We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing and romantic getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Half Moon Summer Getaway
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfect relaxing and romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I are saddened to leave Halfmoon! This trip was the perfect relaxing and romantic getaway. The moment we arrived we were welcomed to "Our home away from home."

Highlights of our trip include:
* Upgraded Hibiscus suite

* Excellent fitness center with a variety of cardio & weight equipment. We loved the feeling of having the gym to ourselves every morning.

* Fern Tree Spa - Carmen, Sancia and Wendy did amazing jobs on the body scrub, facial and sports massage treatments

* Never having to fight for a spot on the beach, never crowded or having to wait in line for anything

* Beautiful, clean and well manicured property. It really is gorgeous and meticulously maintained.

* Food and service is excellent. The staff is warm, welcoming and attentive. Thank you Orando for taking care us with a welcome rum punch and tour of the grounds. And thank you to the fellow at the beach bbq grill who greeted us by our names every morning we headed to the beach - little touches like that really personalized our trip and made us feel at home.

* Romantic dining at the Seagrape Terrace

* Halfmoon Plan was all inclusive, stress free and totally worth it.

We love this place, it is top notch and a class act! Thank you Halfmoon!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    246
    76
    43
    26
See reviews for
488
400
25
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a very relaxing stay at this property for five days. We stayed at a Hibiscus suites ocean view room that was very spacious. It had a nice balcony that overlooked the ocean. The ocean view room was worth the upgrade over the garden view and was only 25-30 feet from the ocean. We spent half of our time relaxing on the balcony and the other half at the main beach by the lobby which was a short walk from our room. Had the breakfast and dinner meal plan, recommend just doing the breakfast buffet plan. For dinner, we ate at the beach barbeque twice, the Italian restaurant, and the Sugar Mill by the golf course. The Italian restaurant had the best food by far, while the beach barbeque seemed to serve the same food both times, which we had a bad reaction to each time. We enjoyed the complimentary bikes, but they also provide golf carts at about $55 per day. We really didn't need to go off the premises as there are a variety of things to do there. You can take out kayaks or just lounge on a float but the floats were in short supply. There is some shopping we rode our bikes to that is just off the premises. The shopping area really only has one small store that sells a variety of items, but buy your alcohol at the airport. It is cheaper and it seems all items not purchased duty free in Jamaica have about a 30-35% surcharge added to it. This hotel was a very classy place and we would return again if we revisit Jamaica.

Room Tip: stayed at a second floor Hibiscus suites room. It was a great location, close to the ocean and main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have just returned from one of our best vacations, EVER!!! We arrived at Half Moon Resort on Saturday, May 2, and spent 6 amazing days and nights. This trip was a work recognition award, so we knew it would be nice, but we didn't know how wonderful this place would be until we checked in.

Our group was registered in the Villas section of the resort. Wow! Was this fabulous! We soon learned that we had our own on-site chef, our personal butler, and dedicated maid. The villa was stunning, and we loved that we had our own pool right out the back door!

We were in Villa 89, and I can't rave enough about the great staff. Cecil, our butler, was there to serve our every need. He drove us to the golf course, to the spa, to the beach. He made dinner reservations for us in town, and arranged for a driver to take us to and from the restaurant. Each day, he checked to see if we needed groceries for breakfast, and then did the shopping for anything we needed.

Breakfast was the best meal of the day because it was prepared by our Fabulous chef, Janet. Each morning, we were greeted by a breakfast feast of bacon, eggs, fresh fruit, toast or blueberry muffins, yogurt, juice, coffee and tea. One day, one of our villa mates went fishing and caught a snapper. They brought it back to the villa, where Jan prepared it for lunch for them, along with salad, and other side dishes. They said it was delicious.

Our rooms were kept impeccably clean by Joy our housekeeper. Not only did she clean, she even did laundry and ironed for the Villa guests. I have never seen
this at any other resort. She truly lived up to her name, Joy. She is great!

The spa was a slice of heaven. I had an eighty minute facial on Monday. It was so great, that I promptly booked a couples massage over the ocean for my husband and me. Karlene performed both of my treatments and Jennifer did my husband's massage. Both of these ladies are wonderful, and I would highly recommend their services. The spa facility is so beautiful. In fact, the pool area there was our go-to spot for poolside sunning and relaxing. We had lunch delivered there twice for poolside dining.

Overall, this was a totally relaxing vacation that was made more perfect by the Half Moon staff. We will be back!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Value Guest

We try hard to provide the best possible products to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. The Half Moon, a RockResort team is absolutely thrilled with your glowing comments truly appreciated; you and your husband have joined a long list of satisfied Royal Villa guests.

The Royal Villa at Half Moon are certainly the perfect choice for families, friends or groups who seek privacy and seclusion in the ambiance of a private home. The villas offer the three P’s privacy, pampering and personalized service; which is why every villa has its own butler, housekeeper and cook who are trained in the art of delivering impeccable service; their goal is to make your vacation as relaxing as possible.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the diverse range of amenities and activities; however, most importantly we are happy our dedicated team created an experience of a lifetime for you and your husband. We will be sure to share your kind comments with Cecil, Joy, Janet, Karlene, and Jennifer. Thrilled you enjoyed the Fern Tree Spa experience – a 68,000 square foot sanctuary for the mind and body.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and for your feedback; we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation.

Sincerely,


Shernette Crichton
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband, five year old son and I just returned from a 5 night stay at Half Moon. This was very likely the best vacation of my life. Half Moon leaves nothing to be desired. The beach and the property are immaculate and well-managed. The food is on par with some of the best fine dining restaurants I have experienced in my hometown of Houston, Texas. The activities, including the spa, are top notch. I could go on and on about how wonderful and special Half Moon is but what really sets it apart is the service. The staff is warm and welcoming and makes you feel truly special. I can't imagine better service anywhere in the Caribbean.
The Sugar Mill restaurant is a real gem. Our lovely server, Teneisha, who waited on us both nights we dined there, remembered us and our son on our second night. She was such a lovely lady. Everyone from the shuttle bus drivers to the beach attendants to the fellows maintaining the grounds always gave a wave and hello. I have a new found appreciation for the warmth and spirit of the Jamaican people and can't wait to return to this amazing resort.
I highly recommend the dining plan as the food and drinks are so good and you really get your money's worth. We stayed in a lovely 2-bedroom Hibiscus suite conveniently located near the lobby and main restaurants. It was comfortable and nicely updated.
In closing, the only thing I can say is "go". Go see for yourself this piece of heaven on earth. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Hibisicus suites are close to the main pool and a short walk from the main dining options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to pen review on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort visit; and what a beautiful review! Our Sales department would love to have you on their team.

There are certainly endless possibilities at Half Moon; set on 400 beautifully manicured acres the resort offers…unique accommodations, a myriad of recreational activates, six specialty restaurants to include the famous Sugar Mill Restaurant …undoubtly the finest restaurant in Jamaica and one of the most acclaimed in the Caribbean – happy you enjoyed your experience -we will be pleased to share your beautiful comment with to Teneisha.

Thank you for the warm compliment for the staff members, their ultimate gaoal is to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued clients. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have reviewed this resort many times... and I love this resort!!! HM is so close to the airport and your suite will be 20 steps from the ocean!! But again it is truly the staff that had us return for our 15th trip! Have to thank, Simone, Winston, Sheritta, Donnie, Caswell, Wills, Kordell, Staciann, Reneaka, Bertrom, Cleveland(our Golf Caddie)!! Can't wait for trip 16!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Treasured Guests,

It was truly a pleasure having you home again; thank you for sharing another Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. Your Half Moon family sincerely appreciates your loyalty and patronage over the many years.

Without a doubt the team looks forward to serving you year after year; the staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our treasured guests and make each visit special.

Happy you continue to enjoy your Half Moon experience, as always your Half Moon family looks forward to welcoming you back for your 16th visit.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was my family's first trip to Jamaica. The only regret my fiance, daughter and I have is the fact that we should have stayed longer than 6 days.

We had suite 38 in the West Cottages and it is by far the best I've ever had at any resort. I've been to the DR, Nassau, and Cancun many times and Half Moon puts all of those other resorts to shame! We woke up every morning and had breakfast on our terrace then walked right onto the private beach for fun in the sun. The beach is very clean and it is not crowded. My daughter who is 4 played in the sand every day while I watched (and tanned) from the beach chair. Because our room is right on the beach we never had any problem getting a beach chair. There was also a private pool that belonged to another cottage but because the room was not occupied we were told we could use it until the next guests checked in. This was a great bonus. The room was cleaned every day and we always had fresh towels. If we needed anything we just rang the front desk and our requests would be met within minutes.

We chose not to get the all inclusive meal plan. Since my fiance is from the island and he has family in the area, we ate most meals at local restaurants. Mostly jerk meats from a place called Jerky's. When we did eat on the resort we went to the Sea Grape and Sugar Mill. Wonderful food, attentive staff, and great views and ambience. Prices are pretty steep but this is like any resort.

The resort is pretty big so to get from place to place you would need to take a golf cart. I took my daughter to a dolphin encounter at the Dolphin Cove and also to the Equestrian Park for a pony ride. Anything you do on the resort from excursions to dining, you can charge to the room and pay up in checkout. This is very convenient for us because we never had to carry money or credit cards with the exception of dollar bills for tipping the staff. Golf cart rides, servers, we tipped $3-5. Upon leaving we left $20 for our cleaning lady Audrey who was always a pleasure to talk to. FYI when you see gratuity included on the bill that gratuity gets split between the entire staff so we always gave our specific server a few extra dollars for their wonderful service.

We can't wait to be back and we will definitely be requesting the same cottage.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guests

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our satisfied guests. We truly appreciate you sharing TripAdvisor review on your recent Half Moon experience.

Half Moon is truly an exclusive resort – there is always something for everyone…our unmatched array of accommodations, amenities and attractions have kept our guests returning again and again. We are delighted you had an experience of a lifetime and also our very important little guest (your daughter) trust she had a change to enjoy the Anancy Children’s Centre, if not I am sure she enjoyed the dolphins and of course the pony ride.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful grounds, lovely beach, well trained and gracious staff, with some of the prettiest restaurant settings I have seen. However, the food is very disappointing and extremely expensive. The all inclusive meal price was expensive but included unlimited drinks and airport transportation. After 5 days my daughter and I had run out of things to try and since we aren't really drinkers we were disappointed. Still, just being in that lovely spot and floating in the Caribbean made up for the disappointing food.

Room Tip: Our beachfront suite was spacious and had a lovely veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.