We had all arranged for upgraded ocean view . When we arrived at our room we noticed its cleanliness and the view was spectacular. The only trouble we had with our room was the hot water. If you take a shower during "prime time", which is first thing in the morning or before dinner hours, there was minimal hot water. As we walked around the resort we were suprised of how welcoming and upbeat the staff was. The beach was very clean and the bartenders are always filling you up. We had a great time at the water park and actually spent every morning going down the two water slides to perk us up. The food was good and the entertainment was decent. Our friends wedding was spectacular, full serviced with a photographer, champagne, and cake with a sit down dinner at the Italian Restaurant. I had a great relaxing vacation all around. I do suggest that if you have a guide through your travel agent, make sure you see that person to book your excursions instead of through the hotel. You will not only get a better rate, but you will also get all your questions answered. I highly recommend this resort as a nice get away at a good price!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed at this hotel with our 13 year old boy, and it was fantastic! The people are amazing. Within 5 minutes of arriving, we had drinks brought to us and cool towels for our faces. The staff are very friendly, and are mindfull of how you are doing. Our son spent long hours in the lazy river and at the water park. There are two slides that are fun, but do hurt the backside (the spaces in between sections of the slide hurts when you go over it). Other than that, no complaints about the water park! The food was very good. There are three restaurants to eat at. We did Italian one night, and it was quite fancy (and very nice!). We opted not to continue doing restaurants because our teen was more set on buffet style and less manner minding. The rooms were much less impressive, but still very clean (but not such a big deal, as we were out most of the day anyways). The air conditioners work very well (we had to turn ours off at some points because it got too cold in the room!).

The hotel does a free photoshoot of you and your family - and I definitely recommend having it done! We have beautiful sunset pictures and they were not too costly (10 dollars per 5 x 7 photo if you buy 5 or more).

There is a craft market at the hotel on Thursdays. I really suggest that you buy most of your gifts at that time. I did the shopping trip into the craft market and the hip strip, and it is unbelievably stressful. The vendors are very pushy, and actually started putting jewellery around my ankles! The stuff is identical - so get a good deal at the craft market at the hotel and you are all set!

For day trips, we did Dunns River Falls, Mystic Mountain and the Chukks Horseback Riding tour. Unfortunately, the resort is about 1.5 hours from Ocho Rios - so it's a long drive if you plan on doing it more than once. We opted to do a Dunns River/Mystic Mountain package for $152/person (US) including transportation. It was well worth it. Mystic mountain has a chair lift that carries you over the rainforest - which is beautiful. You then get to ride down the mountain on a bobsled (which is essentially a one-person rollercoaster)...and finally you get to zip line through the tree tops. We expected the zip lining to be scarier, but it wasn't bad at all (and our teen is terrified of heights!). It was a great experience overall.

Dunns River is a must-do. It is very beautiful. In a nutshell, it is a waterfall with a low slope so that you can climb up to the top. It was a great experience! I recommend bringing a waterproof camera, as you get completely soaked and can't bring along a regular digital. They sell a video of your climb for $40 US, but we were a bit disappointed when we got home a viewed it, as you can't capture any good quality photos off of it - and we enjoy photos more than movies for remember our trips.

The Chukka horseback riding was nice. You get a very long ride (approx 2.5hrs). You go through a small village and then along a small section of waterfront. Finally, they ride you into the ocean on horseback for a short time. It was a good experience overall - $69 US per person.

Some tips: Bring US money, no need to switch to Jamaican currency (We travelled from Canada, and exchanged currency to US as well). Remember to pack dressy clothes for the restaurants if you plan on visiting. The trips that you can plan through the resort and the photos can be paid for with credit, so there is no need to bring tons of cash. You can lock your stuff up in a safe in the room, but we had everything out all week, and no problems (and the safe is only key operated, so you have to keep track of the key). If you lose the key, there is a $150 fine for having to drill open the safe. The beer is good. I personally was into the girly drinks, and found out some good ones near the end of the week. I'll share so that you might be able to enjoy them the whole week....they are 'the hummingbird', the 'dirty banana' and then a strawberry daiquiri with rum. They also have a few computers on site to use internet, and it is only $30 for a week if you want to update family/friends (or $5 per hour). Definitely bring water shoes for the ocean and for Dunns River (they sell for $17 a pair there). Our son stepped on a sea Urchin on our first day there and had to have spines removed from his foot! Also...if you plan on snorkelling a fair bit, I'd bring your own gear. The ones they have are okay, but it's much better with higher end stuff (you can usually pick up a set for around $40 before going).

Overall, it was a great vacation for a great value. We had a lovely time and would definitely visit again! Hope this helps!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

I traveled with family and friends to MTB last week and we stayed at this resort. Being used to Americanized hotels, I wasn't sure what to expect. I was surely NOT disappointed. The rooms are basic, small TV w/cable, 2 beds, bath with shower and tub. You can obtain a lock for the room safe as well. The food at the buffet was GRRREAT!!! We ate in one of the specialty restaurants, Asian, which wasn't really that good, SO WE WENT BACK TO THE BUFFET! The drinks were perfect and there wasn't anytime that someone wasn't checking on us to see how they could make our vacation even better! The daily activities board gave us an idea of what we could do onsite, as well as the concierge staff always being ready to book a tour for us (we took a day trip to Negril to go to Rick's Cafe!) The beach was great as well-nice warm water with plenty of aqua activities available (we did the paddle boats.) For my 1st trip to JA, this was the best place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Excellent food.
drinks tasteful and not watered down.
Clean.
Celebrated moms 80th birthday. Resort has all ages,but thought it is perfect for elderly who are not able to walk long distances.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Address: Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.