We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in the universe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Getaway Savings
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place in the universe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Loved it. Exceeded expectations. I read the reviews and I saw that it said the waterpark was lazy. But it looked pretty awesome to me. Sorry I didn't write much but I'm almost out of batteries.I wish I could have stayed more than 9 days. If you're looking for a family friendly hotel with great servuniverses rear food, this is the place for you. The value is probably $100,000,000. I loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    1,711
    697
    344
    228
See reviews for
1,454
892
75
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I got married at the Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay 2/16/13. The entire experience was outstanding from gracious and attentive staff, great food and entertainment, beautiful rooms and spectacular grounds! A special shout out to wedding planner Tanesha Clarke who made my wedding day such a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were here for a week before the Christmas. We booked it via Delta Vacation. It's definitely worth the money we paid, considering everything was included, room and all 3 meals, drinks, entertainment, etc. Although it's stated that tips were also included, we still left tips when we ate at the three sit-down restaurants. I tried one day to leave tip in the room for the housekeeping but they didn't take the money. Beach was kept fairly clean and the ocean was very clean. Room condition was so-so - they definitely need updates but they were clean. The 'waterpark' was just a couple of water slides but enough to keep the kids entertained when they were tired of the beach. There were also several hotel pools for you to relax and enjoy.

The hotel entertainment team was doing a great job trying to keep people 'entertained'. Every evening there were different activities for people of all ages. Every employee is polite and ready to serve. Food was better than I expected, including buffet and sit-down reastaurants. Of course after a few days you get tired of the food. The hotel also allowed some local vendors to sell arts and crafts on premise. You can also take the free hotel shuttle to go downtown to do the souvenir shopping. Price is negotiable adn you need to bargain to get a good price. A lot of the souvenir shops in the city are owned by Indians (Asia India) where you may or may not get a good deal. You can find the best deal in the local crafts market where local Jamaicans sell their artwork. One week was long enough for us. At the end of the week we felt ready to leave.

One caveat here:don't pack anything valuable in your suitcases. I found my $150 CoCo Chanel perfume gone the 2nd day I arrive at the hotel. I was not sure if it was lost in the airport or in the hotel. I am guessing it might be the former.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My cousin and I stayed here Feb 17-24 and had an amazing time. The staff are very friendly, the food was awesome and the resort was huge. The only downfall was the beach....not the greatest but decent. Anyway, we highly recommend this place. It's a pretty good mix of travellers too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

What can I say.... it was Heaven.
We travelled as a party of 5. As soon as we landed at the hotel I felt like I was in Heaven. I work long hours all year and to arrive here, I instantly felt relxed and in paradise and was handed a beer as soon as I arrived.

We travelled in April 2012 for 2 weeks. Me and my partner had our wedding here whilst there and all I can say was it was out of this world. We had nothing to worry about. A small problem at the start before but the hotel where hot on it to resolve it.

As UK travellers it was perfect for us. You can read all the US reviews but I feel they have too high exspectations. This is perfect for the price and star rating.

DRINKS - 9/10 plenty on tap to enjoy and not shy of measures

FOOD - 8/10 Loads to choose from but buffett can get a little repetitive some times but there are 4 other resturants to choose from.

ROOMS - 7/10 A little dates but kept very clean and tidy. AC is perfect and just what you need to cool down after a hot day.

BEACH - 8/10 Not a long beach but its clean, clear water and perfect to relax on.

POOLS - 9/10 Top pools for all ages. The kids pool was my fav.

ENTERTAINMENT - 7/10 was not perfect and didnt always last all night but after a long hot day all you want is you bed. Plus the bars are open all night.

OVERALL - 8/10 Would go back tommrrow...... Best holiday we have had, plus we got married here. Very happy memories. Sunset Beach you will always be in out hearts xxx


TOP TIP - Try and book a beach front room or a room facing the sea. The Views are wonderful.

Cheers

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at The Sunset beach Resort from 3-1-13 till 3-11-13 and I had a great time. The Resort is the right size so your not walking all over the place to find things.The beaches were gorgeous and the water warm and inviting. The buffet was exactly like all the other all inclusives a little bit of the Native style food along with a Pasta station and salad bars. The Bars served cool drinks, try a Dirty Banana and a Miami Vice YUM. I paid for an upgrade and stayed in the Beach front Cabana . Worth every penny. I walked right out of my room onto sand with the Ocean a few steps away. Way better than taking an elevator up to your room. The Jamaican people are really kind, soulful and Intelligent Take the time and get to know the Tour guides they are full of wonderful Historic information . The local crafters in town can be pushy but a simple I'm good is the correct answer to give when saying no. One thing that i felt a little uncomfortable with was the number of feral cats on the property of the resort. I must have seen more than a dozen walking all over the place. They stalk out the buffet at night and hang around the kids pool. I'm just saying..The staff was great and helpful always. Overall a good choice.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Beach Front Cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews, I formed the impression that this resort was a very good "value resort"......I was wrong.
the resort was excellent..The people was friendly, always asking if you were having a good time. Even the life guards at the kids pools were animated, always engaging with the kids. The food was very good. Excellent jerk, and the Chinese food was awesome. The resort was extremely clean, everywhere you go, you would see someone cleaning, painting, raking....the bathrooms were very clean as well. I observed the staff, always washing their hands, and some were wearing gloves. I would highly recommend this resort, and I look forward to going back next year.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Address: Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.