We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa at Half Moon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Villa at Half Moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We rented a Villa for a week for 11 family members(6 adults and 5 children under 8). Our experience was outstanding. Andrea an administrator, Carmen our cook, Keith our butler, and Junette our maid all provided services above our expectations and gave our family a most memorable week. The Spa experience and Sugar Mill Restaurant were excellent. It was our first Villa experience and we all want to do it again. The Villa made it nice for the children. They had their own pool, meals in bathing suits, no dressing for 3 meals a day in restaurants and golf carts to get around the complex.

Room Tip: A villa close to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a `Royal’ experience. Thank you for recognizing the team, the staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special. Your comments were shared with Andrea, Carmen, Keith, Junette, and indeed the entire team to include Spa and Sugar Mill Teams.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon; we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    229
    73
    40
    25
See reviews for
422
360
24
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Half Moon with 3 generations of family, and we will be back next year! Lovely beaches, plenty of pools, bars, tennis, golf and horseback riding. Old school service (the kind so lacking elsewhere) and plantation feel make Half Moon unlike other Caribbean resorts.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I love Half Moon Bay. Have visited many times. The resort has many special activities, be sure to get a tour of the property so you know all of the dining and activity options. We also love the golf course and the caddies. Be sure to rent a golf cart for the week. The best beach is down by the main restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed at Half Moon for at site visit for a client and the experience was one of a kind. Grounds were great and well kept. Staff was friendly and approachable; went above and beyond to ensure the experience was great. Restaurants on site were decent. Pepper Pot was superb & price was ok. Options for weddings and events were plenty and Spa was one of a kind...a must see and experience. Would recommend for wedding or honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My friend and I went to Half Moon to celebrate a milestone birthday of mine. We went over Veteran's Day weekend and I can't say enough about how perfect the stay was. The resort is well managed and the staff are accommodating to all sorts of travelers. We had good experiences at all of the resorts restaurants and the staff in all of them soon became the highlight of the experience. I have to give a shout out to the Jerk chicken at the beach BBQ and at the Seagrapes Terrace Restaurant. I had it every day. Also have to give a shout out to Caswell and the dirty banana frozen concoctions that he made every day, and beautiful Michelle who delivered them to us. Thanks to Dean at the Italian restaurant for the wine recommendations and Alvin at the bar there. Can't forget Camille at check in and Brandt, the local MJ look alike.Would go back as often as I could afford it.

Room Tip: Stay in the west cottages if you can, it is walk out to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort to celebrate your very special occasion -your Birthday. We are delighted the team created an experience of a lifetime for you. Your beautiful comments will certainly be shared with the team members mentioned.

We’re happy your stay celebrating special occasion was all you anticipated and we thank you for sharing your experience so expressively on TripAdvisor. We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming back ‘home’ for many more Birthdays...best wishes!

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was my 5 th trip to Half Moon, so I am not a Novice here. It never fails to deliver. The staff are excellent and make every effort to make your stay wonderful. Make sure you book pick up through the hotel and also use the Mo Bay Club. It eases your entrance and exits from The country. What do I like about this place? Half Moon exudes class without tying too hard yet It's still homely and does not try too hard. It's effortless. It's luxurious without making you feel like you can't let loose! Smiling faces everywhere make you feel welcome. All the rooms are nice. IFC ourse, it's a matter of taste, but for me the west cottages are special, and hibiscus suites are nice too. Calming view of the sea. Food is good, but do try to get out of the resort to see Mo Bay. Lots of great excursions. Christine at the excursion desk was great. Check in staff go out of their way to accommodate room requests. Shout out to Keisha. You know what you did for me. I appreciated that gesture. I really love this place . Plotting the next trip now! You should too! You will not regret it.

Room Tip: West cottages are my fave, but all rooms are good. Ask for top floor and not ground floor so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. We are thrilled that you had another enjoyable experience with us. We thank you for your loyalty and patronage over the years; you are truly a Half Moon Ambassador.

Thank you for recognizing the team, the staff truly are the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special

We Thank you for again choosing your Half Moon family; as always, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’.

Sincerely,


Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at Half Moon for 3 nights for a destination wedding. The resort was beautiful and the staff was very attentive the entire time we were there. Shout out to Rennis, our waiter in the villa! Although, he and I were the only men in a house full of women (13 total), he kept his cool and was able to fulfill mostly all requests without incident or dissatisfaction. Our party of 14 enjoyed the in house breakfasts by the pool and the bar and coolers stayed fully stocked with drinks of all types, which was great! The facilities at Half Moon were also very impressive. We were able to participate in typical vacations activities such as golf, kayaking, and snorkeling which were lots of fun as well. Our travel agent, Cary Driscoll from Beach Bum Vacation was absolutely the best. With constant communication via email, Carey kept everyone in the loop, even as changes were being made the week before the trip. If you and your family or friends are looking to plan a beach vacation, consider Carey at Beach Bum Vacation. I had a great time and have no complaints! Five stars for Half Moon Jamaica. RESPECT YEA MON BLESS UP!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience with us. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share comments regarding your Half Moon, A RockResort stay. It was a pleasure serving the group and hosting the special wedding you attended. It is certainly rewarding to receive complimentary feedback on our resort facility and service. Thank you for recognizing the team in particular Rennis, we will be sure to shareyour comments with him.

We thank you for choosing Half Moon and sharing your review on tripadvisor; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back “home” in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.