We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Half Moon Summer Getaway
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We rented a villa for 11 family members last week and our vacation was fabulous! I cannot say enough about the great service provided by O'Neill, Ruby and Valerie. They made our stay outstanding and exceeded all our expectations! We dined at all 3 restaurants for dinner and while the food was good, the best dinners we had were poolside at our villa and cooked by Ruby. She made some amazing jerk chicken, conch, fish and a local vegetable called cho-cho and her breakfasts were equally awesome! The resort is beautiful and all the staff is tremendously friendly. My only complaint (and it hardly is a complaint) is some of the furnishings in the villa are starting to show some wear and tear - especially in the bathrooms. All in all a great property and we can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    243
    75
    43
    26
See reviews for
483
392
25
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

(Before I reference Half Moon, be warned that Montego Bay airport check in is a time consuming nightmare as is car rental)

Half Moon however is fabulous! Location is beautiful and perfectly cared for. Restaurants are great (particularly Sugar Mill and Il Giardino). We were in a Royal Suite in West Cottages which was a great location as we could easily walk to the main section of the hotel. The private pool was lovely and the suite beautiful.

The thing that makes the place so special is the lovely staff who were so kind and friendly (with a couple of exceptions at the Seagrape!).

We took our 18 month old baby and he was very welcome :). We were pleased with the real crib rather than the usual hotel pack n play.

Can't wait to return.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We returned to Half Moon to celebrate my fathers 60th birthday with a crew of 12. We stayed in one of the Garden Villas with a staff which included Cassler, Olive, and Tracy Ann. I wont dwell on the weather, scenery, and location because the title of my review accurately describes that. I will say that I have NEVER in my life have experienced such amazing service and proffesionalism. One of the individuals in our party had dropped $150.00 without even noticing and Olive found it and gracefully returned it. Cassler was so friendly and accomodating catering to all of the adults and kids' needs always with a smile on his face. Tracy Ann made us amazing meals including curried goat which was to die for. At the end of the trip we were sad to not only leave paradise, but to say good-bye to our new friends. Once again, Half Moon delivered above and beyond our expectations!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We rented a Villa for a week for 11 family members(6 adults and 5 children under 8). Our experience was outstanding. Andrea an administrator, Carmen our cook, Keith our butler, and Junette our maid all provided services above our expectations and gave our family a most memorable week. The Spa experience and Sugar Mill Restaurant were excellent. It was our first Villa experience and we all want to do it again. The Villa made it nice for the children. They had their own pool, meals in bathing suits, no dressing for 3 meals a day in restaurants and golf carts to get around the complex.

Room Tip: A villa close to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a `Royal’ experience. Thank you for recognizing the team, the staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special. Your comments were shared with Andrea, Carmen, Keith, Junette, and indeed the entire team to include Spa and Sugar Mill Teams.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon; we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Half Moon with 3 generations of family, and we will be back next year! Lovely beaches, plenty of pools, bars, tennis, golf and horseback riding. Old school service (the kind so lacking elsewhere) and plantation feel make Half Moon unlike other Caribbean resorts.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I love Half Moon Bay. Have visited many times. The resort has many special activities, be sure to get a tour of the property so you know all of the dining and activity options. We also love the golf course and the caddies. Be sure to rent a golf cart for the week. The best beach is down by the main restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Half Moon for at site visit for a client and the experience was one of a kind. Grounds were great and well kept. Staff was friendly and approachable; went above and beyond to ensure the experience was great. Restaurants on site were decent. Pepper Pot was superb & price was ok. Options for weddings and events were plenty and Spa was one of a kind...a must see and experience. Would recommend for wedding or honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.