We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Beach Resort and Spa Montego Bay Jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sunset Beach Resort and Spa Montego Bay Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I just had a trip here December 15th to the 22nd at Sunset Beach Resort and Spa in Montego Bay, Jamaica with my boyfriend. It was an incredible experience, the resort was fantastic. I have no complaints at all. The food was great in all 3 A La Carte restaurants, I suggest you try them all. It was also good in the buffet, breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was a good variety of food and the beach grill was delicious also...had the best jerk chicken and nachos & cheese!! Entertainment was fantastic, always something going on at the entertainment pool or around the hotel. The night entertainment was great also. Drinks were good and strong! Had some great bartenders, i'd have to say Wendy at the pool swim up bar was the most incredible one. Staff and locals were lovely, all so friendly. The room was nice, we got upgraded to an ocean front on the 9th floor in tower A which is for new guests.Just make sure you keep your air conditioning running, as it does get humid...obviously though you're in Jamaica!! Fantastic Resort, would come back and am planning to come back next year! Very good for families and for couples looking to have a good time. Participate in the competitions and entertainment, it is a lot of fun. Very good resort to stay it, very entertaining, amazing staff, incredible time! Well worth every penny!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed pretty decent but i'd go for an Ocean Front Room or a Bay View Room on an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    1,810
    730
    360
    239
See reviews for
1,563
961
76
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sunset Beach Resort the week before christmas and it was a perfect vacation. We took our four boys, ages 7-12, and it was the best vacation we have had to date. This was our first all inclusive vacation- usually we go on cruises. All 6 of us voted this as better than the cruises.
The resort was perfect for our family. We never had to hunt for a beach or pool chair (like on the cruises). The resort was full but it was never crowded. At times me and my boys had our own area of the beach with no one else around. The boys played football constantly and we didn't have to worry about them running into people or hitting anyone with the ball.
The food: we loved the buffet! We thought it was better than the cruise buffets (but not better than the cruise dining room food). The food tasted so fresh- the chicken was awesome every night. There was chicken-with red wine sauce, jerk chicken, herb chicken, oven baked chicken, it was all sooo good. Fresh veges and rice every night. And it was even better with the fench fries and chicken nuggets for my picky 7 year old. The little desserts was tastey- we ate like kings.
I was al ittle bummed when we first arrived because the pirate ship was closed- it was one of the reasons why I booked this resort. But the boys spent little time at the waterpark- they did the slides a few times but they were so busy on the beach, playing football in the pool or on the beach, snorkeling, kayaking, volleyball, hunting for hermit crabs and sea urchins..so much to do!
The boys also loved hanging out at the bars! The bar staff were great, always nice to the boys. There weren't too many drunk folks hangin around, although there were a few youger-college aged kids drunk by noon, but it wasn't bad- mostly families and lots of kids. The boys found a little group of boys to run around with.
We had two connected rooms in the tower. the rooms were fine, clean- we weren't in there too much. I could hear the noise from the nightly entertainment but it died off by 10 or 11pm each night. The boys were so worn out each night by 9pm- they passed right out.
We didn't see much of the nightly shows. We waited for the talent show one night- it was supposed to start at 8 but instead a aldy sang christmas songs for an hour- so we gave up and went to bed. I heard the talent show start later, but we were done for the day. The steel drum band was amazing at the dinner by the beach one night. That was the only time it was crowded to get food- they should have set up more food stations. but it worked out fine- no problem mon.
The spa was nice- we had massages from Suelynn- she was great. The gym was nothing great- but we got in good work outs- it was hot in there but I felt like I worked out harder with all the sweat!
The kids club was ok- this was voted as not better than the cruises (by the boys). There were about 10 kids in there during the two times I took my younger boys. They painted leaves and hung aorund and watched tv. More little kids- so my boys were happy when I 'rescued' them. I only used it so I could go to the gym and spa.
Kareen from JTL helped us with our tours and having her at a desk on site was very nice.

Overall, the vacation was perfect. I would definitely recommend this resort for families- I probably wouldn't stay there without the kids. We may stay here again next year- it was a fantastic place.

I almost forgot to mention the cats- "the jamaican tigers". My boys got a kick out of the cats that hung around the resort, they snuck them food and tried to tame them- with not success,

We also saw sand rays, numerous fish, sand crabs, lizards, hermit crabs, snails, and found creepy conches.

Room Tip: Our rooms in the tower were kind of noisy. I may pick a room out by the garden next time or beach fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was our 2nd time at this resort. We normally do not go back to a resort twice. We got a VIP wrist band that is supposed to give you some special treatment because you have been there more then once. (the band means nothing)

We booked this trip in the spring. I wrote the resort and asked them for a lower room in the 2 story section of the resort. They wrote back and said OK. When we got there, they had us in the hotel part. I asked for my request and they ended up putting us in an upper room in the 2 story building (looking out over the rooftops) We even offered to upgrade & pay for a better room (this is supposed to be automatic for the VIP people) They had nothing available.

VIP people are supposed to get free internet for an hour. We inquired about it and they said you have to have 16 days accumulative to get the hour free (we had 14) All we wanted to do is check our flight for our trip home.

You do get a dinner with all the VIP people. The food is basically the same food as at the buffet just a bit better. We did meet some real nice people at this event.

The resort should give you a schedule of where dinner is served and the times they are served. If you do not have a reservation at one of the resturants you have to hunt down where they are having the buffet. Once it was on the beach and once it was in the lobby. If you did not get there at 6:30 or 7 there was not much left. (when it was in the regular buffet there was always enough).

The beaches are OK. The nude beach is really run down though. All the broken chairs are put over there so there are not any good chairs to sit on. It is rocky and dirty. They should take care of it as they do the other beaches.

On the up side the staff is friendly - The Casino is real nice - the resort itself is beautiful.
The food at the resturants you make reservations at is good.

It was a nice trip but we will not go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was a return trip to Sunset Beach for us and we loved it. The property has improved since last year with the entertainment also being first rate. The weather was perfect as was the food in all locations. One side trip to Duns Falls but the rest of the time was total sun, sand and beach! Only twenty minutes from the airport makes this a great place to stay. Counting the days until the next time.

Room Tip: Choose the beach front cabanna rooms, you can just open your patio door and walk out onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Passage
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is our 2nd time to this resort and we love it and will be back again! We stayed 10 days this time. Upon check in we switched from tower rooms to rooms in the East villa section. A little run down but we love being on the ground floor and it's a quieter area then off the lobby. We loved the nightly entertainment, The Elements are my favorite band but the Steel Drum Band that comes once a week is amazing as well. Food is great, we only ate at the buffet and grill though, lots of options, however I would have like to have seen bacon every morning at breakfast. The resort has invested in some new loungers at the pool which was nice. We did lots of snorkelling right off the beach again. Margaritaville was closed when we were there but we did go to the sister bar Blue Beat and it was fun. We also went to Pier 1 on Fridays which is always a great time. Bartenders were great, shout out to the best: Germaine, Alva, Hopeton, Ernest, Kevin! Maids were great as well.

The only things we disliked were the hottubs were not running up to par, dirty and sometimes shut off. Also, the main pool hosts all the activities now along with the volleyball net. We do not travel with children and avoided that pool opting for the swim up bar but were disappointed that there was no net in that pool to have an adult game from time to time. A few more tubs for the lazy river wouldn't hurt and some music and games at the swim up bar pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After reading the reveiws for 8 months we finally got there. i traveld with my husband and one other couple,andwe had a great time. the beach was wonderful the food was great and the staff was fantastic. i would suggest water shoes because of the reef. the resturants were also very good however they dont serve big portions just enough for you to taste and decide you really like it. we ate at the asian and the carribean and they both were very good. you will also have to ask the bartenders to add extra rum to your drinks if you like stringer drinks. they had entertainment every night which was okay nothing wonderful,but all in all it was a good trip

Room Tip: the beach front cabanas was worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The resort itself was just ok (hence the 3 star). The staff on the other hand.....wonderful!!! They made the entire stay worth it. Fun, friendly, pleasant, hard working staff. The food wasn't very good at all, except the jerk chicken at the poolside grill, which was excellent but very spicy. The one night they had a beach party, the entertainment was absolutely amazing, so fun to watch!! Otherwise, not much to do at night at all the rest of the stay. The casino is tiny, and didn't pay out at all. My major complaint...they need new beach chairs. Overall our stay was a decent experience, we had alot of fun. Damian the bartender.....nicest guy ever!!! Basically...you get what you pay for. It's worth the amount you spend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park

Address: Montego Freeport Peninsula | PO Box 1168, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.