We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice value resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for a week. Check-in was efficient and pleasant. Rooms are plain but comfortable. The resort itself is tired as has been around for a long time but it is well kept and clean. Was surprised with the quality of food for level of resort, variety was extraordinary and the Jerk chicken was unbelievable. Staff quality is mixed as some were great, others did their job and a couple were surly. Waterpark is a great attraction for the kids though could use a bit of sprucing up. My son loved the waterslides and lazy river. Lots of activities and something always going on. Tennis courts are in good shape, one basketball hoop. Table tennis tables need to be better situated out of traffice and drinking games kept off as tables are deteriorating. Entertainment is ok, sound system is awful. Lobby is spacious and comfortable.Beach is ok, water is good. Kayaks and the like are good though the staff try to talk you of taking them out near closing. Some snorkeling where you will see a few fish. Location is not ideal for going off the grounds for a walk. We would return.

Room Tip: Get high floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    1,883
    763
    371
    247
See reviews for
1,676
1,002
82
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My 2 kids ages 23 and 17 and I travelled to this resort the week of February 19th.
We arrived at 11pm, check-in at the resort was very fast and we were shown to our room by a very friendly porter. Once we ditched our luggage we headed to find something to eat since Westjet stopped providing paid meals during the flight and we were starving.

The clerk at the front desk pointed us in the direction of the snack bar which she said served food till the wee hours. We saw the menu posted on the wall and quickly ordered jerk chicken to which the server responded:” read the menu again, jerk chicken is only available till 4pm”. That comment which we actually laughed at was the only individual who was nasty (and he wasn’t being funny either, he was angry that we didn’t read the menu properly).

Every staff member we encountered was funny, helpful, friendly and very accommodating. We had delicious meals at the 3 al la carte restaurants, our favorite being the Asian. The service at the Asian restaurant was impeccable and I am sorry I did not get the young man’s name who served us…he was so professional and courteous, both my kids commented on how super he was. We left him a generous tip as he exceeded in all aspects.

The buffet had good food; you will not go hungry at this resort. Lots to choose from. And every day at the snack bar you can get very spicy and flavorful jerk chicken, served from noon – 4pm…some days my kids had this 3 times in the 4 hr window that it was available.

The resort is large, very clean and beautiful. Our room was very large with super cold air from the air conditioner. I phoned the front desk for extra towels and 2 more blankets and they were delivered within 30 mins, great service. The beds were super comfy, our room overlooked the harbour so we saw 3 cruise ships come in plus the USA navy ship was in port for 3 days. We were in the b wing, 7th floor, and great view from our balcony with morning sun so each morning our towels and bathing suits were very dry.

I found the drinks were very strong and generous in the booze, sometimes too generous in that it destroyed the drink. I started asking for small amounts of booze but old habits are hard to break I guess b/c the pouring was still heavy handed. Kind of a waste as I could not drink some of them. So then we tried getting just shots in a glass and then glasses of mix so we could make our own…a little hard to carry when you are going up to the bar for 3 people.
Wine is available, both red and white. The white was hit and miss. Some nights it tasted off, like it was going bad other nights it was ok.

The pool areas were not cleaned as well as they could be, still saw lots of sand in them 1st thing in the morning. They open each day at 10am. I found the kids pool area with the waterslides an interesting place, young kids loved it and I even saw a few much older kids/parents using the slides. I am afraid of waterslides but I climbed to the top just to get the magnificent ocean view, and then walked back down. There is a huge problem with people leaving a towel across 2 or 3 sun beds saving them for hours at a time when they are nowhere to be found. I find this very rude and annoying. I have never encountered this before.

I wasn’t happy with the nighttime entertainment; it was very much catered towards young children. There are 4 beautiful pools here which could have been used for a wonderful pool show at night, disappointed this wasn’t done. There was bingo one night…at a cost of $5 a book, not acceptable to me to pay for this activity not to mention kind of lame. I wanted music and a show, didn’t seem to be available. There was karaoke one night which was actually well done; some of the talent in the crowd was impressive.
They also had a fire on the beach one evening; it was ok, nothing special.

During the day, you can use the pedal boats and kayaks, they are all in great condition but you have a limited area in which to use them.
We did not take any tours, found them very pricey. All in all, a good value for the money that we paid. Good food, beach, sun and pool…just what we wanted.
We found the staff were quite warm, some of the reviews on this site are very picky and downright mean. Some individuals have huge expectations and many of them seem unrealistic to me.

Our flight home was a little hairy due to the snowstorm in Toronto. The pilot tried to land 3 times but was unable to so we had to divert to Montreal. Once we landed at 1am, we had to go to the Westjet booth to get hotel and food vouchers which Westjet graciously gave to us.
We arrived at our hotel at 3am with instructions to call into Westjet starting at 10am to make reservations for a flight back to Toronto. I actually was on the phone at 7am, was not going to wait till 10am.
I must say I found Westjet super accommodating, every person I talked to was polite and understanding of our situation. I was on hold for an hour and a half to secure a flight which was a pain but understandable considering every other person on that flight was doing the same.
The Quality Inn in Montreal was the hotel that we were given vouchers for. We were grateful to get this but not happy with the service provided by hotel staff. The hotel staff were rude and posting conflicting information in their lobby to Westjet customers.
I had permission from Westjet to stay at the hotel till 5pm since we had a 7.15pm flight but they kicked us out at 2pm since I refused to pay dayservice for the room. I was told by the hotel that I really should have checked out at noon. The waiter in the hotel restaurant was arrogant and reminded me when paying the bill that his tip was not included in the food voucher that I gave him. My son wanted to take the tip off the table that I had left for him as he felt that was a rude comment. (but we didn’t).
We feel we had great service from Westjet and they deserve our thanks.

Room Tip: we had 7th floor, B wing...great view of harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved it. Exceeded expectations. I read the reviews and I saw that it said the waterpark was lazy. But it looked pretty awesome to me. Sorry I didn't write much but I'm almost out of batteries.I wish I could have stayed more than 9 days. If you're looking for a family friendly hotel with great servuniverses rear food, this is the place for you. The value is probably $100,000,000. I loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I got married at the Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay 2/16/13. The entire experience was outstanding from gracious and attentive staff, great food and entertainment, beautiful rooms and spectacular grounds! A special shout out to wedding planner Tanesha Clarke who made my wedding day such a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were here for a week before the Christmas. We booked it via Delta Vacation. It's definitely worth the money we paid, considering everything was included, room and all 3 meals, drinks, entertainment, etc. Although it's stated that tips were also included, we still left tips when we ate at the three sit-down restaurants. I tried one day to leave tip in the room for the housekeeping but they didn't take the money. Beach was kept fairly clean and the ocean was very clean. Room condition was so-so - they definitely need updates but they were clean. The 'waterpark' was just a couple of water slides but enough to keep the kids entertained when they were tired of the beach. There were also several hotel pools for you to relax and enjoy.

The hotel entertainment team was doing a great job trying to keep people 'entertained'. Every evening there were different activities for people of all ages. Every employee is polite and ready to serve. Food was better than I expected, including buffet and sit-down reastaurants. Of course after a few days you get tired of the food. The hotel also allowed some local vendors to sell arts and crafts on premise. You can also take the free hotel shuttle to go downtown to do the souvenir shopping. Price is negotiable adn you need to bargain to get a good price. A lot of the souvenir shops in the city are owned by Indians (Asia India) where you may or may not get a good deal. You can find the best deal in the local crafts market where local Jamaicans sell their artwork. One week was long enough for us. At the end of the week we felt ready to leave.

One caveat here:don't pack anything valuable in your suitcases. I found my $150 CoCo Chanel perfume gone the 2nd day I arrive at the hotel. I was not sure if it was lost in the airport or in the hotel. I am guessing it might be the former.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My cousin and I stayed here Feb 17-24 and had an amazing time. The staff are very friendly, the food was awesome and the resort was huge. The only downfall was the beach....not the greatest but decent. Anyway, we highly recommend this place. It's a pretty good mix of travellers too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

What can I say.... it was Heaven.
We travelled as a party of 5. As soon as we landed at the hotel I felt like I was in Heaven. I work long hours all year and to arrive here, I instantly felt relxed and in paradise and was handed a beer as soon as I arrived.

We travelled in April 2012 for 2 weeks. Me and my partner had our wedding here whilst there and all I can say was it was out of this world. We had nothing to worry about. A small problem at the start before but the hotel where hot on it to resolve it.

As UK travellers it was perfect for us. You can read all the US reviews but I feel they have too high exspectations. This is perfect for the price and star rating.

DRINKS - 9/10 plenty on tap to enjoy and not shy of measures

FOOD - 8/10 Loads to choose from but buffett can get a little repetitive some times but there are 4 other resturants to choose from.

ROOMS - 7/10 A little dates but kept very clean and tidy. AC is perfect and just what you need to cool down after a hot day.

BEACH - 8/10 Not a long beach but its clean, clear water and perfect to relax on.

POOLS - 9/10 Top pools for all ages. The kids pool was my fav.

ENTERTAINMENT - 7/10 was not perfect and didnt always last all night but after a long hot day all you want is you bed. Plus the bars are open all night.

OVERALL - 8/10 Would go back tommrrow...... Best holiday we have had, plus we got married here. Very happy memories. Sunset Beach you will always be in out hearts xxx


TOP TIP - Try and book a beach front room or a room facing the sea. The Views are wonderful.

Cheers

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
The Oasis at Sunset, Montego Bay
9.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
#25 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
5.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 stars 4,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Address: Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.