We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Jamaica always "no problem mon"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Try The Oasis at Sunset
Ranked #19 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Newmarket, Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Friendly Jamaica always "no problem mon"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

With many trips to the carribean and central America over 40 years it was a pleasure to return to Jamaica for the third time. The Airport is super efficient both coming and going, much nicer than the countries with military, machine guns and dogs. Best of all no "time share hassles". Check in was the usual for an all inclusive. The rooms were renovated like new with all having a good view of the resort & beach. What sets this country apart from many others is the smiling and hard working Jamaican people which makes any holiday more enjoyable. This resort lives up to its 4 star rating, we enjoyed the spare buffet, it always had beef, chicken, pork and fish made up in different ways each day. Reading other negative reviews, do you really expect elephant and ostrich to show on the menu? Breakfast has the best and most entertaining omelet prep centre of any resort, one cook manning 6 pans at once it is a pleasure to watch. The salads and fruit are always fresh, you make up your own plate, from grim experience I know that prepared salads contain yesterdays leftovers and are always a source of food poisoning and should always be avoided. The kids club here is the best I have ever seen, the kids put on a carnival parade complete with a marching band brought in for the occasion marching to where there was another band waiting for them as they competed with each other for the best group presentation, of course the pre schoolers won. Huge entertainment staff made it a pleasure to watch. As a two time Denge Fever sufferer I did not have to worry at this resort, the insect control here is great. Nightly entertainment was above average, Jamaicans know how to put on a good show and did not dissapoint. I am recommending this resort to all who want an easy laid back holiday.

Room Tip: Try to be in the two story section of the resort rather than the high rises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,179
    1,661
    672
    333
    226
See reviews for
1381
867
71
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
la
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a mini family reunion at Sunset Beach and it was a blast. The hotel caters to families and kids are able to play freely and pool with two amazing slides and lazy river was fun for all. Will be returning in June for more family fun.

The hotel has done some refurbishing of their rooms, which is nice, stayed in the bay view rooms which were nice, but sometimes the elevators did not work, so that was a bit of an inconvenience, this trip we will be staying in the water park rooms.

The food was great very authentic Jamaican food and lots of it, their salads were spectacular and the desserts were wonderful.

Nightly entertainment needs some improvement. Overall this is a great hotel, a home away from home kind of a place and if you are looking for the true Jamaican experience then this is your place.

Room Tip: Water park rooms are the best or the Cabanas, not elevators needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here with a group of 19 friends. I travel throughout the world often. I've stayed at the best of the best hotels to those that are mediocre. I was skeptical at first due to the reviews, but I can honestly say I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean, open and inviting. The food and entertainment was good. The drinks were great. The staff was nice and pleasant. Yes, the hotel may need some fresh paint in areas, but unless you plan on spending your entire vacation in the hotel elevator or in the stairwell (which is where some paint improvements are needed) then you'll be good.

Our check in was fast since we came as a group. Even when some rooms weren't available a few of us got our rooms upgraded. I was disappointed with the shopping tour though. We asked if it would go to the shops at Rose Hall (because we were looking for a specific Movado watch which was only sold over there) and we were told yes. However, the shopping tour didn't go there. We were taken only to stores that they had pre-negotiated with. We did get good deals on some souvenirs, but be honest with your customers.

Vacations are what you make of it. For many of the ladies traveling, this was their first time to Jamaica and they enjoyed themselves. So, if you're looking for a cost effective, clean, safe and fun vacation then stay here.

Room Tip: I stayed in B104 and the young lady who was my housekeeper was great. I was offered to change rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed there with 3 kids, kids enjoyed a lot water park, it's great, also 7-year old loved their kids club, he spend there a lot of time, they did a lot of gaming, playing outside and he loved it; Rooms very standard nothing special about it, the only thing I didn't like that rooms don't have refrigirator and there is no bottled water provided in the rooms; so at night if you want to drink something you have to get something from the bar and keep it in your room; Staff in resort amazing, very friendly, trying to accomodate everything we asked for; Gym is very old and not enough equipment for everyone to accomodate; Beach has a lot of weeds, not very clean, I was kind of disappointed about it. Nice pools, one has bar inside; There is a lot of different kind of activities throught resort like zumba, snorkling, night entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Food not healthy, nothing for vegetarians, very limited in variety and make sure come early otherwise will have leftovers....if any...no good bakery,cheese only American come on and no bananas!!!
Had to take my son to the doctor, was ok, but took 4 requests/days and complain to the customer services manager to get a doctor's note.
Resort has many stray cats on premises and with so many kids it is not safe, I felt very uncomfortable seeing cats sitting on beach chairs next to the dinning area.
On a good note, water sports and people great...take Caribbean airlines to safe almost days.
Internet is only in the lobby and cost $30 for a week, not sure about speed.

Room Tip: Tower B quieter and pref if travelling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Please note that my fiance and I traveled here with another couple and there 9 year old son. We were originally supposed to be in ocho rios at the sunset jamaica grande however, Delta vacations (I would advise against booking with delta vacations) called us 5 days prior to take off and stated that they overbooked the jamaica grande and that they were sending us to sunset beach. Although we traveled from March 28, 2013- April 6, 2013 and booked in august 2012. They reimbursed us some of our money because of the relocation. I was not upset but the other coupled had been to this resort in the past and wanted to try something new.

Now on to the resort. Overall a nice place to stay. First impressions were great, beautiful open lobby area and view of the mountains. Check in was a breeze and only took 15 minutes and rooms were ready. The outside of the hotel could use a coat of paint. Rooms were nice. We had ocean view in tower A. The walls are thin so do not plan on getting to bed early if your neighbor stays out late to party or in our case 3 children in the next room constantly fighting and screaming. Beds were not the most comfy but did the job. AC unit on the wall worked well but some nights it would drip constantly. Tower A is above the nightly entertainment so it is loud until 10-11 pm did not bother us as we watched most of the entertainment.

The beaches were not as clean as I thought they would be. Beaches are stoney so bring sandals or water shoes, There are sea urchins everywhere in the water be carful when swimming. There are some sandy swimming spots but must of the swimming areas have seaweed. The worst part about the beached was the trash. There were straws and straw wrappers in the beach and water. Cups laying on the beach and water. Sometimes a staff member would clean up the beach but not often. Some guests were disrespectful and just through their trash on the beach. Beautiful beach views on mo-bay. Snorkeling was great right from the beach. I advise guided tour with the staff which is included. There is a reef out about 50 yards and is one the best reefs I have seen. We seen jelly fish, puffer fish, sea urchins, snapper, reef fish and star fish.

Pools are nice as well but do get dirty fast i.e. straws and wrappers and cups and sand. The children's play area was a joke. Nothing like they claim on the website. The area is run down, dirty. The hot tub does not work and is filled with trash, lazy river does not have jets, trash in the area, watersides hurt the back and are on uneven. The fountains in the play area do not work.

beer and liqueur was good, did not have to wait long to get drinks, Food was excellent at buffet and restaurants, entertainment at night was very nice. Be careful of the cups as most are not clean. I solved this problem by keeping one cup every time. I had dirty wrappers in cups and lipstick. Staff are overall friendly.

The gym needs work. There are missing dumbbells and loose dumbbells. Two treadmills work, although one is stuck on an incline. The gym works but not my idea of an resort gym.

Overall, okay resort, I wouldn't go back if I had to pay full price. I would not go with just myself and fiance. If there was just some simple upkeep like taking care of the children's area and picking up the trash it would be a great resort.

Room Tip: Rooms in tower A ocean front will be noisy until 10-11pm due to nightly entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our second time at Sunset Beach and we had another great time! We traveled with nine people between the ages of 3-70 and there is something for everyone. One of the best things about this hotel is the friendly staff. I travel a lot and this is by far one of the nicest group of hotel employees that you will find. Another great thing is that the entertainment starts at 7:30 and there are several things that go on until later in the evening. As someone with a 3 year old, I loved that b/c we could have dinner and watch or listen to some music for awhile before heading in for the evening. We also requested a quiet room and couldn't hear anything during our early bedtime and nap time. One night there was an amazing steel drum band! One of the best shows I have ever seen on vacation. The rooms are old, but accommodating. The pools are great. We loved the lazy river. The food is good - easy to find healthy options and enough variety for the week. Most people I met seemed to be having a good time. There were a few people that I heard complaining about everything, but they are probably the type who will complain about everything anywhere. Do your research, read the reviews, look at pictures and don't be looking for the Ritz Carlton. However, if you are looking for a friendly, laid back place to relax and have fun.... this is definitely the place!!!! We will definitely be back. Thanks Sunset Beach!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Address: Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.