We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Half Moon Summer Getaway
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference in November. It was amazing from the check-in. The staff are well trained and courteous with a mission to ensure you are always comfortable. I stayed at the Hibiscus area which is right on the beach. The beach isn't great but it was still nice to wake up to that everyday. There are better beaches on the property which is huge so absolutely rent the golf carts and bikes they have available. Ask for a tour of the property which the bell man is happy to provide. I will absolutely be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience with us.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ on a personal vacation, in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    243
    75
    43
    26
See reviews for
483
393
25
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you are planning something special and care about your experience do not stay at this property. We recently held a wedding there and the staff along with management was rude, disrespectful and not knowledgeable. They were mainly concerned with getting our money and not with the details they were being paid to handle. We had people flying in from all over the world and they were all disappointed with the treatment they received. The property was beautiful but the staff ruined the experience. I will never stay at this property again and wish I had been warned ahead of time. We would have preferred to postpone the wedding and stay at a property that cared about their guests experience rather than spend upwards of $20k for what we received. They are greedy and only care about getting your money, they overcharge for everything and are unapologetic. This is considered a five star resort but you are really receiving 1 star service. You've been warned. Do NOT stay here, you will regret it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing candid feedback regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort. We sincerely apologise that we did not exceed your expectations in some areas of your experience and regret that you left feeling dissatisfied. Your experience certainly does not reflect the high service standard and guest satisfaction for which Half Moon is renowned.

Half Moon has hosted numerous weddings and continues to receive raving reviews. Notwithstanding, we take your review very seriously, as direct feedback from our customers, is a valuable tool which allows the opportunity to make the necessary adjustments to further refine aspects of our operation. I had the privilege to connect with principals of the wedding party; our discussion was useful in identifying areas of challenge and the way forward.

Half Moon, A RockResort is truly a first-class resort, we generally succeed in satisfying our most discerning clients; we sincerely regret any inconvenience encountered with your special occasion. Nevertheless, we are happy the special day was lovely based on feedback from the wedding party and their specially invited guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your review and for selecting Half Moon to host your very special occasion; we trust you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We returned last week from a week at the Half Moon in Jamaica where we celebrated our 20th Anniversary. We started going to the Caribbean on our honeymoon and since then have been to many of the finest five star resorts on many different islands. This was the first time I knew I would return to a hotel, and hopefully we will make it an annual event. Half Moon is magical. There is something for everyone. I usually like small resorts and this is enormous, over 400 acres, yet it feels intimate. You can be with many people or on a secluded beach. There are many beaches to choose from as there are pools and activities. We got bikes on our first day and traveled around the resort this way quite easily. I am no horseback rider, but we joined two guides who took us on the most amazing beach ride, ending bareback on the horses who took us for a swim in the ocean. Later that day, we swam with dolphins, The day was relaxing and incredibly exciting and we never left the resort. Half Moon also has one of the most beautiful spas. Ask for Pauline if you want a terrific massage and take it in the spa cottage overlooking the ocean with cool breezes and only the sounds of the waves lapping against the footings of the structure. There are many different kinds of rooms, villas and cottages. I recommend the Hibiscus Suites, which are large and centrally located with wonderful terraces. They also have their own semi-private beaches. The only negative may be the food. It's not bad, just not great, but that is really the case throughout the Caribbean. The best of the restaurants is Sugar Mill where we actually had two relatively good meals. There is staff everywhere and they are anxious to help and please. I can't recommend this resort enough. Don't miss it!!! It's great for a couple, a family or a group of friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure receiving positive feedback from our valued clients. We are delighted you enjoyed the resort, amenities and the hospitality from the team. Our staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our guests and make each visit special. We will be sure to share your comments with the team in particular, Pauline at the Spa.

We are happy you had an ultimate Jamaican/Half Moon experience; we look forward to welcoming you back 'home' very soon and to deliver another experience of a lifetime.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just returned from paradise not referring only to Jamaica but the FANTASTIC Half Moon,A Rock Resort(love the tag line)After reading previous reviews, so many wonderful accolades have been written,and rightfully deserved.As guests who have visited several times,we are amazed at the level of warmth and sophistication of the staff,hats off to management for maintaining the balance of Jamaican hospitality and International"Savoir- Faire"
Personal experience,it starts with Reservations,Reservations,Reservations.Please indulge me,my "Dynamic Duo"are Madame Jackie G.and Gwendolyn Mc.They return EVERY e-mail promptly and even my occasional frantic phone call.Not forgetting Ms.Simone M(whose smile should advertise toothpaste!!)and the front desk staff who really set the mood for the vacation.Cuisine is wonderful,even the children approve. What can I say the the entire resort is kid friendly.Sugar Mill and Christopher Golding(World Class Chef)who after this trip we have Knighted with the order of "Par Excellence"is an event not to be missed.His sous-chef(wish I could remember her name)made probably the best escovitch(local pan fried stew) fish I have tasted.I know it sounds "cliche",but it really feels like you are there to do nothing,think nothing and feel everything.Can't wait to phone the Dynamic Duo again!!!

Room Tip: West cottages are our fave,however stayed at other areas with no problem.Reservations are very helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated; it was a pleasure serving you. We are happy your stay was all you anticipated and you thoroughly enjoyed the resorts and its offerings.

Thank you for recognizing the team, the staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special. We will certainly share your beautiful comments with the team in particular the names mentioned.

Thank you for sharing your Half Moon experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I recently attended a wedding at the Half Moon Resort in Montego Bay and truly enjoyed the experience. The opportunity to lay pool side in our own private villa, fully stocked bars and friendly staff made it a really great trip. Our house manager, Rennis, as well as the entire housekeeping staff were very attentive to our needs and created a familial atmosphere. We took advantage of the opportunity to go snorkeling and had an amazing time! As part of the wedding party, the spa provided full make-up and hair services which I thought was very unique. I'd recommend this resort without reservations and hope to host a family vacation there one day.

Room Tip: Please note that the villas are separate from the 'main' hotel and will require travel via a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It was a pleasure hosting you for the special occasion of which you were a part. Half Moon has been a preferred venue for a number of fabulous weddings and other special events. We are happy your stay was all you anticipated and you enjoyed the resort activities including the Spa.

We thank you for your comments regarding our staff whose ultimate aim is to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your Half Moon experience on TripAdvisor. We certainly look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

From the moment you arrive, you are treated royally. Every staff member is attentive, friendly and engaging. The resort has it all...beautiful accommodations, excellent dining, beach, pools, shopping, golf, tennis, horseback riding on the beach and even dolphins!
We were in the West Cottages and it was perfect as my husband and I adore the beach.
Half Moon is total relaxation in elegant surroundings. It is perfect!
WE can't wait to come back and I know now why so many guests do!
Thank you to all at Half Moon who made our stay so wonderful!

Room Tip: There are so many choices, but we prefer the West Cottages. Royal Suites are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share the lovely comments regarding your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we thank you for your positive feedback on our resort facility and service.

We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you thoroughly enjoyed Half Moon and its offerings. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for our valued guests like yourselves.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back “home” soon.

Sincerely,


Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location, clean rooms, amazing food and entertainment, and super friendly staff and outstanding front house manager, Paula Lilly. Marcus the tennis pro was a super cool honest person, and not bad at table tennis either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It was certainly a pleasure serving you; we are happy your experience was all you anticipated.

We thank you for the beautiful comments regarding our dedicated team in particular, Paula and Marcus. Our goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor; we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back to your “home away from home”.

Sincerely,


Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.