We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just got engaged at Sunset Beach Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Kids Stay Free in May !
Ranked #21 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just got engaged at Sunset Beach Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Jamaica was my first trip out of the US. I am 35 so my boyfriend(now fiance)and I decided we would try this resort. We stayed for 6 days. The price was pretty low so we didnt go into the resort having super high expectations. Having read previous reviews and knowing that it wasnt a 5 star resort, we were hesititate. We had a few hiccups when we first checked in- our room wasnt ready so we had to wait for almost 4 hours. Thank god for beach and endless pina colada's with Jamaican Rum! We booked our vacation on expedia 3 months before our trip and we got an ocean view room-(absolutely gorgeous view of the ocean - worth the extra charge) you can see what they call: Bioluminescent phytoplankton light up in the ocean at night- you can see it from the balcony. We were in awe. Amazing to watch! Google it and you will see what im talking about. Regarding our room: we had a 2 queen beds for 1 night but the staff made a quick adjustment and set us up in a great King size room for the rest of our trip. The hotel itself is a bit outdated. The rooms are simple and very well kept for being older. Most of the staff was accommidating and very friendly. The food was ok. Omelette and Pasta Station were worth the wait, so good!. No room service available. If you are expecting seafood, this resort is not for you. We had to go outside the resort to get fresh Lobster. The Sea Horse Yatch Club was within walking distance so it was close so that was cool. The beach had amazingly beautiful spots and many trashy unkept spots. Over all, it wasnt to bad, but i have seen better beaches. The ocean is gorgeous just very rocky in some spots and yes, lots of seaweed. We didnt snorkle but we did see some beautuful fish just looking out in the coral off the piers. It was different not being able to walk and walk and walk on the beach like you can in the US. I felt like this place was nice and great for families but not a good place for a couple trying to spoil themselves and be romantic. We got engaged at sunset while sitting on the pier, it was an amazing moment, so for the rest of my trip i was in awe.. nothing could have made me upset after my boyfriend proposed. We did have a couples massage, and it was very pleasant. However, they did it at the Gazebo right on the beach- right in front of everyone who was at that part of the beach (very busy area). Made us feel abit strange.
We will be going back to Jamaica. We loved the people and all vibe.. but we will probably not be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front View is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear IndyCouple77,

Congratulations on your engagement! We are delighted to be a part of such a awesome and memorable occasion.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark. We appreciate the positive highlights and will be sure to share your comments with our team members. We have noted your suggestions for improvement and will be sure to address these to improve our overall guest satisfaction.

We really are disappointed that your experience was not all that it could have been and hope that you will return to visit us again and allow us the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

We wish you all the very best and look forward to welcoming you again to Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark.

At Your Service,
-Natalie Boreland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,943 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,115
    1,620
    660
    328
    220
See reviews for
1323
833
70
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived Dec 29th on my son's 8th birthday and regrettably checked out Jan 5th 2013. The resort was awesome and the staff went above and beyond to make my son's first trip out of the US and his bday so special. He loved the kids club and the young lady that baby sat him while my husband and I went out to party. We had a wonderful time with the kid friendly atmosphere. However, my husband and I still had time for romance. The spa left much to be desired. I suggest getting mani/pedis before you arrive. The massage was just okay. I would avoid the tours especially any tour that mentions shopping. The Blue Diamond shopping mall is ridiculous and a part of just about every excursion. If you need a driver to explore the island, I highly recommend that you ask for Whitey. He was knowledgeable, trust worthy and interesting. He looks like Morgan Freeman in "Lean On Me":-) he has a great attitude and we felt safe traveling with him. I envy anyone on their way. We will go back the same time next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Jade L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark.

We appreciate hearing the positive highlights of your stay and we are also very happy to know that you will be returning.

We regret that your experience at the Spa was not all that it could have been and we have discussed your comments with our Spa Team. We certainly hope to surpass your expectations on your next visit.

Our management and staff are committed to providing a uniquely Jamaican 5-Star service experience to all our guests. Once again, thank you for choosing Sunset Beach, Spa & Waterpark. We are always for everyone…uniquely Jamaican.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again to your “home away from home” in Jamaica.

At Your Service
-Natalie Boreland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaforth, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned a few days ago and wish I was still there. The staff at this resort was exceptional, always there to answer any questions about the hotel, activitys, culture and made you feel at home. The bartenders know how to mix a good drink and did an excellent job. The night shift cleaners also did a great job, every morning you would wake up to clean floors,pools and beaches(which were raked daily). I would personally like to thank everyone at sunset for their excellent hospitality. Remember if you think the world revolves around you,your likely better off at a 5+ star resort so they can cater to your every need because you are so special. What a great family or couple resort. RESPECT!!!!!!! Stu.

Room Tip: Get a high floor, quieter and beautiful views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent the week of January 6-13th at Sunset Beach and Loved it ! The resort never seemed crowded because of the many swimming and sunbathing area options, at times it felt like our private beach.. The food was always good especially the Asian restaurant was our favorite, we couldn't get enough of the jerk chicken either. The staff went above and beyond for you and really made the stay seem extra special ! They worked hard at special theme dinners and the entertainment was great every night of the week .. We took our two college kids and they loved it too because their were always options from the disco, or Pier 1 or margaritaville bus trips leaving at 11 pm from the resort. The rooms could use some updating and repairs but they were clean and you spent so little time there anyway. As a side trip we did the Martha brae bamboo rafting tour and we had a blast, we got lucky and had an awesome guide named Dailey who shared so much knowledge of the Jamaican culture with us and took his time to explain the different habitat. We also did the 3 hour city tour with Damion who was outstanding ! We all fell in love with MOBAY and can't wait to go back..

Room Tip: I put the rooms at average because they could use some updates and repairs.. we had to change rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear 771ann,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Waterpark. We are proud to be uniquely Jamaican, always for everyone.

Thank you for highlighting the many positive aspects of your stay that you enjoyed most – the food, the entertainment, the activities and the swimming options. Our team is always engaged in working to improve the overall guest experience to provide a quality 3-star service. Your endorsement was heartwarming and we will be sure to share with our team members.

Thank you for making it Jamaica and for choosing Sunset Beach Resort, Spa and Waterpark where we want our guests to stay as friends and return as family.

We look forward to welcoming you to your new “home away from home” soon.

At your service
-Natalie Boreland, Compliance Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just returned from Sunset in MoBay and our family (husband, myself and 2 boys ages 13 and 8) loved it. The beach was great, staff friendly, room was clean, quiet and the AC was working very well. We stayed in Tower A on 10th floor - no noise complaints at all, but would not recommend below 6th floor as you can hear the disco / entertainment at night. Housekeeping was accommodating if you needed more towels, blankets etc.
Excursion desk extremely helpful, especially Patricia. Front desk not so friendly, but OK.
In BananaWalk buffet we loved having Omar every morning, he was great with kids.
Only thing we really disliked was the Al-A-Carts. They were gross and sub-par and I recommend sticking with buffet although by day 7 you can get a bit weary of it.
Kids loved the pool, water slides and Kelly's scuba diving, snorkelling and glass bottom boat rides. We did plenty of free snorkelling also.
Evening entertainment was great for kids, not so much for adults, but that is not why we choose Sunset...for the kids! Loved the different dinner locations and the BBQ, steel band and acrobatic show.
For our first all-inclusive vacation we really liked it and will be returning (as soon as we save up again) in 2014 I hope! Definitely not a 5 star, but great family-centred resort.
Highly recommended for families!

Room Tip: Bayview, Tower A, the higher the floor the less night noise from entertainment and disco. We had 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Lifemoms,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our resort.

We appreciate that you took the time out to highlight the many positive aspects of your stay with us, such as our Watersports activities including those offered by Kelly’s Watersports on property which is fast becoming a well-known “best kept secret”!!!

We will be sure to let Patricia at our Guests Services/Tour Desk and Omar in the Banana Walk Restaurant know that their interaction with your family was recognized. This means a lot to us.

Our management and staff are committed to providing a uniquely Jamaican 5-star service experience that guarantees that our guest will always want to return. We will continue to be creative in presenting healthy and nutritious menu options to satisfy the palate of all our very discerning guests who all have varied culinary expectations.

Once again, thank you for choosing Sunset Beach, where we want our guests to stay as friends and return as family.

We look forward to welcoming you to your new “home away from home” in 2014 if not before.

At your service
-Natalie Boreland, Compliance Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were at Sunset Beach Christmas Day through to New Years Day. This was the first time to this resort and the first time for me to Jamaica. We had two rooms that were ajoined in the East wing of the resort. We very much enjoyed where our rooms were, as they weren't near the loud part of the resort, you were close to good beach area and you had the beautiful green courtyard right outside your balcony. We ate at the Italian and Asian a la carte's and really enjoyed the Asian. We weren't overly impressed with the Italian, but it wasn't bad. The buffet always had great options for supper, even if the lunch menu was boring by the end of the week. The entertainment was great and we loved it all, especially the New Years Eve party. The staff was great and we really liked our cleaning lady! The beach isn't perfect, definitely bring water shoes, but it was very nice. The area by the beach bar is the best to swim in and the rest of it is perfect for snorkeling! The loungers on the beach don't fill up too fast, which was very nice. The resort definitely has a family vibe to it. Overall, I was quite impressed and would definitely recommend the resort to any family but I probably would chose somewhere else to go if I was going with just a bunch of mid 20's friends!

Room Tip: The rooms in the two level areas, away from the main towers of the resort, are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Jazzyo,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Sunset Beach. We are proud to be uniquely Jamaican, always for everyone.

Thank you for highlighting the many positive aspects of your stay with us. Our team is always engaged in working to improve the overall guest experience to provide a quality 3-star service.

We are very pleased with the fact that we have perhaps, the best snorkeling site in the area and are happy to hear that you found it perfect!

Thank you for making it Jamaica and for choosing Sunset Beach, where we want our guests to stay as friends and return as family.

At your service
- Natalie Boreland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I wouldn't say it was an outstanding experience but it was definitely worth the $909 all inclusive deal from redtag.ca ... The view wasn't so pleasant but we were rarely in our rooms unless we had to change/shower/sleep.

Try to book your excursions outside of the resort if you're on a budget. We booked our excursion with Barett Adventures with an awesome tour guide named Luxley and the time and money spent was definitely worth it.

Cabs from the hotel are also decent priced. Just make sure to BARGAIN...even for the "good stuff" always BARGAIN! There's a bus at 11pm every night that takes you to the night clubs: Pier 1 and Margarita Ville (there's a water slide there so wear some swimwear during the day)

Other than that. The beachfront is awesome...the pools are awesome...the water park was AWESOME!! Definitely a family-friendly and/or couples' resorts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Manager at Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Mamamiah89,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
It is always our intention to have our guests enjoy a uniquely Jamaican 5-star service that guarantees that they will return for a future stay with us and we certainly appreciate your AWESOME endorsements.

We are however disappointed that your experience was not all that it could have been so you could say that your experience was an outstanding one. Please know that we take the safety and security of our guests and staff very seriously and so, all our taxi operators that are located on property have been vetted to ensure that they have all the required licences and certification in place to cover any eventualities. We cannot say the same for what is offered elsewhere.

Again, we thank you wholeheartedly for recommending us as good value for a family-friendly and/or couples vacation and hope that you will visit us again and allow us the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

At Your Service,
-Natalie Boreland, Compliance Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Resort Spa
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Address: Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.